Lisa Brooks http://kuow.org en Paul Schell, Innkeeper And Former Seattle Mayor, Dies At 76 http://kuow.org/post/paul-schell-innkeeper-and-former-seattle-mayor-dies-76 <p>He is the reason fish fly at the Pike Place Market, or so the story goes.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">On Sunday, Paul Schell, a former Seattle mayor and champion of urban neighborhoods, died. He was 76.</span></p><p>A spokeswoman for Mayor Ed Murray confirmed that Schell died at Swedish Hospital.</p><p> Sun, 27 Jul 2014 19:16:34 +0000 Isolde Raftery & Lisa Brooks 39033 at http://kuow.org Paul Schell, Innkeeper And Former Seattle Mayor, Dies At 76 What’s The Skin Cancer Rate In Your County? http://kuow.org/post/what-s-skin-cancer-rate-your-county <p>This may come as a surprise, but if cloudy Puget Sound were a state, it would rank fourth in skin cancer rates. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 16:05:51 +0000 Lisa Brooks & Kim Malcolm 37562 at http://kuow.org What’s The Skin Cancer Rate In Your County? Snohomish County Temporarily Halts Building Near Oso Landslide http://kuow.org/post/snohomish-county-temporarily-halts-building-near-oso-landslide <p>Lisa Brooks speaks with Snohomish County Council Chair Dave Somers about a temporary ban on development in two landslide-prone areas near the site of the Oso, Wash., landslide that killed 43 people in March. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 18:22:49 +0000 Lisa Brooks 37125 at http://kuow.org Snohomish County Temporarily Halts Building Near Oso Landslide Port Of Seattle Proposes $13 Minimum Wage By 2017 http://kuow.org/post/port-seattle-proposes-13-minimum-wage-2017 <p>Lisa Brooks talks with Port of Seattle co-president Courtney Gregoire about a proposal to raise the minimum wage for SeaTac airport employees to $13 by 2017. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 22:39:05 +0000 Lisa Brooks 37051 at http://kuow.org Port Of Seattle Proposes $13 Minimum Wage By 2017 SPU Student President: 'Truth Is Confusing, And Frustrating And Angry' http://kuow.org/post/spu-student-president-truth-confusing-and-frustrating-and-angry <p>Lisa Brooks talks with Seattle Pacific University Associated Students President Isaac Gundersen about faith and the aftermath of Thursday's campus shooting. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 17:52:25 +0000 Lisa Brooks & Hannah Burn 35930 at http://kuow.org SPU Student President: 'Truth Is Confusing, And Frustrating And Angry' Tacoma Teacher Wins Milken Educator Award http://kuow.org/post/tacoma-teacher-wins-milken-educator-award <p></p><p>A high school social studies teacher in Tacoma was caught off guard when he received a national award for his exceptional work in the classroom. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 20:19:33 +0000 Lisa Brooks 32672 at http://kuow.org Tacoma Teacher Wins Milken Educator Award Local University Accepts Unprecedented Bitcoin Donation http://kuow.org/post/local-university-accepts-unprecedented-bitcoin-donation <p>Universities are used to accepting donations from alumni.&nbsp;They count on it.</p><p>But when the University of Puget Sound in Tacoma recently received a&nbsp;donation from 2007 graduate Nicholas Cary, its staff had to do some homework. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 20:53:56 +0000 Lisa Brooks 29135 at http://kuow.org Local University Accepts Unprecedented Bitcoin Donation Tacoma Council Member Returns With New Perspective From Marine Training http://kuow.org/post/tacoma-council-member-returns-new-perspective-marine-training <p>Anders Ibsen is back in his seat on the Tacoma City Council after returning early from officer training in the Marine Corps Reserves. &nbsp;</p><p>Ibsen, 27, was originally expected to be gone until November of this year but said that he was determined medically unfit to continue training. In an interview with KUOW, Ibsen described the grueling training regimen where the “tempo and intensity never ends.” Thu, 13 Feb 2014 22:14:52 +0000 Lisa Brooks 28771 at http://kuow.org Tacoma Council Member Returns With New Perspective From Marine Training Seattle's Rafe Pearlman Finds New Music In Old World Traditions http://kuow.org/post/seattles-rafe-pearlman-finds-new-music-old-world-traditions <p>Rafe Pearlman came into his music career 20 years ago, right when grunge was capturing the world's attention. He didn’t have a meteoric rise to the top, but the singer-songwriter is still moving forward, selling out local shows where he mixes rock music with the chanting of many faiths. Fri, 07 Feb 2014 15:29:57 +0000 Lisa Brooks 28327 at http://kuow.org Seattle's Rafe Pearlman Finds New Music In Old World Traditions Microsoft May Be Considering 'Epic Change' http://kuow.org/post/microsoft-may-be-considering-epic-change <p>Published reports have recently speculated that long-time Microsoft executive Satya Nadella is about to be named the company's new CEO.<br /><br />But who is this man, and why is the Microsoft board of directors so interested in him?<br /><br />KUOW's Lisa Brooks spoke with Geekwire co-founder Todd Bishop about Nadella and other rumors around Bill Gates' status as board chair. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 19:30:01 +0000 Lisa Brooks 28007 at http://kuow.org Microsoft May Be Considering 'Epic Change' Why Didn't FAA Choose Washington For Drone Testing? http://kuow.org/post/why-didnt-faa-choose-washington-drone-testing <p></p><p>Low population density and testing over water.</p><p>Those may be the reasons why the Federal Aviation Administration skipped over Washington state when selecting&nbsp;proposals for drone testing sites. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 19:55:36 +0000 Lisa Brooks 26323 at http://kuow.org Why Didn't FAA Choose Washington For Drone Testing? Seattle Police Say It’s OK To Stop Crime – But Be Safe http://kuow.org/post/seattle-police-say-it-s-ok-stop-crime-be-safe <p>Seattle Police are applauding the efforts of three bus riders who stopped a man robbing fellow passengers at gunpoint.</p><p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 02:39:14 +0000 Lisa Brooks 24514 at http://kuow.org Shhh! Seattle Libraries Now Allow Guns, But Please Be Respectful http://kuow.org/post/shhh-seattle-libraries-now-allow-guns-please-be-respectful <p>Librarians <a href="http://www.spl.org/about-the-library/library-use-policies/rules-of-conduct">have long asked you to “shhh,”</a> and starting Monday, they may also ask you to please stop waving your gun around. Mon, 04 Nov 2013 16:42:47 +0000 Lisa Brooks & Isolde Raftery 23204 at http://kuow.org Shhh! Seattle Libraries Now Allow Guns, But Please Be Respectful Washington's Foggy Bottom: Yes, It's Worse Than Usual http://kuow.org/post/washingtons-foggy-bottom-yes-its-worse-usual <p>Seattle has been cloaked in a pea soup of fog this month, with fog horns sounding through the night near the Ballard Locks as boats strain to avoid each other. Thu, 24 Oct 2013 20:03:30 +0000 Lisa Brooks 22626 at http://kuow.org Washington's Foggy Bottom: Yes, It's Worse Than Usual State Sues Group Fighting GMO Labeling: 'You Must Disclose' Your Donors http://kuow.org/post/state-sues-group-fighting-gmo-labeling-you-must-disclose-your-donors <p>As voters in Washington state prepare to vote on whether to require labeling of food containing genetically modified organisms, the state&rsquo;s attorney general sued an industry group for violating campaign finance laws. Thu, 17 Oct 2013 15:02:04 +0000 Lisa Brooks 22201 at http://kuow.org