Robert Krulwich http://kuow.org en Can It Be? Parrots Name Their Children, And Those Names, Like Ours, Stick For Life http://kuow.org/post/can-it-be-parrots-name-their-children-and-those-names-ours-stick-life <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ed9A4HPdXgQ</p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 15:18:32 +0000 Robert Krulwich 32573 at http://kuow.org Can It Be? Parrots Name Their Children, And Those Names, Like Ours, Stick For Life The Power Of Poop: A Whale Story http://kuow.org/post/power-poop-whale-story This, I would think, should be self-evident: Generally speaking, big creatures eat smaller creatures that, in turn, eat even smaller creatures, like this ...<p>And just as obviously, one would expect the food chain to be pyramid-shaped: a few big creatures at the top eating more middle-sized creatures in the middle, that eat many, many, many little creatures at the bottom, like so:<p>Which brings me to a curious exception — a real life mystery — discovered a few years ago. Sat, 05 Apr 2014 09:39:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 31968 at http://kuow.org The Power Of Poop: A Whale Story 'Oh, Hello,' Says Andrew, As He Suddenly Grabs You By The Leg Or Neck http://kuow.org/post/oh-hello-says-andrew-he-suddenly-grabs-you-leg-or-neck <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wynx1ukwdVA</p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 16:59:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 31854 at http://kuow.org 'Oh, Hello,' Says Andrew, As He Suddenly Grabs You By The Leg Or Neck The List Of Animals Who Can Truly, Really Dance Is Very Short. Who's On It? http://kuow.org/post/list-animals-who-can-truly-really-dance-very-short-whos-it <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N7IZmRnAo6s</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VNKyG4C2VlA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IqjcXu5QlxY</p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 17:45:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 31686 at http://kuow.org The List Of Animals Who Can Truly, Really Dance Is Very Short. Who's On It? You Yawn. She Doesn't Yawn Back. Uh-Oh http://kuow.org/post/you-yawn-she-doesnt-yawn-back-uh-oh You are at a table for two, sitting with your girlfriend or boyfriend, when, for no good reason (you can't help it, you didn't mean to do it), you yawn. It's a big, gaping, jaw-extending, embarrassing yawn and because you didn't cover your face, oh, God, she/he sees it. A second or two goes by, and then ... something <em>doesn't </em>happen. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 19:37:13 +0000 Robert Krulwich 31240 at http://kuow.org You Yawn. She Doesn't Yawn Back. Uh-Oh I Can't Believe What I'm Seeing: A Springtime (Froggy) Miracle http://kuow.org/post/i-cant-believe-what-im-seeing-springtime-froggy-miracle Two weeks ago this animal was frozen solid. If you found one in the woods, packed in the topsoil, hiding under a leaf, you could pull it from the ground and it would feel like an ashtray. You could bang it (lightly) on a table — it would go, "Konk!" like a rock. It doesn't seem to be breathing. It reacts to nothing. It's so dead. Or seems to be. And then, this (I want to call it a miracle) happens ...<p>I did this piece when I was host of <em>Nova Science Now,</em> on PBS, and <a href="http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/nature/costanzo-cryobiology.html">the mystery</a> of it still amazes me. Sat, 22 Mar 2014 09:03:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 31080 at http://kuow.org I Can't Believe What I'm Seeing: A Springtime (Froggy) Miracle An Imaginary Town Becomes Real, Then Not. True Story http://kuow.org/post/imaginary-town-becomes-real-then-not-true-story This is the story of a totally made-up place that suddenly became real — and then, strangely, undid itself and became a fantasy again. Imagine Pinocchio becoming a real boy and then going back to being a puppet. That's what happened here — but this is a true story.<p>It's about a place in upstate New York called Agloe. You can see it here, circled in blue ...<p>... Tue, 18 Mar 2014 20:43:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 30796 at http://kuow.org An Imaginary Town Becomes Real, Then Not. True Story Is That Someone's House? What Astronauts Can See Looking Down http://kuow.org/post/someones-house-what-astronauts-can-see-looking-down <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1XBwjQsOEeg</p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 17:33:57 +0000 Robert Krulwich 29900 at http://kuow.org Is That Someone's House? What Astronauts Can See Looking Down Trees On The Move As Temperature Zones Shift 3.8 Feet A Day http://kuow.org/post/trees-move-temperature-zones-shift-38-feet-day You are a snail. You are a plant. You like where you are. The temperature's right. It suits you.<p>But then, gradually, over the years, it gets warmer. Not every day, of course, but on more and more days, the temperature climbs to uncomfortable highs, drying you out, making you tired, thirsty.<p>Something is not right. And though you can't know this, there's a reason: The whole planet is getting warmer, which means that temperature zones are shifting. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 16:26:16 +0000 Robert Krulwich 29035 at http://kuow.org Trees On The Move As Temperature Zones Shift 3.8 Feet A Day Who's Got A Pregnant Brain? http://kuow.org/post/whos-got-pregnant-brain Imagine a couple of million years ago, a curious young alien from the planet Zantar — let's call him a grad student — lands on Earth, looks around and asks, "Who's the brainiest critter on this planet? Relative to body size, who's got the biggest brain?"<p>The answer, back then, would not have been us. (Two million years ago, apes — even walking ones — had much smaller brains.) The brainiest weren't ancestral crows or parrots or magpies or ravens or elephants or colonies of ants or bees or termites. The Earthlings with the biggest brains back then were dolphins (and certain whales). Tue, 14 Jan 2014 17:09:40 +0000 Robert Krulwich 27029 at http://kuow.org Who's Got A Pregnant Brain? A Rain Forest Begins With Rain, Right? Is This A Trick Question? http://kuow.org/post/rain-forest-begins-rain-right-trick-question <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y3OWgb0Bv-A</p> Thu, 09 Jan 2014 12:08:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 26769 at http://kuow.org A Rain Forest Begins With Rain, Right? Is This A Trick Question? Am I Going To Die This Year? A Mathematical Puzzle http://kuow.org/post/am-i-going-die-year-mathematical-puzzle A few years ago, physicist <a href="http://www.physics.umn.edu/people/bskinner.html">Brian Skinner</a><strong> </strong>asked himself: What are the odds I will die in the next year? He was 25. What got him wondering about this, I have no idea, but, hey, it's something everybody asks. When I can't wedge my dental floss between my two front teeth, I ask it, too. So Brian looked up the answer — there are tables for this kind of thing<strong> — </strong>and what he discovered is interesting. Very interesting. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 13:27:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 26709 at http://kuow.org Am I Going To Die This Year? A Mathematical Puzzle Oh Say, Can You See? A Musical Salute http://kuow.org/post/oh-say-can-you-see-musical-salute <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vE-2IJDT4tE</p> Sun, 05 Jan 2014 09:33:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 26547 at http://kuow.org Oh Say, Can You See? A Musical Salute Billboards That Drop Angels On Your Head http://kuow.org/post/billboards-drop-angels-your-head <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GtJx_pZjvzc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EEKC-Yu-LeQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MZcwCMV9UEs</p> Sat, 04 Jan 2014 13:33:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 26524 at http://kuow.org Billboards That Drop Angels On Your Head 'You're Invisible, But I'll Eat You Anyway.' Secrets Of Snow-Diving Foxes http://kuow.org/post/youre-invisible-ill-eat-you-anyway-secrets-snow-diving-foxes <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D2SoGHFM18I</p> Fri, 03 Jan 2014 12:47:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 26460 at http://kuow.org 'You're Invisible, But I'll Eat You Anyway.' Secrets Of Snow-Diving Foxes