Government http://kuow.org en Paul Schell, Former Seattle Mayor And Booster Of Neighborhoods, Dies At 76 http://kuow.org/post/paul-schell-former-seattle-mayor-and-booster-neighborhoods-dies-76 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Paul Schell, a Seattle mayor and champion of urban neighborhoods, died in Seattle on Sunday. He was 76.</span></p><p>A spokeswoman for Mayor Ed Murray confirmed that Schell died at Swedish Hospital.</p><p> Sun, 27 Jul 2014 19:16:34 +0000 Isolde Raftery 39033 at http://kuow.org Paul Schell, Former Seattle Mayor And Booster Of Neighborhoods, Dies At 76 Sex Offender's Arrest Highlights The Difficulty Of Community Supervision http://kuow.org/post/sex-offenders-arrest-highlights-difficulty-community-supervision <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A Level 3 sex offender charged with kidnapping is back in court this week.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Prosecutors say Jesse </span>Brisbin<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> snatched a six-year-old girl from a park in Beacon Hill and assaulted her.</span></p><p>Brisbin has pleaded not guilty. Sat, 26 Jul 2014 01:21:52 +0000 Patricia Murphy 38978 at http://kuow.org Sex Offender's Arrest Highlights The Difficulty Of Community Supervision Independent Commission To Probe Oso Landslide http://kuow.org/post/independent-commission-probe-oso-landslide <p>An independent commission will delve into the deadliest landslide in Washington history. The commission will seek statewide lessons from the Oso landslide, land use in the Oso area before the slide, and the emergency response in the days and weeks afterward.</p><p> Sat, 26 Jul 2014 00:21:46 +0000 John Ryan 38985 at http://kuow.org Independent Commission To Probe Oso Landslide Marijuana Activists Cheer Federal Crackdown On Hash Oil Manufacturer http://kuow.org/post/marijuana-activists-cheer-federal-crackdown-hash-oil-manufacturer <p>Two men who produced marijuana candy appeared in federal court Friday for a detention hearing . They’re accused of endangering others while manufacturing marijuana extracts.</p><p> Sat, 26 Jul 2014 00:05:22 +0000 Amy Radil 38983 at http://kuow.org 'The Best Music Is A Blank Slate': Charles R. Cross On Knowing Too Much About Musicians http://kuow.org/post/best-music-blank-slate-charles-r-cross-knowing-too-much-about-musicians <p>Jeannie Yandel talks with Seattle-based music writer and critic <a href="http://charlesrcross.com/">Charles R. Cross</a> about why it's almost always better to know less about a musician's personal life and political views. The Puyallup Tribe announced they're <a href="http://www.thenewstribune.com/2014/07/24/3302220/tacoma-casino-bows-to-public-pressure.html?sp=/99/289/&amp;ihp=1">canceling rock musician Ted Nugent's shows </a>at the Emerald Queen Casino, saying comments Nugent recently made about President Obama helped push them to cancel the shows. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:32:10 +0000 Jeannie Yandel 38959 at http://kuow.org 'The Best Music Is A Blank Slate': Charles R. Cross On Knowing Too Much About Musicians Feds Offer Wildfire Assistance, But So Far No Payments To Homeowners http://kuow.org/post/feds-offer-wildfire-assistance-so-far-no-payments-homeowners <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/071714CL_wildfireupdate_web_3.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Federal funds are being used to help fight the wildfires that have raged across the Northwest this summer. But so far, the Federal Emergency Management Agency isn't handing out money directly to owners of the nearly 200 homes lost in the blazes.<p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 14:27:20 +0000 Chris Lehman 38935 at http://kuow.org Feds Offer Wildfire Assistance, But So Far No Payments To Homeowners Oregon To Vote On Legalizing Marijuana, Again http://kuow.org/post/oregon-vote-legalizing-marijuana-again <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Anthony Johnson, director of New Approach Oregon, which recently submitted enough signatures for a referendum on recreational marijuana legalization to appear on the November ballot. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 22:13:24 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38910 at http://kuow.org Are Seattle Police Targeting Black Pot Smokers? http://kuow.org/post/are-seattle-police-targeting-black-pot-smokers <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Seattle City Attorney Pete Holmes about whether a disproportionate amount of black people are issued tickets for public pot use. Holmes says he's working on a plan to provide public spaces that are safe to smoke marijuana.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 21:47:43 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Shane Mehling 38887 at http://kuow.org Are Seattle Police Targeting Black Pot Smokers? Why Arlington, Washington Outlawed Panhandling http://kuow.org/post/why-arlington-washington-outlawed-panhandling <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Bruce Stedman, Arlington's acting police chief, and Doug Honig, ACLU of Washington's communications director, about the city's strict new approach to panhandling. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 21:43:56 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38877 at http://kuow.org Why Arlington, Washington Outlawed Panhandling Oregonians Will Vote On GMO Labeling Initiative http://kuow.org/post/oregonians-will-vote-gmo-labeling-initiative <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/072314CL_kaushik_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>An initiative that will give Oregonians the chance to vote on whether food companies should label products that contain genetically engineered ingredients <a href="http://egov.sos.state.or.us/elec/web_irr_search.record_detail?p_reference=20140044..ASCYYY">qualified for the November ballot</a> Wednesday.<p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 15:50:38 +0000 Chris Lehman 38865 at http://kuow.org Oregonians Will Vote On GMO Labeling Initiative Middle Income Group Overlooked In Seattle Affordable Housing Struggle http://kuow.org/post/middle-income-group-overlooked-seattle-affordable-housing-struggle <p>Seattle City Councilmember Mike O’Brien is looking for affordable housing solutions – for a population that may be overlooked.</p><p>Speaking with KUOW’s Ross Reynolds, O’Brien said that systems are in place for those making around 30 percent of the area median wage, but not for those between 60 to 100 percent of the median (for a single person that’s between $37,000 and $50,000 a year). Wed, 23 Jul 2014 21:47:59 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38804 at http://kuow.org Middle Income Group Overlooked In Seattle Affordable Housing Struggle Feds Ban Free Climbing By Electric Utility Workers http://kuow.org/post/feds-ban-free-climbing-electric-utility-workers <p>The Obama Administration is putting an end to the common practice of "free climbing" by electrical lineworkers. Seattle City Light and other electric utilities let their lineworkers climb transmission towers without using safety harnesses. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 16:20:50 +0000 John Ryan 38760 at http://kuow.org Feds Ban Free Climbing By Electric Utility Workers Scientists Draw Lessons From Oso Landslide http://kuow.org/post/scientists-draw-lessons-oso-landslide <p>Ross Reynolds talks with&nbsp;David Montgomery, professor of geomorphology at the University of Washington, who was part of a team of scientists studying the aftermath of the Oso mudslide in order to help other communities prepare for future disasters. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:15:32 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38737 at http://kuow.org Scientists Draw Lessons From Oso Landslide Texas To Deploy National Guard To Mexico Border http://kuow.org/post/texas-deploy-national-guard-mexico-border Governor Rick Perry <a href="http://governor.state.tx.us/news/press-release/19925/" target="_blank">has decided</a> to send the National Guard to Texas&#8217;s southern border with Mexico to deter criminals he and other Republican leaders say are exploiting children and families entering the U.S. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 21:26:40 +0000 editor 38756 at http://kuow.org Texas To Deploy National Guard To Mexico Border One Wildfire Victim Never Got An Evacuation Notice, Here's Why http://kuow.org/post/one-wildfire-victim-never-got-evacuation-notice-heres-why <p>Bill Radke speaks with Brenda Riggan of Brewster, Washington, about coming back to her home after the Carlton Complex wildfire tore through the area and her frustration over never having received an evacuation notice in the first place. Then, Ross Reynolds talks with Okanogan County Sheriff Frank Rogers about why people like Riggan didn't receive the same notices that other residents did. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:31:52 +0000 Ross Reynolds, Bill Radke & Hannah Burn 38662 at http://kuow.org One Wildfire Victim Never Got An Evacuation Notice, Here's Why