This NOT Just In http://kuow.org en Mixed Reaction To Lincoln's Death On West Coast http://kuow.org/post/mixed-reaction-lincolns-death-west-coast <p></p><p>On that Saturday afternoon, April 15, 1865, the news reached Seattle by telegraph. President Abraham Lincoln was shot dead by an assassin at Ford’s Theatre on Good Friday evening.</p><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:23:19 +0000 Feliks Banel 11378 at http://kuow.org Mixed Reaction To Lincoln's Death On West Coast Remembering The 'Pioneer Spirit' Of Alaska's 9.2 Earthquake http://kuow.org/post/remembering-pioneer-spirit-alaskas-92-earthquake <p>Fifty years ago, a large earthquake centered near Anchorage, Alaska, set off a fatal chain of destruction that reached through Washington and all the way down into California.</p><p>March 27, 1964 – Good Friday – was a typical early spring day in Seattle. But just after 7:30 p.m., an earthquake disrupted the peaceful evening all along the Pacific coast. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 17:51:21 +0000 Feliks Banel 31394 at http://kuow.org Remembering The 'Pioneer Spirit' Of Alaska's 9.2 Earthquake Looking Back: Thanksgiving Flood Sinks Old I-90 Bridge http://kuow.org/post/looking-back-thanksgiving-flood-sinks-old-i-90-bridge <p></p><p>The Lacey V. Murrow Memorial Bridge that connected Seattle to Mercer Island sank to the bottom of Lake Washington 23 years ago this weekend. Tue, 26 Nov 2013 20:00:14 +0000 Feliks Banel 3998 at http://kuow.org Looking Back: Thanksgiving Flood Sinks Old I-90 Bridge My, Oh My: Dave Niehaus Uplifted Struggling Baseball Team And City http://kuow.org/post/my-oh-my-dave-niehaus-uplifted-struggling-baseball-team-and-city <p>Dave Niehaus was the “Voice of the Seattle Mariners.” His sudden and unexpected death on Nov. 10, 2010 from a heart attack was more than just a sports story. The news hit people hard. Niehaus was part of the cultural fabric of the Pacific Northwest, a role he played since the time he called the first pitch at the first Mariners game back in 1977. Fri, 08 Nov 2013 16:48:30 +0000 Feliks Banel 3273 at http://kuow.org My, Oh My: Dave Niehaus Uplifted Struggling Baseball Team And City Husky Stadium Has Long History Beyond Football http://kuow.org/post/husky-stadium-has-long-history-beyond-football <p></p><p>Early September means college football. And down along Montlake Boulevard, the University of Washington Huskies are getting ready to play in their remodeled and expanded stadium. Though most of the structure is new, there’s been a stadium on this same spot since 1920. And in nearly a century, it’s played host to a lot more than football games.</p><p> Fri, 30 Aug 2013 08:00:00 +0000 Feliks Banel 17703 at http://kuow.org Husky Stadium Has Long History Beyond Football SR 520 Floating Bridge Celebrates 50 Years http://kuow.org/post/sr-520-floating-bridge-celebrates-50-years <p></p><p>August 28, 1963 was a momentous day in American history, and it was also a pretty big day in Seattle. At the same time that Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. was giving his landmark “I Have A Dream” speech at the Lincoln Memorial, then-Washington governor Albert Rosellini was also addressing a crowd. But Rosellini was in the middle of Lake Washington, on a brand-new floating bridge that would eventually be known as State Route&nbsp;520.<br> Tue, 27 Aug 2013 08:30:00 +0000 Feliks Banel 17673 at http://kuow.org SR 520 Floating Bridge Celebrates 50 Years Remembering The Beatles Seattle Invasion In The Summer Of '64 http://kuow.org/post/remembering-beatles-seattle-invasion-summer-64 <p></p><p>The first wave of the British Invasion hit the shores of the Pacific Northwest with the arrival of The Beatles on August 21, 1964.<br> Wed, 21 Aug 2013 08:00:00 +0000 Feliks Banel 17451 at http://kuow.org Remembering The Beatles Seattle Invasion In The Summer Of '64 1982 Little League Team Brings World Championship To Kirkland http://kuow.org/post/1982-little-league-team-brings-world-championship-kirkland <p>In the summer of 1982, Kirkland, Wash., was a quiet bedroom community. That was, until the local underdog Little League team made it to the World Championship game and became a part of sports history.</p><p> Tue, 20 Aug 2013 19:11:10 +0000 Feliks Banel 17810 at http://kuow.org 1982 Little League Team Brings World Championship To Kirkland President Harding's Last Public Speech At Husky Stadium http://kuow.org/post/president-hardings-last-public-speech-husky-stadium <p>On July 27, 1923, Warren G. Harding spoke at Husky Stadium. It would be the last public speech the president would ever give.<br> Fri, 26 Jul 2013 07:30:00 +0000 Feliks Banel 17397 at http://kuow.org President Harding's Last Public Speech At Husky Stadium Celebrating Seattle’s Most Famous Primate http://kuow.org/post/celebrating-seattle-s-most-famous-primate <p></p><p>Mid-July in Seattle means Seafair events, the actual arrival of summer and – if you lived here in the 1950s and '60s – it meant the annual birthday celebration for the city’s most famous primate, Bobo the gorilla.</p><p> Thu, 18 Jul 2013 19:14:50 +0000 Feliks Banel 16957 at http://kuow.org Celebrating Seattle’s Most Famous Primate Dream About To Take Flight For Seattle Couple http://kuow.org/post/dream-taking-flight-seattle-couple <p></p><p></p><p>In 1924, Seattle&rsquo;s Sand Point was the site of one of the greatest aviation milestones of all time. But the event was eclipsed by other aviators like Charles Lindbergh and the Wright Brothers. Now, a Seattle couple wants to breathe new life into that momentous time with their own <a href="http://seattleworldcruiser.org/">pioneering project</a>.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 28 Jun 2013 14:04:31 +0000 Sarah Waller 15729 at http://kuow.org Dream About To Take Flight For Seattle Couple Pacific Northwest Pioneer Descendant Brewster Denny Dead at 88 http://kuow.org/post/pacific-northwest-pioneer-descendant-brewster-denny-dead-88 <p>Seattle pioneer descendant Brewster Denny passed away this past Saturday from natural causes. He was 88 years old.&nbsp; Denny spent much of his life as a champion of local history, and for many, he was a living embodiment of Seattle’s pioneer era.<br> Wed, 26 Jun 2013 00:14:42 +0000 Feliks Banel 15588 at http://kuow.org Pacific Northwest Pioneer Descendant Brewster Denny Dead at 88 Remembering The SuperSonics World Championship http://kuow.org/post/remembering-supersonics-world-championship <p></p><p>So far, attempts to bring the SuperSonics back to Seattle have fallen short. Fans might be a little down, but 34 years ago the Sonics really gave us something to cheer about.</p><p> Fri, 31 May 2013 23:09:51 +0000 Felks Banel 14130 at http://kuow.org Remembering The SuperSonics World Championship 70 Years Ago: Remembering The Crash Of Boeing’s Superfortress http://kuow.org/post/70-years-ago-remembering-crash-boeing-s-superfortress <p></p><p>The Boeing Dreamliner was been grounded since Jan. 16 as authorities try to sort out problems with the plane’s high tech batteries and electrical system. Meanwhile, it was 70 years ago this coming week that an earlier Boeing plane caught fire over Seattle during a test flight, causing one of the worst air disasters in the city’s history.<br> Fri, 15 Feb 2013 16:03:48 +0000 Feliks Banel 8251 at http://kuow.org 70 Years Ago: Remembering The Crash Of Boeing’s Superfortress This NOT Just In: The Last Episode Of J.P. Patches http://kuow.org/post/not-just-last-episode-jp-patches <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Chris Wedes passed away earlier this year after a long battle with cancer.&nbsp; Wedes was the host of the long-running <em>JP Patches Show</em> on KIRO TV and one of the region's most beloved figures.&nbsp; "This NOT Just In" looks back to the final weekday episode of the popular program, back in December 1978.</p><p> Fri, 28 Dec 2012 17:02:44 +0000 Feliks Banel 5783 at http://kuow.org This NOT Just In: The Last Episode Of J.P. Patches