Arts & Life http://kuow.org en The S-Word And Stuff: Teens On Sex And Health http://kuow.org/post/s-word-and-stuff-teens-sex-and-health-0 <p>Most people have had the "birds and bees" talk with their parents, and even more of us can recall those awkward moments in health class when we were still young and thought that the opposite sex had cooties.</p><p>In this month’s podcast you’ll hear about how one girl took initiative and taught her friends a thing or two about sex. There are teens helping teens everywhere, including here in Seattle where youth volunteer at a much needed teen crisis hotline.</p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 22:58:22 +0000 Ardo Hersi & Riley Guttman & Caitlin Gaylord & Isaac Noren & RadioActive Youth Media 36731 at http://kuow.org The S-Word And Stuff: Teens On Sex And Health Depression Not The Only Risk After Giving Birth http://kuow.org/post/depression-not-only-risk-after-giving-birth <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Dr. Leslie Butterfield about the challenges new parents face and how to spot the signs of postpartum depression and anxiety.</p><p>One in five new moms and one in ten new dads have some form of postpartum depression. <a href="http://www.postpartum.net/">Postpartum Support International </a>and <a href="http://www.ppmdsupport.com/">Postpartum Support International of Washington State </a>are resources for information about postpartum depression, as well as local support groups and counselors. You can also call the toll-free line anytime to talk to a volunteer: 1.888.404.7763. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 22:05:00 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 36971 at http://kuow.org 'A Very Principled Boy': The Story Of A Soviet Spy That Switched Sides http://kuow.org/post/very-principled-boy-story-soviet-spy-switched-sides <p>David Hyde talks to author Mark Bradley about his book, "A Very Principled Boy." It's the story of Duncan Lee, who became a spy for the Soviet Union only to switch allegiance back to the United States later in his life. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 22:04:55 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 36972 at http://kuow.org 'A Very Principled Boy': The Story Of A Soviet Spy That Switched Sides 'Distributed Denial Of Service': The Fastest Growing Cyber Attack http://kuow.org/post/distributed-denial-service-fastest-growing-cyber-attack <p></p><p></p><p>David Hyde talks with Matthew Prince, CEO of CloudFlare, about what he says is the fastest growing cyber attack sweeping the nation: distributed denial of service, or DDoS. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 22:20:23 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 36894 at http://kuow.org 'Distributed Denial Of Service': The Fastest Growing Cyber Attack Is Clicktivism Ruining Traditional Activism? http://kuow.org/post/clicktivism-ruining-traditional-activism <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Slate writer Katy Waldman about the new trend in activism called clicktivism. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 22:18:59 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 36893 at http://kuow.org Is Clicktivism Ruining Traditional Activism? Without Saying 'I Do,' Thousands Of Washington Couples Set To Get Married http://kuow.org/post/without-saying-i-do-thousands-washington-couples-set-get-married <p></p><p>There will be no wedding band, no ceremony or awkward toasts. But on June 30, up to 4,000 same-sex couples in Washington are set to be married – without ever uttering the words, "I do." Mon, 23 Jun 2014 18:57:33 +0000 Liz Jones 36896 at http://kuow.org Without Saying 'I Do,' Thousands Of Washington Couples Set To Get Married Letting Go Of The Oso Landslide On The Back Of A Fast Horse http://kuow.org/post/letting-go-oso-landslide-back-fast-horse <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/06/062314AK_OsoCowgirl_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Timberbowl Rodeo, in the town of Darrington, Washington, saw some of its largest crowds ever this past weekend. Neighbors gathered at the event to hug, shake hands and heal up a bit from this year's nearby terrible Oso landslide.<p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 16:30:56 +0000 Anna King 36888 at http://kuow.org Letting Go Of The Oso Landslide On The Back Of A Fast Horse Tearful But Not Dramatic: Sentencing Videos Aim To Humanize Defendants http://kuow.org/post/tearful-not-dramatic-sentencing-videos-aim-humanize-defendants <p>Every sentencing comes down to two things according to attorney Michael Filipovic: Why did this person commit this crime, and why is he not going to do it again? Mon, 23 Jun 2014 16:27:39 +0000 Patricia Murphy 36778 at http://kuow.org Tearful But Not Dramatic: Sentencing Videos Aim To Humanize Defendants From Backup Dancer To 'The Wire': How A Scar Transformed A Career http://kuow.org/post/backup-dancer-wire-how-scar-transformed-career <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-R2EBVpTIGc</p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 14:14:45 +0000 NPR Staff 36880 at http://kuow.org From Backup Dancer To 'The Wire': How A Scar Transformed A Career Computer Program Knows That It's A Horse, Of Course http://kuow.org/post/computer-program-knows-its-horse-course <p></p><p>When you do an image search on the web, you might find what you're looking for. Those searches use captions and other text around pictures to give you results. But what if a computer could recognize a horse because it was shaped like a horse?&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">That's what a new program called </span><a href="http://levan.cs.washington.edu/" style="line-height: 1.5;">LEVAN&nbsp;</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">can do. </span> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 14:12:49 +0000 Jamala Henderson 36726 at http://kuow.org Computer Program Knows That It's A Horse, Of Course How A Woman's Plan To Kill Herself Helped Her Family Grieve http://kuow.org/post/how-womans-plan-kill-herself-helped-her-family-grieve This story is in no way an endorsement of suicide. It's a description of one woman's choice and what came of it.<p>Five years ago, after doctors told her that she had Alzheimer's disease that would eventually steal her ability to read, write and recognize people, Sandy Bem decided to kill herself.<p>Sandy was 65 years old, an unsentimental woman and strong willed. For her, <em></em><em></em>a life without books and the ability to recognize the people she loved wasn't a life she wanted.<p>And so she decided there was only one thing to do. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 07:27:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 36861 at http://kuow.org How A Woman's Plan To Kill Herself Helped Her Family Grieve A Pagan Primer On The Evolution Of Solstice Celebrations http://kuow.org/post/pagan-primer-evolution-solstice-celebrations <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Reverend Belladonna Laveau&nbsp;of the Aquarian Tabernacle Church about the pagan history behind the summer solstice and how modern Wiccans&nbsp;celebrate the longest day of the year. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 22:01:22 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Matthew Streib 36783 at http://kuow.org A Pagan Primer On The Evolution Of Solstice Celebrations Getting Ready For The Fremont Solstice Parade http://kuow.org/post/getting-ready-fremont-solstice-parade <div><p>David Hyde talks to&nbsp;<a href="http://fremontartscouncil.org/dev/?page_id=3159">Fremont Solstice Parade</a> float makers, organizers and a marching band as they get ready for the big event.&nbsp; Fri, 20 Jun 2014 21:43:13 +0000 David Hyde 36781 at http://kuow.org Getting Ready For The Fremont Solstice Parade How Naked Is ‘Legally’ Naked At Fremont Solstice Parade? http://kuow.org/post/how-naked-legally-naked-fremont-solstice-parade <p>Marcie Sillman talks with attorney Lance Fryrear about when you can, and when you can't, be naked in Seattle. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 21:43:00 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 36770 at http://kuow.org How Naked Is ‘Legally’ Naked At Fremont Solstice Parade? Is It Possible To Change What Google Reveals About You? http://kuow.org/post/it-possible-change-what-google-reveals-about-you <p>Marcie Sillman talks with University of Washington professor <a href="http://ischool.uw.edu/people/faculty/jwj">Joe Janes</a>&nbsp;about online reputation management. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 21:42:55 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 36766 at http://kuow.org Is It Possible To Change What Google Reveals About You?