Chris Lehman http://kuow.org en Does Legalized Marijuana Put Washington Drivers At Risk Out Of State? http://kuow.org/post/does-legalized-marijuana-put-washington-drivers-risk-out-state <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041114CL_licenseplates_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Some drivers from Washington and Colorado say they're being targeted by police when they cross into Idaho.<p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 11:09:59 +0000 Chris Lehman 32495 at http://kuow.org Does Legalized Marijuana Put Washington Drivers At Risk Out Of State? Oregon, Washington Consider Alternative To Amtrak For Cascades Rail Service http://kuow.org/post/oregon-washington-consider-alternative-amtrak-cascades-rail-service <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041014CL_trains_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon and Washington might turn to a private company to operate its Cascades rail service.<p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 15:07:41 +0000 Chris Lehman 32360 at http://kuow.org Oregon, Washington Consider Alternative To Amtrak For Cascades Rail Service President Obama To Visit Oso Landslide Site http://kuow.org/post/president-obama-visit-oso-landslide-site <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040814CL_potusinthenw_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>President Barack Obama is expected to visit the site of the deadly landslide in Snohomish County, Wash., later this month.<p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 15:40:21 +0000 Chris Lehman 32186 at http://kuow.org President Obama To Visit Oso Landslide Site Megaloads Opponents Seek More Public Input http://kuow.org/post/megaloads-opponents-seek-more-public-input <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040414CL_megaloads_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The latest dispute over whether huge megaload trucks should be allowed on Northwest roads is currently in Oregon.<p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 16:02:08 +0000 Chris Lehman 32043 at http://kuow.org Megaloads Opponents Seek More Public Input Federal Disaster Declaration Could Bring Relief To Oso Homeowners Without Landslide Insurance http://kuow.org/post/federal-disaster-declaration-could-bring-relief-oso-homeowners-without-landslide-insurance <p>Washington Governor Jay Inslee Monday filed a formal request for a federal disaster declaration. If this is granted, it means the survivors of the massive landslide near Oso, Washington, would be eligible for federal assistance. Many of them will be counting on that since they don’t have landslide insurance. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 19:55:09 +0000 Chris Lehman 31608 at http://kuow.org Federal Disaster Declaration Could Bring Relief To Oso Homeowners Without Landslide Insurance One Week Later, Prayers For Landslide Victims And Stories Of Survival http://kuow.org/post/one-week-later-prayers-landslide-victims-and-stories-survival <p>One week after a massive landslide wiped out the community of Oso, Wash., community members gathered at Darrington's First Baptist Church on Sunday to pray and tell stories of survival. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 14:59:55 +0000 Chris Lehman 31591 at http://kuow.org One Week Later, Prayers For Landslide Victims And Stories Of Survival Landslide Death Toll Rises, Number Of Missing Drops http://kuow.org/post/landslide-death-toll-rises-number-missing-drops <p>The death toll has risen to 18 following the devastating landslide near Oso, Washington. One bright spot: The number of people missing has fallen dramatically. It's now down to 30.&nbsp;</p><p> Sat, 29 Mar 2014 15:38:05 +0000 Sara Lerner & Chris Lehman 31534 at http://kuow.org Landslide Death Toll Rises, Number Of Missing Drops Disaster Response Includes Concerns For Mental Health http://kuow.org/post/disaster-response-includes-concerns-mental-health <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032714CL_waiting_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The waiting continues for family and friends of the dozens of people missing after last weekend's deadly landslide near Oso, Wash.<p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 15:39:20 +0000 Chris Lehman 31465 at http://kuow.org Disaster Response Includes Concerns For Mental Health Why It's So Hard To Pin Down The Number Of Missing People After A Disaster http://kuow.org/post/why-its-so-hard-pin-down-number-missing-people-after-disaster <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032514CL_missing_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>More than 100 people are considered missing after last weekend's devastating landslide near Oso, Washington. That number continues to fluctuate.<p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 15:53:16 +0000 Chris Lehman 31302 at http://kuow.org Why It's So Hard To Pin Down The Number Of Missing People After A Disaster Oregon Fines Wildlife Sanctuary Following Deadly Cougar Attack http://kuow.org/post/oregon-fines-wildlife-sanctuary-following-deadly-cougar-attack <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032414CL_wildcatfine_fix.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The state of Oregon is <a href="http://www.orosha.org/admin/newsrelease/2014/nr2014_07.html">fining a wildlife sanctuary $5,600</a> after a cougar attack last fall left its head keeper dead.<p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 14:37:33 +0000 Chris Lehman 31212 at http://kuow.org Oregon Fines Wildlife Sanctuary Following Deadly Cougar Attack Independent Audit Outlines Problems At Cover Oregon http://kuow.org/post/independent-audit-outlines-problems-cover-oregon <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032014CL_coveroregon_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>According to a <a href="http://www.oregon.gov/DAS/Pages/coreview.aspx ">scathing audit from an independent consultant</a>, Oregon's health insurance exchange was riddled with internal conflict and unrealistic expectations.<p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 15:59:23 +0000 Chris Lehman 31008 at http://kuow.org Independent Audit Outlines Problems At Cover Oregon Mixed News For Northwest Exchanges As Enrollment Deadline Approaches http://kuow.org/post/mixed-news-northwest-exchanges-enrollment-deadline-approaches <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031314CL_exchanges_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>You only have until the end of this month to sign up for coverage using one of the new health insurance exchanges.<p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 15:30:03 +0000 Chris Lehman 30530 at http://kuow.org Mixed News For Northwest Exchanges As Enrollment Deadline Approaches Feds Confirm Investigation Into Cover Oregon http://kuow.org/post/feds-confirm-investigation-cover-oregon <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/030514CL_richardson_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Federal officials confirmed Wednesday that they will investigate the troubled roll-out of Oregon's health insurance exchange website.<p> Thu, 06 Mar 2014 15:42:49 +0000 Chris Lehman 29951 at http://kuow.org Feds Confirm Investigation Into Cover Oregon Clock Ticking On Major Cancer Research Grant http://kuow.org/post/clock-ticking-major-cancer-research-grant <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/022814CL_cancermoney_web2.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Nike chairman Phil Knight is offering a prominent Oregon medical school $500 million for cancer research. However, it comes with a huge string attached.<p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 16:49:45 +0000 Chris Lehman 29743 at http://kuow.org Clock Ticking On Major Cancer Research Grant Oregon Lawmakers Send 'Silver Alert' Bill To Governor http://kuow.org/post/oregon-lawmakers-send-silver-alert-bill-governor-0 <p>Oregonians could soon notice more alerts about people with Alzheimer's or dementia who have gone missing. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 16:45:01 +0000 Chris Lehman 29319 at http://kuow.org Oregon Lawmakers Send 'Silver Alert' Bill To Governor