Tom Huizenga http://kuow.org en Angst And Excellence In Forgotten Soviet Symphonies http://kuow.org/post/angst-and-excellence-forgotten-soviet-symphonies Soviet composer Vadim Salmanov is little more than a footnote outside Russia, but his four energetic, skillfully orchestrated symphonies are making a small comeback. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 20:37:31 +0000 Tom Huizenga 33234 at http://kuow.org Angst And Excellence In Forgotten Soviet Symphonies Pet Sounds: The NPR Music Critter Quiz http://kuow.org/post/pet-sounds-npr-music-critter-quiz From as far back as we can tell, music makers have been inspired by the flora and especially the fauna around us. From tooting tunes on actual <a href="http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2009/06/090624-bone-flute-oldest-instrument.html">animal horns and bones</a>, to musical portraits of creatures <a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VZAGLJtj5RU">large</a> and <a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tQhEtF29O3I">small</a>, performers and composers of all stripes have included critters in their creations. In this puzzler, you must identify the creature depicted in the music. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 18:19:39 +0000 Tom Huizenga 33031 at http://kuow.org Pet Sounds: The NPR Music Critter Quiz Robert Ashley, Opera's Misunderstood Innovator, Dies At 83 http://kuow.org/post/robert-ashley-operas-misunderstood-innovator-dies-83 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQBpire6jhw</p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 18:43:35 +0000 Tom Huizenga 29826 at http://kuow.org Robert Ashley, Opera's Misunderstood Innovator, Dies At 83 Revved-up Vivaldi, Persian Bamboo And Soaring Spirituals: New Classical Albums http://kuow.org/post/revved-vivaldi-persian-bamboo-and-soaring-spirituals-new-classical-albums It's a brave new musical world. Between downloads, iPods, music sharing websites and the good old CD, we have more easy access to the songs and symphonies we love than ever before. In this visit to <em>All Things Considered</em>, host <a href="http://www.npr.org/people/102444338/jacki-lyden" target="_blank">Jacki Lyden</a> and I explore an East meets West mashup in a concerto for Persian ney (bamboo flute) and orchestra, a young composer who treats electronic and acoustic instruments as equals, an opera star who goes back to church and a violinist who plays Vivaldi with delicious abandon. Sun, 30 Jun 2013 09:00:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 15830 at http://kuow.org Revved-up Vivaldi, Persian Bamboo And Soaring Spirituals: New Classical Albums Vespers, Habaneras And Early Morning Walks: New Classical Albums http://kuow.org/post/vespers-habaneras-and-early-morning-walks-new-classical-albums Robert Frost's famous poem "The Road Not Taken" begins with the line: "Two roads diverged in a yellow wood." Frost's traveler must choose between them. But slide that metaphor over to the world of classical music and you will discover hundreds of paths to explore. Sun, 07 Apr 2013 00:37:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 10980 at http://kuow.org Vespers, Habaneras And Early Morning Walks: New Classical Albums Measures Of Affection: Five Musical Love Letters http://kuow.org/post/measures-affection-five-musical-love-letters <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ht1OkPN6Zso</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hctOXPdaWXk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Cqz2yomToA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cibwQFbwEPs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cnKBVL45VSs</p> Thu, 14 Feb 2013 20:54:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 8258 at http://kuow.org Measures Of Affection: Five Musical Love Letters Whatever Happened To The Classical Christmas Album? http://kuow.org/post/what-ever-happened-classical-christmas-album <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rr-csOGecGc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NKvoygXsRV4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NH4rSCabUWg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ONknTGUckKc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=39h3VVfOoW0</p> Mon, 24 Dec 2012 20:03:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 5617 at http://kuow.org Whatever Happened To The Classical Christmas Album? A Bald Mezzo And Three Shades Of Violin: Classical Favorites From 2012 http://kuow.org/post/bald-mezzo-and-three-shades-violin-classical-favorites-2012 From mezzo-soprano <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15221692/cecilia-bartoli" target="_blank">Cecilia Bartoli</a>'s ambitious revival of the early Baroque composer Agostino Stefani (and yes, she's got another outrageous album cover) to three very different roles for the violin, here's a clutch of classical albums I returned to again and again this year for sheer delight and aural inspiration. Bartoli lavishes extravagant attention on the music of a fascinating but forgotten link in the history of opera. Sun, 09 Dec 2012 20:04:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 4832 at http://kuow.org A Bald Mezzo And Three Shades Of Violin: Classical Favorites From 2012 Elliott Carter, Giant Of American Music, Dies At 103 http://kuow.org/post/elliott-carter-giant-american-music-dies-103 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1stGn4NA-tU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwbPwq3-PAs</p> Tue, 06 Nov 2012 20:50:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 3084 at http://kuow.org