Chris Lehman http://kuow.org en Court Turns Down Latest Attempt To Intervene In Oregon Gay Marriage Case http://kuow.org/post/court-turns-down-latest-attempt-intervene-oregon-gay-marriage-case <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/08/082714CL_marriagedebrief_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A federal judge in Oregon this spring cleared the way for same-sex marriages to begin when state officials refused to defend the voter-approved ban in court. Now, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals has <a href="http://cdn.ca9.uscourts.gov/datastore/general/2014/08/27/14-35427%20Order%208-27.pdf">turned down an attempt by the National Organization For Marriage to step in</a>.<p> Thu, 28 Aug 2014 15:41:33 +0000 Chris Lehman 40807 at http://kuow.org Court Turns Down Latest Attempt To Intervene In Oregon Gay Marriage Case Oregon Revenue Forecast Steady, But Kicker A Possibility http://kuow.org/post/oregon-revenue-forecast-steady-kicker-possibility <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/08/082714CL_kicker.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon's economy is humming along at a good clip, according to <a href="http://www.oregon.gov/DAS/OEA/Pages/economic.aspx#Most_Recent_Forecast">the latest outlook released Wednesday</a> by state economists.<p> Thu, 28 Aug 2014 15:41:27 +0000 Chris Lehman 40805 at http://kuow.org Oregon Revenue Forecast Steady, But Kicker A Possibility Kitzhaber Creates Commission To Study Capitol Statue Squabble http://kuow.org/post/kitzhaber-creates-commission-study-capitol-statue-squabble <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/08/082614CL_statuary_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Each state is <a href="http://www.aoc.gov/the-national-statuary-hall-collection">represented by two statues in the United States Capitol Building</a>. Some Oregon lawmakers have tried repeatedly to replace one of their state's specimens.<p> Wed, 27 Aug 2014 14:48:05 +0000 Chris Lehman 40745 at http://kuow.org Kitzhaber Creates Commission To Study Capitol Statue Squabble Recall Effort In Southern Oregon City Falls Short http://kuow.org/post/recall-effort-southern-oregon-city-falls-short <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/08/082614CL_goldhilldebrief_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>An attempt to remove most of the city council in the southern Oregon city of Gold Hill has fallen short.<p> Wed, 27 Aug 2014 14:47:51 +0000 Chris Lehman 40743 at http://kuow.org Recall Effort In Southern Oregon City Falls Short Comic Book Aims To Boost Earthquake Preparedness http://kuow.org/post/comic-book-aims-boost-earthquake-preparedness <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/08/082214CL_seismiccomic_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Emergency managers in Oregon have a new tool to educate the public about earthquake preparedness. It's a comic book. And it's co-produced by one of the nation's top comic book publishers.<p> Mon, 25 Aug 2014 16:21:25 +0000 Chris Lehman 40626 at http://kuow.org Comic Book Aims To Boost Earthquake Preparedness Major Parties Oppose Oregon's Top Two Primary Ballot Measure http://kuow.org/post/major-parties-oppose-oregons-top-two-primary-ballot-measure <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/08/082014CL_toptwo_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Citizens Initiative Review, a group of Oregon voters brought together to consider the pros and cons of a Top Two primary system, have <a href="http://healthydemocracy.org/citizens-initiative-review/oregon/measure-90-final/">issued their recommendation</a>: They're against it.<p> Fri, 22 Aug 2014 15:23:39 +0000 Chris Lehman 40501 at http://kuow.org Marijuana Dispensary Leads To Small Town Political Showdown http://kuow.org/post/marijuana-dispensary-leads-small-town-political-showdown <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/08/082114CL_potpolitics_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The town of Gold Hill, Oregon is in turmoil. Two-thirds of its City Council is the subject of a recall election on Monday.<p> Fri, 22 Aug 2014 15:23:29 +0000 Chris Lehman 40497 at http://kuow.org Marijuana Dispensary Leads To Small Town Political Showdown Changes On The Way For 'No Fly List' http://kuow.org/post/changes-way-no-fly-list <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/08/082014CL_noflydebrief.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Changes are coming to the federal government's "No Fly List." But it's not clear yet what those changes will be.<p> Thu, 21 Aug 2014 15:25:29 +0000 Chris Lehman 40439 at http://kuow.org Changes On The Way For 'No Fly List' Oregon's Citizens' Initiative Review Could Expand To Other States http://kuow.org/post/oregons-citizens-initiative-review-could-expand-other-states <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/08/081514CL_review.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>This week, a group of Oregonians will meet in Salem to figure out where they stand on an upcoming ballot measure. It's called <a href="http://healthydemocracy.org/citizens-initiative-review/">the Citizens' Initiative Review</a> and it's been a part of the Oregon election process since 2010.<p> Mon, 18 Aug 2014 14:30:43 +0000 Chris Lehman 40249 at http://kuow.org Oregon's Citizens' Initiative Review Could Expand To Other States Active Fire Seasons Puts A Strain On Northwest Fire Resources http://kuow.org/post/active-fire-seasons-puts-strain-northwest-fire-resources <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/08/080814CL_stretchedthin_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>This summer's active wildfire season is stretching fire crews to the limit. This week, virtually every available wildland firefighter in the Northwest is on the scene of a blaze.<p> Mon, 11 Aug 2014 03:55:22 +0000 Chris Lehman 39854 at http://kuow.org Active Fire Seasons Puts A Strain On Northwest Fire Resources Democrat Challenging Walden On Health Care http://kuow.org/post/democrat-challenging-walden-health-care <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/08/071114CL_oregonsecond_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Aelea Christofferson, the Democrat taking on Greg Walden, Oregon's only Republican member of Congress, <a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hmdWcCCMUB8&feature=youtu.be">released an attack ad Friday</a> blasting Walden's opposition to the Affordable Care Act.<p> Mon, 11 Aug 2014 03:55:12 +0000 Chris Lehman 39853 at http://kuow.org Democrat Challenging Walden On Health Care Oregon Court Backs Warrantless Rescue Of Sick Horse http://kuow.org/post/oregon-court-backs-warrantless-rescue-sick-horse <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/08/080714CL_horserescue.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>An Oregon police officer was justified in seizing someone's horse without getting a warrant first. The Oregon Supreme Court <a href="http://www.publications.ojd.state.or.us/docs/S061740.pdf">ruled Thursday</a> that warrantless searches are allowed when the life of an animal is on the line.<p> Fri, 08 Aug 2014 14:51:35 +0000 Chris Lehman 39742 at http://kuow.org Oregon Court Backs Warrantless Rescue Of Sick Horse Oregon Will Consider Washington's Top Two Primary System http://kuow.org/post/oregon-will-consider-washingtons-top-two-primary-system <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/08/080614CL_toptwo_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington voters got another chance this week to take the state's relatively new Top Two primary system for a spin. This year Oregon voters will choose whether to <a href="http://egov.sos.state.or.us/elec/web_irr_search.record_detail?p_reference=20140055..QSCYYY">shift to a similar method</a> of choosing candidates.<p> Thu, 07 Aug 2014 14:23:46 +0000 Chris Lehman 39671 at http://kuow.org Oregon 'Driver Card' Campaign Kicks Off http://kuow.org/post/oregon-driver-card-campaign-kicks <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/08/080414CL_drivercards_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregonians will vote this fall on whether its residents should be able to apply for driver’s licenses regardless of their immigration status. Supporters of the measure kicked off their campaign Monday.<p> Tue, 05 Aug 2014 14:41:27 +0000 Chris Lehman 39528 at http://kuow.org Oregon 'Driver Card' Campaign Kicks Off Hot Weather A Mixed Blessing For Farmers http://kuow.org/post/hot-weather-mixed-blessing-farmers <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/073114CL_hotcrops_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>This summer's hot, dry weather has been a mixed blessing for Northwest farmers.<p> Fri, 01 Aug 2014 14:37:13 +0000 Chris Lehman 39341 at http://kuow.org Hot Weather A Mixed Blessing For Farmers