History http://kuow.org en The Racial Undertones Of 'The Mikado' http://kuow.org/post/racial-undertones-mikado <p>Jeannie Yandel talks to Josephine Lee, English and Asian American studies professor at the University of Minnesota, about the checkered history of the Gilbert and Sullivan's "The Mikado." Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:22:57 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Amina Al-Sadi 38523 at http://kuow.org The Racial Undertones Of 'The Mikado' Washington's Last Waltz With Ending Prohibition http://kuow.org/post/washingtons-last-waltz-ending-prohibition <p>Ross Reynolds talks to&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Redmond Barnett, head of the exhibits department for the W</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">ashington State Historical Society, about what happened the last time the state lifted prohibition. </span> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 21:49:35 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Ross Reynolds 38437 at http://kuow.org This Dirty Little Weed May Have Cleaned Up Ancient Teeth http://kuow.org/post/dirty-little-weed-may-have-cleaned-ancient-teeth The menus of millennia past can be tough to crack, especially when it comes to fruits and vegetables. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:07:00 +0000 editor 38393 at http://kuow.org This Dirty Little Weed May Have Cleaned Up Ancient Teeth It's Time We All Embrace Contrarian History http://kuow.org/post/its-time-we-all-embrace-contrarian-history <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Ilan Stavans&nbsp;about his new book, “A Most Imperfect Union: A Contrarian History of the United States." Tue, 15 Jul 2014 22:28:37 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 38278 at http://kuow.org Firemen's Ball Ushers In France's Bastille Day http://kuow.org/post/firemens-ball-ushers-frances-bastille-day On this day in 1789, crowds stormed the Bastille prison, where the king kept his enemies. The monarchy was overthrown in a revolution. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 editor 38167 at http://kuow.org Susan Jacoby Says You Should Know Who Robert Ingersoll Is http://kuow.org/post/susan-jacoby-says-you-should-know-who-robert-ingersoll <p>David Hyde talks with author Susan Jacoby about her new book, "The Great Agnostic: Robert Ingersoll and American Freethought," the story of a historic figure for the separation of church and state. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:52:01 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 38079 at http://kuow.org When 'The Beautiful Game' Was Chaotic And Dangerous http://kuow.org/post/when-beautiful-game-was-chaotic-and-dangerous <p>Marcie Sillman talks with University of Washington professor <a href="http://ischool.uw.edu/people/faculty/jwj">Joe Janes</a> about the <a href="http://faculty.washington.edu/jwj/doc/football.mp3">original rules of soccer</a>, published in 1863. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:45:39 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 38070 at http://kuow.org Potsdamer Square's Revitalization Since The Fall Of The Berlin Wall 25 Years Ago http://kuow.org/post/potsdamer-squares-revitalization-fall-berlin-wall-25-years-ago <p>Ross Reynolds speaks with Peter Schneider, author of "Berlin Now," about the vast changes there since the fall of the Berlin Wall 25 years ago this November.</p><p>The two spoke in&nbsp; Potsdamer Square, which in the 1920s was Berlin's Times Square.</p><p>But it was bombed to rubble during World War II.</p><p>In 1962 the Berlin Wall, dominated by a wide "kill zone," was built right down the middle of the square.&nbsp;</p><p>Following the fall of the wall in 1989, Potsdamer was reborn. It has become once again a Berlin landmark.</p><p></p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 21:13:58 +0000 Ross Reynolds 37899 at http://kuow.org Potsdamer Square's Revitalization Since The Fall Of The Berlin Wall 25 Years Ago History Of The EPA: From Bipartisan To Polarized http://kuow.org/post/history-epa-bipartisan-polarized <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Georgetown law professor Lisa Heinzerling about the history of the Environmental Protection Agency, and the change of its scope over time.&nbsp; Tue, 08 Jul 2014 21:44:54 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 37825 at http://kuow.org The Story Of Joseph Smith: Founder Of The Mormon Church http://kuow.org/post/story-joseph-smith-founder-mormon-church <p>David Hyde talks to Alex Beam about his new book "American Crucifixion: The Murder of Joseph Smith and The Fate of The Modern Church." Thu, 03 Jul 2014 22:26:25 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 37577 at http://kuow.org 'Imbecile Slush': Surprising Early Reactions To Crooning http://kuow.org/post/imbecile-slush-surprising-early-reactions-crooning <p>In 1932, a new singing style was emerging: crooning. What we might consider easy listening now wasn't necessarily received cordially by its contemporaries. Cardinal O'Connell of Boston described it as "imbecile slush" and "a degenerate form of singing.” Wed, 02 Jul 2014 23:57:18 +0000 Amanda Wilde 37426 at http://kuow.org 'Imbecile Slush': Surprising Early Reactions To Crooning The Night A Fire Silenced KOMO's Airwaves http://kuow.org/post/night-fire-silenced-komos-airwaves <p>On the night of Thursday, July 2, 2009, the 4th of July weekend was underway. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 19:26:46 +0000 Feliks Banel 37506 at http://kuow.org The Night A Fire Silenced KOMO's Airwaves Postcard From Germany: Across The Street From The Gestapo Headquarters http://kuow.org/post/postcard-germany-across-street-gestapo-headquarters <p>While visiting Germany for a journalism fellowship, KUOW’s Ross Reynolds reports on what's changed and what's stayed the same in the 25 years since the fall of the Berlin Wall. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 17:16:55 +0000 Ross Reynolds 37413 at http://kuow.org Postcard From Germany: Across The Street From The Gestapo Headquarters A Century From Archduke's Death, Spotlight Turns Back To Bosnia http://kuow.org/post/century-archdukes-death-spotlight-turns-back-bosnia Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>People from around the world are in Sarajevo this week to mark 100 years since the gunshot that changed history. On June 28, 1914, a young assassin killed Archduke Franz Ferdinand, triggering the First World War. Bosnia is hosting concerts, conferences and art exhibitions to mark the centenary. NPR's Ari Shapiro reports from Sarajevo on what locals make of the big commemoration.<p>ARI SHAPIRO, BYLINE: In the heart of Sarajevo's old city, the Markale market is a bustling place. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 20:20:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 37162 at http://kuow.org 'A Very Principled Boy': The Story Of A Soviet Spy That Switched Sides http://kuow.org/post/very-principled-boy-story-soviet-spy-switched-sides <p>David Hyde talks to author Mark Bradley about his book, "A Very Principled Boy." It's the story of Duncan Lee, who became a spy for the Soviet Union only to switch allegiance back to the United States later in his life. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 22:04:55 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 36972 at http://kuow.org 'A Very Principled Boy': The Story Of A Soviet Spy That Switched Sides