Amina Al-Sadi http://kuow.org en Massive Layoffs At Microsoft A Test For Seattle Startup Culture http://kuow.org/post/massive-layoffs-microsoft-test-seattle-startup-culture <p>Last week, Microsoft began the biggest layoffs in the company’s history: 18,000 total expected in the next year. So far, about 1,300 local workers have been affected.</p><p>Jon Talton, business reporter for the Seattle Times, told KUOW’s Ross Reynolds on <em>The Record</em> that this event is a test for the local economy. He said the Seattle area is in the midst of an economic boom – driven by Amazon, Boeing’s 777X and 737, increased exports and low unemployment. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:31:36 +0000 Ross Reynolds, Andy Hurst & Amina Al-Sadi 38643 at http://kuow.org Massive Layoffs At Microsoft A Test For Seattle Startup Culture The Racial Undertones Of 'The Mikado' http://kuow.org/post/racial-undertones-mikado <p>Jeannie Yandel talks to Josephine Lee, English and Asian American studies professor at the University of Minnesota, about the checkered history of the Gilbert and Sullivan's "The Mikado." Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:22:57 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Amina Al-Sadi 38523 at http://kuow.org The Racial Undertones Of 'The Mikado' An Update On The Microsoft Job Cuts And What It Means For The Region http://kuow.org/post/update-microsoft-job-cuts-and-what-it-means-region <p>Ross Reynolds talks to Todd Bishop, founder of Geekwire, about the announcement that Microsoft will be cutting 18,000 jobs over the next year, including 1,351 in the Seattle region. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 21:49:11 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 38463 at http://kuow.org Hot Weather Increasing Wildfires In Eastern Washington http://kuow.org/post/hot-weather-increasing-wildfires-eastern-washington <p>Ross Reynolds talks to Janet Pearce about recent wildfires in the state. Pearce does community outreach and environmental education for the Washington State Department of Natural Resources about the wildfires in Eastern Washington.</p><p>Then, Reynolds interviews Michael Fishbaugher, who was evacuated from his home last week as a wildfire swept within half a mile of his house. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:12:05 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 38371 at http://kuow.org Hot Weather Increasing Wildfires In Eastern Washington Rob Ford's Sobriety Coach Says He Likes To Take 'The Hard Cases' http://kuow.org/post/rob-fords-sobriety-coach-says-he-likes-take-hard-cases <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks to Vancouver Sun reporter Vaughn Palmer about the latest news from Canada: The British Columbia teachers union is still on strike and Rob Ford is back on the campaign trail. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:04:36 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 38384 at http://kuow.org Rob Ford's Sobriety Coach Says He Likes To Take 'The Hard Cases' Major Memo Sent To Microsoft Employees http://kuow.org/post/major-memo-sent-microsoft-employees <p>Ross Reynolds talks to Todd Bishop of Geekwire about Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella's 3,200 word, company-wide memo.</p><p>Bishop picked out one key section of the missive: Nadella’s pursuit of streamlining the company’s engineering processes and being more responsive to the market and customers’ demands. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:42:39 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 38078 at http://kuow.org Major Memo Sent To Microsoft Employees Homeless Coalition Fighting For Right To Use Federal Building http://kuow.org/post/homeless-coalition-fighting-right-use-federal-building <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Alison Eisinger, director of the Coalition on Homelessness, about why local homeless advocacy groups are protesting the rejection of their application to convert the Old Federal Reserve building into a comprehensive homeless service center in downtown Seattle. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 21:07:10 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 38009 at http://kuow.org Canadian Pot Tourists: Leave Your Souvenirs In Washington State http://kuow.org/post/canadian-pot-tourists-leave-your-souvenirs-washington-state <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Vaughn Palmer, columnist for the Vancouver Sun, about Canadian pot tourists making their way to Bellingham, Washington. Also they discuss the release of the "Prince Of Pot" from prison and the one-year anniversary of the train crash in Lac-Megnatic, Quebec, that killed 47 people. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:06:33 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 37911 at http://kuow.org The U.S. GDP Is Down, But Is That Such A Big Deal? http://kuow.org/post/us-gdp-down-such-big-deal <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Jon Talton, Seattle Times Business columnist, about the state of the nation's gross domestic product. Also, they discuss Delta's increasing presence at Sea-Tac airport. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 22:27:04 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 37770 at http://kuow.org The Story Of Joseph Smith: Founder Of The Mormon Church http://kuow.org/post/story-joseph-smith-founder-mormon-church <p>David Hyde talks to Alex Beam about his new book "American Crucifixion: The Murder of Joseph Smith and The Fate of The Modern Church." Thu, 03 Jul 2014 22:26:25 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 37577 at http://kuow.org Oh Canada! B.C.'s Concerned Over Our Pot Sales And Rob Ford Returns http://kuow.org/post/oh-canada-bcs-concerned-over-our-pot-sales-and-rob-ford-returns <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer about British Columbia's concerns over our budding pot business. Also, just in time to celebrate Canada Day, Rob Ford comes back from rehab and marches in a parade, only to be heckled by a shirtless jogger. And do you have stereotypes about Canadians? The Ottawa Citizen tried to find out what Canadian cliches work and what were just plain wrong. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 22:20:23 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 37497 at http://kuow.org How Supreme Court Decisions Affect Washington State http://kuow.org/post/how-supreme-court-decisions-affect-washington-state <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Marcia Coyle the chief Washington correspondent for the National Law Journal about the Supreme Court's decision on a few recent important cases.</p><p>Then, Jim Mischel, co-founder and co-owner of Everett based Electric Mirror, responds to the Supreme Court's 5-4 vote on Burwell v. Hobby Lobby Stores. His company filed an amicus brief with Hobby Lobby. We also hear from Christine Charbonneau, CEO of Planned Parenthood of the Great Northwest.</p><p>And Jackson Holtz, spokesperson for SEIU Local 775, gives his view about the Harris v. Quinn decision on union dues. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 22:37:56 +0000 Marcie Sillman, Andy Hurst & Amina Al-Sadi 37356 at http://kuow.org Facebook Expands Seattle Office Space, Studies Your Emotions http://kuow.org/post/facebook-expands-seattle-office-space-studies-your-emotions <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Todd Bishop, tech writer and co-founder of Geekwire about the growing tech industry in the Northwest and Facebook's secret study into manipulating the emotions of its users. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 22:37:50 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 37357 at http://kuow.org Canadian Government's Response To Journalist Detained In Egypt http://kuow.org/post/canadian-governments-response-journalist-detained-egypt <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Vaughn Palmer of the Vancouver Sun about the muted response the Canadian government has given to the news that Mohamed Fahmy, a Canadian-Egyptian journalist for Al-Jazeera, has been sentenced to seven years in Egyptian prison.</p><p>Also, Canadian-Americans find they have to pay Affordable Care Act tax, even if they haven't lived in the United States for years. And Vancouver school board approves new gender neutral pronouns but won't change bathroom signs. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 22:13:01 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 37074 at http://kuow.org Depression Not The Only Risk After Giving Birth http://kuow.org/post/depression-not-only-risk-after-giving-birth <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Dr. Leslie Butterfield about the challenges new parents face and how to spot the signs of postpartum depression and anxiety.</p><p>One in five new moms and one in ten new dads have some form of postpartum depression. <a href="http://www.postpartum.net/">Postpartum Support International </a>and <a href="http://www.ppmdsupport.com/">Postpartum Support International of Washington State </a>are resources for information about postpartum depression, as well as local support groups and counselors. You can also call the toll-free line anytime to talk to a volunteer: 1.888.404.7763. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 22:05:00 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 36971 at http://kuow.org