Lisa Brooks http://kuow.org en Tacoma Teacher Wins Milken Educator Award http://kuow.org/post/tacoma-teacher-wins-milken-educator-award <p></p><p>A high school social studies teacher in Tacoma was caught off guard when he received a national award for his exceptional work in the classroom. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 20:19:33 +0000 Lisa Brooks 32672 at http://kuow.org Tacoma Teacher Wins Milken Educator Award Local University Accepts Unprecedented Bitcoin Donation http://kuow.org/post/local-university-accepts-unprecedented-bitcoin-donation <p>Universities are used to accepting donations from alumni.&nbsp;They count on it.</p><p>But when the University of Puget Sound in Tacoma recently received a&nbsp;donation from 2007 graduate Nicholas Cary, its staff had to do some homework. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 20:53:56 +0000 Lisa Brooks 29135 at http://kuow.org Local University Accepts Unprecedented Bitcoin Donation Tacoma Council Member Returns With New Perspective From Marine Training http://kuow.org/post/tacoma-council-member-returns-new-perspective-marine-training <p>Anders Ibsen is back in his seat on the Tacoma City Council after returning early from officer training in the Marine Corps Reserves. &nbsp;</p><p>Ibsen, 27, was originally expected to be gone until November of this year but said that he was determined medically unfit to continue training. In an interview with KUOW, Ibsen described the grueling training regimen where the “tempo and intensity never ends.” Thu, 13 Feb 2014 22:14:52 +0000 Lisa Brooks 28771 at http://kuow.org Tacoma Council Member Returns With New Perspective From Marine Training Seattle's Rafe Pearlman Finds New Music In Old World Traditions http://kuow.org/post/seattles-rafe-pearlman-finds-new-music-old-world-traditions <p>Rafe Pearlman came into his music career 20 years ago, right when grunge was capturing the world's attention. He didn’t have a meteoric rise to the top, but the singer-songwriter is still moving forward, selling out local shows where he mixes rock music with the chanting of many faiths. Fri, 07 Feb 2014 15:29:57 +0000 Lisa Brooks 28327 at http://kuow.org Seattle's Rafe Pearlman Finds New Music In Old World Traditions Microsoft May Be Considering 'Epic Change' http://kuow.org/post/microsoft-may-be-considering-epic-change <p>Published reports have recently speculated that long-time Microsoft executive Satya Nadella is about to be named the company's new CEO.<br /><br />But who is this man, and why is the Microsoft board of directors so interested in him?<br /><br />KUOW's Lisa Brooks spoke with Geekwire co-founder Todd Bishop about Nadella and other rumors around Bill Gates' status as board chair. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 19:30:01 +0000 Lisa Brooks 28007 at http://kuow.org Microsoft May Be Considering 'Epic Change' Why Didn't FAA Choose Washington For Drone Testing? http://kuow.org/post/why-didnt-faa-choose-washington-drone-testing <p></p><p>Low population density and testing over water.</p><p>Those may be the reasons why the Federal Aviation Administration skipped over Washington state when selecting&nbsp;proposals for drone testing sites. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 19:55:36 +0000 Lisa Brooks 26323 at http://kuow.org Why Didn't FAA Choose Washington For Drone Testing? Seattle Police Say It’s OK To Stop Crime – But Be Safe http://kuow.org/post/seattle-police-say-it-s-ok-stop-crime-be-safe <p>Seattle Police are applauding the efforts of three bus riders who stopped a man robbing fellow passengers at gunpoint.</p><p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 02:39:14 +0000 Lisa Brooks 24514 at http://kuow.org Shhh! Seattle Libraries Now Allow Guns, But Please Be Respectful http://kuow.org/post/shhh-seattle-libraries-now-allow-guns-please-be-respectful <p>Librarians <a href="http://www.spl.org/about-the-library/library-use-policies/rules-of-conduct">have long asked you to “shhh,”</a> and starting Monday, they may also ask you to please stop waving your gun around. Mon, 04 Nov 2013 16:42:47 +0000 Lisa Brooks & Isolde Raftery 23204 at http://kuow.org Shhh! Seattle Libraries Now Allow Guns, But Please Be Respectful Washington's Foggy Bottom: Yes, It's Worse Than Usual http://kuow.org/post/washingtons-foggy-bottom-yes-its-worse-usual <p>Seattle has been cloaked in a pea soup of fog this month, with fog horns sounding through the night near the Ballard Locks as boats strain to avoid each other. Thu, 24 Oct 2013 20:03:30 +0000 Lisa Brooks 22626 at http://kuow.org Washington's Foggy Bottom: Yes, It's Worse Than Usual State Sues Group Fighting GMO Labeling: 'You Must Disclose' Your Donors http://kuow.org/post/state-sues-group-fighting-gmo-labeling-you-must-disclose-your-donors <p>As voters in Washington state prepare to vote on whether to require labeling of food containing genetically modified organisms, the state&rsquo;s attorney general sued an industry group for violating campaign finance laws. Thu, 17 Oct 2013 15:02:04 +0000 Lisa Brooks 22201 at http://kuow.org King County Bans Public Urination And Defecation (Yes, It Was Still Legal) http://kuow.org/post/king-county-bans-public-urination-and-defecation-yes-it-was-still-legal <p><em>Updated at 10:30 a.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 15. </em></p><p>When you gotta go, you gotta go.</p><p>And until Monday night in unincorporated King County, going in public was allowed. That&#39;s when the council voted to ban public urination and defecation and to fine violators $125. The new rule doesn&#39;t apply to those younger than 12. &nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 14 Oct 2013 18:29:10 +0000 Lisa Brooks & Isolde Raftery 22023 at http://kuow.org King County Bans Public Urination And Defecation (Yes, It Was Still Legal) Woman Found Shot Dead On Burke-Gilman Trail In Wallingford http://kuow.org/post/woman-found-shot-dead-burke-gilman-trail-wallingford <p>A woman in her 20s was found shot dead at 4:30 a.m. on Friday morning just off the Burke-Gilman trail in Seattle&rsquo;s Wallingford neighborhood.</p><p>Police believe this was a targeted hit and that the woman was not killed at random. Officers have not yet identified the woman, according to a police spokesman.</p><p>A passerby found the woman on the popular trail at North Northlake Way and Eastern Avenue North and called 911.</p><p>Homicide detectives initially cleared the area and have since reopened the trail to pedestrians and cyclists.</p> Fri, 04 Oct 2013 18:55:57 +0000 Lisa Brooks & Isolde Raftery 21525 at http://kuow.org Woman Found Shot Dead On Burke-Gilman Trail In Wallingford Water Boil Advisory Lifted For Thousands Of South King County Residents http://kuow.org/post/water-boil-advisory-lifted-thousands-south-king-county-residents <p><strong>UPDATE: 9/25/13, 5:10 p.m. PT</strong></p><p>In a release today, the Washington State Department of Health has lifted the boil water advisory for residents of southwest King County, specifically Des Moines and Normandy Park, saying, "Lab tests show the water now meets safe drinking water standards."</p><p>The statement also says that there have been no reported illnesses linked to the water system, which was found to have potentially harmful E. coli bacteria during a routine water quality test earlier this week.</p><p>Customers with questions about their water quality can call the water district at 206.878.7210. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 00:00:00 +0000 Lisa Brooks 20890 at http://kuow.org Water Boil Advisory Lifted For Thousands Of South King County Residents Eastside Light Rail Moves Forward After Court Challenge http://kuow.org/post/eastside-light-rail-moves-forward-after-court-challenge <p>A plan to build light rail tracks on the Interstate 90 floating bridge can move forward.</p><p>In a 7-2 opinion, the Washington State Supreme Court sided with Sound Transit and the Washington State Department of Transportation, and against Bellevue developer Kemper Freeman and others. Thu, 12 Sep 2013 22:41:18 +0000 Lisa Brooks 20242 at http://kuow.org Eastside Light Rail Moves Forward After Court Challenge Rain Delays Skagit River Replacement Bridge Construction http://kuow.org/post/rain-delays-skagit-river-replacement-bridge-construction <p><strong>UPDATE: 9/9/2013, 1:30 p.m. PT</strong></p><p>The Washington state Department of Transportatation says the new replacement bridge on I-5 over the Skagit River should be ready to drive on Sunday morning.</p><p>WSDOT officials say the weather’s drying out enough to pour concrete on the replacement span that’s being constructed adjacent to the temporary bridge. Recent heavy rains have delayed the pouring operation. After the concrete cures, they’ll slide the new bridge into place. Fri, 06 Sep 2013 21:03:34 +0000 Lisa Brooks 19889 at http://kuow.org Rain Delays Skagit River Replacement Bridge Construction