Health http://kuow.org en What Are Scorpion Venom And Brain Tumors Doing In A Lab Together? http://kuow.org/post/what-are-scorpion-venom-and-brain-tumors-doing-lab-together <p>After removing a tumor, surgeons are confronted with an unfortunate reality: They can’t be sure they got it all. It can be difficult to distinguish between normal tissue and cancerous cells while operating.</p><p>Dr. Jim Olson, an oncologist at the University of Washington, was inspired by his young patients to find a way to ensure that surgeons didn’t miss anything. Mon, 28 Jul 2014 22:12:33 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 39075 at http://kuow.org What Are Scorpion Venom And Brain Tumors Doing In A Lab Together? People Who Feel They Have A Purpose In Life Live Longer http://kuow.org/post/people-who-feel-they-have-purpose-life-live-longer We know that happiness and social connection can have positive benefits on health. Mon, 28 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Patti Neighmond 39041 at http://kuow.org People Who Feel They Have A Purpose In Life Live Longer Is Your Entire Life Just a TV Show? http://kuow.org/post/your-entire-life-just-tv-show <p>Ross Reynolds talks with psychologist Joel Gold, who co-authored the book "Suspicious Minds: How Culture Shapes Madness." The book deals in part with the "Truman Show" delusion: a belief that everyone around you is an actor, and you're the star of a TV show.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:31:56 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38960 at http://kuow.org Is Your Entire Life Just a TV Show? U.S. Teens Still Lag In Getting Vaccinated Against HPV http://kuow.org/post/us-teens-still-lag-getting-vaccinated-against-hpv Though the vaccine against human papilloma virus is highly effective in preventing certain forms of cancer, the number of preteens getting the vaccine is still dismally low, doctors from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention announced Thursday.<p>"One of the top five reasons parents listed is that it hadn't been recommended to them by a doctor or nurse," the CDC's <a href="http://www.cdc.gov/about/leadership/leaders/schuchat.htm">Dr. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:49:36 +0000 editor 38901 at http://kuow.org U.S. Teens Still Lag In Getting Vaccinated Against HPV Behavior Changes From Patients And Doctors Recommended For HIV Prevention http://kuow.org/post/behavior-changes-patients-and-doctors-recommended-hiv-prevention <p>In the campaign to prevent HIV and sexually transmitted infections, counselors like Chief Odood are on the frontlines. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 15:59:56 +0000 Ruby de Luna 38836 at http://kuow.org Behavior Changes From Patients And Doctors Recommended For HIV Prevention The Epic 2,200-Mile Tour De France Is Also A Test Of Epic Eating http://kuow.org/post/epic-2200-mile-tour-de-france-also-test-epic-eating The famously grueling cycling race involves about 2,200 miles of furious pedaling, huge mountain climbs and downhill sprints at 50-plus miles per hour. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 16:16:00 +0000 editor 38798 at http://kuow.org The Epic 2,200-Mile Tour De France Is Also A Test Of Epic Eating Many Kids Who Are Obese Or Overweight Don't Know It http://kuow.org/post/many-kids-who-are-obese-or-overweight-dont-know-it Kids can be cruel, especially about weight. So you might think overweight or obese children know all too well that they're heavy — thanks to playground politics. But that's not necessarily so, according to government data covering about 6,100 kids and teens ages 8-15.<p>About 30 percent "misperceived" their weight status (underweight, normal weight, overweight or obese), according to a report from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's National Center for Health Statistics. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 11:58:00 +0000 Katherine Hobson 38782 at http://kuow.org Many Kids Who Are Obese Or Overweight Don't Know It Experimental Cocktail May Speed Up Cure Of Drug-Resistant TB http://kuow.org/post/experimental-cocktail-may-speed-cure-drug-resistant-tb It's been a long time coming — nearly a half century. But the world is finally close to gaining a new weapon against a growing problem: drug-resistant tuberculosis.<p>Over the past few decades, TB has quietly evolved into dangerous forms that can't be stopped with traditional antibiotics. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 15:38:02 +0000 Michaeleen Doucleff 38711 at http://kuow.org Experimental Cocktail May Speed Up Cure Of Drug-Resistant TB Why Hot Cars Are So Deadly http://kuow.org/post/why-hot-cars-are-so-deadly <p style="padding-left: 30px"><em>It’s an annual summer tragedy. So far this year, 17 children in the U.S. have died of heat stroke inside a parked car. Some of those cases have been getting extra attention this summer, but that number is not unusual. Georgia Public Broadcasting’s <strong>Adam Ragusea</strong> looked into the science that explains how a parked car can get so hot, so fast.</em><p>It’s a sunny, summer day in Macon, Georgia. I’m standing with Matt Marone outside his truck, and the A.C. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 21:01:45 +0000 editor 38668 at http://kuow.org Why Hot Cars Are So Deadly For These Vegans, Masculinity Means Protecting The Planet http://kuow.org/post/these-vegans-masculinity-means-protecting-planet Real men eat meat. They kill it and then they grill it.<p>That's the stereotype, or cliche, that's about as old as time.<p>At a recent barbecue in Brooklyn, N.Y., a half-dozen guys who resist that particular cultural stereotype gathered together. Many of them are muscled semi-professional athletes, including triathlete Dominic Thompson, competitive bodybuilder Giacomo Marchese and mixed martial arts fighter Cornell Ward.<p>They're also all vegans and eschew all animal products. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 21:00:38 +0000 Neda Ulaby 38664 at http://kuow.org For These Vegans, Masculinity Means Protecting The Planet High-Performing Charter Schools May Improve Students' Health http://kuow.org/post/high-performing-charter-schools-may-improve-students-health Many people are intensely interested in how publicly funded charter schools affect children, and that includes not just their academic achievement but their health.<p>Researchers from UCLA and the Rand Corp. wanted to know whether attending a high-performing charter school reduced the rates of risky health behaviors among low-income minority teenagers.<p>They surveyed 521 ninth through 12th-grade students in Los Angeles who attended charter schools, and 409 students who attended local neighborhood schools. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 20:59:35 +0000 Patti Neighmond 38663 at http://kuow.org High-Performing Charter Schools May Improve Students' Health Medical Community Mourns Loss Of AIDS Research Leader http://kuow.org/post/medical-community-mourns-loss-aids-research-leader <p>Seattle’s medical and research community is mourning the death of dozens of HIV researchers killed in the Malaysia Air crash Thursday.&nbsp; The group was en route to Australia for the International Aids Conference. &nbsp; Sat, 19 Jul 2014 00:18:50 +0000 Ruby de Luna 38548 at http://kuow.org Half Of Texas Abortion Clinics Close After Restrictions Enacted http://kuow.org/post/half-texas-abortion-clinics-close-after-restrictions-enacted In a little over a year, the number of clinics that provide abortions in Texas fell to 20 from 41, and watchdogs say that as few as six may be left by September.<p>Many clinics closed because of a requirement that doctors at those clinics obtain hospital admitting privileges within a certain radius of the clinic, and many doctors couldn't comply. The requirement took effect last November. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 15:01:00 +0000 editor 38505 at http://kuow.org Half Of Texas Abortion Clinics Close After Restrictions Enacted Hungry For Pot? Here's What You Need To Know http://kuow.org/post/hungry-pot-heres-what-you-need-know <p>Marcie Sillman talks with <a href="http://rogerroffman.com/">Roger Roffman</a>, University of Washington professor emeritus of social work, about how to stay safe with marijuana edibles. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 21:49:30 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 38439 at http://kuow.org Hungry For Pot? Here's What You Need To Know Why It's Good To Talk About Miscarriages http://kuow.org/post/why-its-good-talk-about-miscarriages Miscarriages are fairly common. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 19:18:30 +0000 editor 38451 at http://kuow.org Why It's Good To Talk About Miscarriages