History http://kuow.org en Can You Remember When The Second Amendment Was A Non-Issue? http://kuow.org/post/can-you-remember-when-second-amendment-was-non-issue <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks to Michael Waldman about his new book "The Second A<span style="line-height: 1.5;">mendment: A Biography." Gun control has been a hot topic for years and the debate will play out in Washington</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> this November in the form of two rival initiatives on guns.&nbsp; </span></p><p>Waldman<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, president of the Brennan Center for Justice at the NYU School of Law, says for decades of American history the Second Amendment was a non-issue.&nbsp; </span> Tue, 29 Jul 2014 22:35:15 +0000 Ross Reynolds 37841 at http://kuow.org Can You Remember When The Second Amendment Was A Non-Issue? Nell Pickerell, A Trans Man From Seattle's Rough And Tumble Days http://kuow.org/post/nell-pickerell-trans-man-seattles-rough-and-tumble-days <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Seattle writer Knute Berger was combing through old articles when he spotted an unusual character: “A woman, dressed as a man, riding a bike recklessly.” Tue, 29 Jul 2014 22:35:12 +0000 Jeannie Yandel 38907 at http://kuow.org Nell Pickerell, A Trans Man From Seattle's Rough And Tumble Days Tim Egan On How A Fire In 1910 Shaped Firefighting http://kuow.org/post/tim-egan-how-fire-1910-shaped-firefighting <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with Tim Egan, columnist for the New York Times, about the Devil's Broom fire in 1910. The conflagration was the largest in United States history, burning 3 million acres in the Pacific Northwest, and set the stage for modern firefighting. Tue, 29 Jul 2014 16:02:30 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38831 at http://kuow.org Tim Egan On How A Fire In 1910 Shaped Firefighting Ghost Cats And Musket Balls: Stories Told By Capitol Interns http://kuow.org/post/ghost-cats-and-musket-balls-stories-told-capitol-interns Every summer thousands of interns flood the offices of Capitol Hill. One of their primary duties is to give constituents tours of the famous buildings. They parade visitors from the rotunda to statuary hall, offering stories and anecdotes.<p>But while these intern tours provide a great deal of information, they are sometimes a little short on actual history.<p>On any given day in the Capitol, thousands of visitors listen to Senate and House interns. They point to the paintings and murals, the statues and architecture and talk about U.S. history. Tue, 29 Jul 2014 08:56:00 +0000 Laura Sullivan 39112 at http://kuow.org Ghost Cats And Musket Balls: Stories Told By Capitol Interns Friend, Deputy Remember Former Mayor Paul Schell http://kuow.org/post/friend-deputy-remember-former-mayor-paul-schell <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Seattle Chamber of Commerce Acting CEO&nbsp;<a href="http://www.seattlechamber.com/news/pressroom/presskit/mauddaudon.aspx">Maud Daudon</a>&nbsp;about former Seattle Mayor Paul Schell. Daudon&nbsp;served as <span style="line-height: 1.5;">deputy mayor and chief of staff under Schell from 1998 to 2001.</span> In addition, Ross discusses Schell’s legacy with David Brewster, founder of the Seattle Weekly, who was a personal friend. Schell died Sunday at the age of 76. Mon, 28 Jul 2014 21:38:28 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst & Matthew Streib 39086 at http://kuow.org Memories Of Exclusion Inspire Seattle Architect's Work http://kuow.org/post/memories-exclusion-inspire-seattle-architects-work <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Seattle architect </span>Johnpaul<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;Jones will receive the National Humanities Medal from President Barack Obama on Monday.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The White House says he will be the second Native American to receive the medal.</span> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 15:36:07 +0000 Joshua McNichols 38986 at http://kuow.org Memories Of Exclusion Inspire Seattle Architect's Work Paul Schell, Innkeeper And Former Seattle Mayor, Dies At 76 http://kuow.org/post/paul-schell-innkeeper-and-former-seattle-mayor-dies-76 <p>He is the reason fish fly at the Pike Place Market, or so the story goes.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">On Sunday, Paul Schell, a former Seattle mayor and champion of urban neighborhoods, died. He was 76.</span></p><p>A spokeswoman for Mayor Ed Murray confirmed that Schell died at Swedish Hospital.</p><p> Sun, 27 Jul 2014 19:16:34 +0000 Isolde Raftery & Lisa Brooks 39033 at http://kuow.org Paul Schell, Innkeeper And Former Seattle Mayor, Dies At 76 The Racial Undertones Of 'The Mikado' http://kuow.org/post/racial-undertones-mikado <p>Jeannie Yandel talks to Josephine Lee, English and Asian American studies professor at the University of Minnesota, about the checkered history of the Gilbert and Sullivan's "The Mikado." Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:22:57 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Amina Al-Sadi 38523 at http://kuow.org The Racial Undertones Of 'The Mikado' Washington's Last Waltz With Ending Prohibition http://kuow.org/post/washingtons-last-waltz-ending-prohibition <p>Ross Reynolds talks to&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Redmond Barnett, head of the exhibits department for the W</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">ashington State Historical Society, about what happened the last time the state lifted prohibition. </span> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 21:49:35 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Ross Reynolds 38437 at http://kuow.org This Dirty Little Weed May Have Cleaned Up Ancient Teeth http://kuow.org/post/dirty-little-weed-may-have-cleaned-ancient-teeth The menus of millennia past can be tough to crack, especially when it comes to fruits and vegetables. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:07:00 +0000 editor 38393 at http://kuow.org This Dirty Little Weed May Have Cleaned Up Ancient Teeth It's Time We All Embrace Contrarian History http://kuow.org/post/its-time-we-all-embrace-contrarian-history <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Ilan Stavans&nbsp;about his new book, “A Most Imperfect Union: A Contrarian History of the United States." Tue, 15 Jul 2014 22:28:37 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 38278 at http://kuow.org Firemen's Ball Ushers In France's Bastille Day http://kuow.org/post/firemens-ball-ushers-frances-bastille-day On this day in 1789, crowds stormed the Bastille prison, where the king kept his enemies. The monarchy was overthrown in a revolution. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 editor 38167 at http://kuow.org Susan Jacoby Says You Should Know Who Robert Ingersoll Is http://kuow.org/post/susan-jacoby-says-you-should-know-who-robert-ingersoll <p>David Hyde talks with author Susan Jacoby about her new book, "The Great Agnostic: Robert Ingersoll and American Freethought," the story of a historic figure for the separation of church and state. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:52:01 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 38079 at http://kuow.org When 'The Beautiful Game' Was Chaotic And Dangerous http://kuow.org/post/when-beautiful-game-was-chaotic-and-dangerous <p>Marcie Sillman talks with University of Washington professor <a href="http://ischool.uw.edu/people/faculty/jwj">Joe Janes</a> about the <a href="http://faculty.washington.edu/jwj/doc/football.mp3">original rules of soccer</a>, published in 1863. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:45:39 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 38070 at http://kuow.org Potsdamer Square's Revitalization Since The Fall Of The Berlin Wall 25 Years Ago http://kuow.org/post/potsdamer-squares-revitalization-fall-berlin-wall-25-years-ago <p>Ross Reynolds speaks with Peter Schneider, author of "Berlin Now," about the vast changes there since the fall of the Berlin Wall 25 years ago this November.</p><p>The two spoke in&nbsp; Potsdamer Square, which in the 1920s was Berlin's Times Square.</p><p>But it was bombed to rubble during World War II.</p><p>In 1962 the Berlin Wall, dominated by a wide "kill zone," was built right down the middle of the square.&nbsp;</p><p>Following the fall of the wall in 1989, Potsdamer was reborn. It has become once again a Berlin landmark.</p><p></p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 21:13:58 +0000 Ross Reynolds 37899 at http://kuow.org Potsdamer Square's Revitalization Since The Fall Of The Berlin Wall 25 Years Ago