Technology http://kuow.org en Massive Layoffs At Microsoft A Test For Seattle Startup Culture http://kuow.org/post/massive-layoffs-microsoft-test-seattle-startup-culture <p>Last week, Microsoft began the biggest layoffs in the company’s history: 18,000 total expected in the next year. So far, about 1,300 local workers have been affected.</p><p>Jon Talton, business reporter for the Seattle Times, told KUOW’s Ross Reynolds on <em>The Record</em> that this event is a test for the local economy. He said the Seattle area is in the midst of an economic boom – driven by Amazon, Boeing’s 777X and 737, increased exports and low unemployment. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:31:36 +0000 Ross Reynolds, Andy Hurst & Amina Al-Sadi 38643 at http://kuow.org Massive Layoffs At Microsoft A Test For Seattle Startup Culture Bookstore Owner's 'Grudging Respect' For Online Subscription Service http://kuow.org/post/bookstore-owners-grudging-respect-online-subscription-service <p>Jeannie Yandel talks with business writer and Page 2 Books&nbsp;co-owner Bill Virgin about Amazon's new unlimited book subscription service, <a href="http://techcrunch.com/2014/07/18/amazon-officially-announces-kindle-unlimited-offering-reading-and-listening-for-9-99-a-month/">Kindle Unlimited</a>. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:23:47 +0000 Jeannie Yandel 38520 at http://kuow.org What Happens After A Layoff http://kuow.org/post/what-happens-after-layoff <p>Ross Reynolds talks with&nbsp;<a href="http://www.hreonline.com/HRE/view/story.jhtml?id=534356761&amp;">Kevin Osborne</a>, vice president of client services at Waldron, a human resources consulting firm based in Seattle, about how downsizing companies may provide for laid off employees. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:23:36 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38532 at http://kuow.org What Happens After A Layoff An Update On The Microsoft Job Cuts And What It Means For The Region http://kuow.org/post/update-microsoft-job-cuts-and-what-it-means-region <p>Ross Reynolds talks to Todd Bishop, founder of Geekwire, about the announcement that Microsoft will be cutting 18,000 jobs over the next year, including 1,351 in the Seattle region. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 21:49:11 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 38463 at http://kuow.org How Much Time Do You Spend On Your Smartphone? Let's See http://kuow.org/post/how-much-time-do-you-spend-your-smartphone-lets-see <em>This post is part of our</em><em> </em><a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/alltechconsidered/195149875/innovation">Weekly Innovation series</a>,<em> in which we explore an interesting idea, design or product that you may not have heard of yet. Do you have an innovation to share?</em><em> </em><a href="https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1XkmQ6smYmKiQIL-W6leAp3KgpZf32G9qzL7O6JgwYos/viewform">Use this quick form</a>.<p>How much time are you spending on your phone? Wed, 16 Jul 2014 19:19:10 +0000 editor 38370 at http://kuow.org How Much Time Do You Spend On Your Smartphone? Let's See Amazon: Send In The Drones (And The Lobbyists) http://kuow.org/post/amazon-send-drones-and-lobbyists <p>Amazon, the world’s largest online retailer, is seeking permission to send unmanned aircraft into the skies. <a href="http://www.regulations.gov/#!documentDetail;D=FAA-2014-0474-0001">The company has asked</a> the Federal Aviation Administration for permission to test its delivery-by-drone system.</p><p>The Seattle retailer has been testing drones indoors in Seattle, but it needs a federal exemption to test them outside. The company tells the FAA it wants to test drones on its own property “near Seattle.” Fri, 11 Jul 2014 22:57:46 +0000 John Ryan 38111 at http://kuow.org Amazon: Send In The Drones (And The Lobbyists) Major Memo Sent To Microsoft Employees http://kuow.org/post/major-memo-sent-microsoft-employees <p>Ross Reynolds talks to Todd Bishop of Geekwire about Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella's 3,200 word, company-wide memo.</p><p>Bishop picked out one key section of the missive: Nadella’s pursuit of streamlining the company’s engineering processes and being more responsive to the market and customers’ demands. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:42:39 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 38078 at http://kuow.org Major Memo Sent To Microsoft Employees A New Device Lets You Track Your Preschooler ... And Listen In http://kuow.org/post/new-device-lets-you-track-your-preschooler-and-listen I was always thankful that my parents didn't "leash me" at the mall or grocery store when I was a child — but you'll never guess what parents can strap on their kids nowadays.<p>LG Electronics <a href="http://www.lgnewsroom.com/newsroom/contents/64572">introduced a device</a> Wednesday called the KizON. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 20:08:00 +0000 editor 37999 at http://kuow.org A New Device Lets You Track Your Preschooler ... And Listen In Oregon Marijuana Campaign Wants Some Of Your Bitcoin Stash http://kuow.org/post/oregon-marijuana-campaign-wants-some-your-bitcoin-stash <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/070314CL_bitcoincampaigns_web_0.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The group behind the initiative to legalize recreational marijuana in Oregon is now accepting bitcoin contributions.<p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 14:42:04 +0000 Chris Lehman 37726 at http://kuow.org Oregon Marijuana Campaign Wants Some Of Your Bitcoin Stash Report: Most NSA-Intercepted Data From 'Ordinary Internet Users' http://kuow.org/post/report-most-nsa-intercepted-data-ordinary-internet-users A <em>Washington Post</em> <a href="http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/national-security/in-nsa-intercepted-data-those-not-targeted-far-outnumber-the-foreigners-who-are/2014/07/05/8139adf8-045a-11e4-8572-4b1b969b6322_story.html">analysis of data provided by Edward Snowden</a> has revealed that nine out of 10 communications intercepted by the National Security Agency were from ordinary Internet users, not legally targeted foreigners. Sun, 06 Jul 2014 13:07:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 37691 at http://kuow.org When What You Post Online Can Get You In Trouble http://kuow.org/post/when-what-you-post-online-can-get-you-trouble <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Andy Sellars, assistant director of Harvard's Digital Media Law Project, about what you can and can't say online. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 22:54:58 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 37340 at http://kuow.org Facebook Expands Seattle Office Space, Studies Your Emotions http://kuow.org/post/facebook-expands-seattle-office-space-studies-your-emotions <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Todd Bishop, tech writer and co-founder of Geekwire about the growing tech industry in the Northwest and Facebook's secret study into manipulating the emotions of its users. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 22:37:50 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 37357 at http://kuow.org Preschoolers Outsmart College Students In Figuring Out Gadgets http://kuow.org/post/preschoolers-outsmart-college-students-figuring-out-gadgets <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vMaCtapBduU</p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 07:26:00 +0000 Michelle Trudeau 37309 at http://kuow.org Preschoolers Outsmart College Students In Figuring Out Gadgets Online Psychotherapy Gains Fans And Raises Privacy Concerns http://kuow.org/post/online-psychotherapy-gains-fans-and-raises-privacy-concerns Lauren Kay has never met her therapist in person. The 24-year-old entrepreneur found it difficult to take time off work for appointments.<p>So she started seeing a psychotherapist online.<p>"It's definitely been different," she says. Kay, who lives in New York, found her counselor through an online therapy service called <a href="https://prettypaddedroom.com/">Pretty Padded Room</a>. When it's time for an appointment, all she has to do is log in to the website, click a link and start video chatting.<p>The format works well for her. "It felt like Skyping with a friend," she says. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 07:25:00 +0000 editor 37310 at http://kuow.org Online Psychotherapy Gains Fans And Raises Privacy Concerns Modern Video Games Go Beyond 'Jumping On Blocks' http://kuow.org/post/modern-video-games-go-beyond-jumping-blocks <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8f3XJePYPpo</p> Sat, 28 Jun 2014 21:26:00 +0000 NPR Staff 37281 at http://kuow.org