Amina Al-Sadi http://kuow.org en The Challenges To Predicting Earthquakes http://kuow.org/post/challenges-predicting-earthquakes <p></p><p>Moments before the magnitude-7.2 earthquake struck central and southern Mexico, people received a text message warning on their phones.</p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with John Vidale, Washington state seismologist and UW professor, about the challenges to predicting earthquakes. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 22:20:08 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 32817 at http://kuow.org The Challenges To Predicting Earthquakes William Easterly On Rethinking How We Give International Aid http://kuow.org/post/william-easterly-rethinking-how-we-give-international-aid <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with New York University Professor William Easterly about his new book, "The Tyranny of Experts: Economists, Dictators and the Forgotten Rights of the Poor." Fri, 18 Apr 2014 22:18:24 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 32818 at http://kuow.org William Easterly On Rethinking How We Give International Aid A Look At Russian President Putin's Strategy In Ukraine http://kuow.org/post/look-russian-president-putins-strategy-ukraine <p>Steve Scher talks with Columbia University Professor <a href="http://www.cfr.org/experts/estonia-europe-russia-and-central-asia/stephen-sestanovich/b7485">Stephen Sestanovich</a> about today's meeting between U.S., Ukrainian, EU and Russian officials in Geneva. Sestanovich also discusses what President Vladimir Putin's strategy might be in his involvement in Ukraine. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:55:08 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 32774 at http://kuow.org A Look At Russian President Putin's Strategy In Ukraine Navigating Love, Marriage, And Two Different Cultures http://kuow.org/post/navigating-love-marriage-and-two-different-cultures <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with author Krista Bremer about her memoir, "My Accidental Jihad." In it Bremer reflects on her marriage to a Libyan-born Muslim and the challenges she faced in a multicultural family. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:54:49 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 32698 at http://kuow.org Navigating Love, Marriage, And Two Different Cultures An Ex-Seminarian's Take On Sexual Abuse Scandal http://kuow.org/post/ex-seminarians-take-sexual-abuse-scandal <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds interviews local author Fred Moody about his account of discovering his seminary's sexual abuse past in his book, "Unspeakable Joy."</p><p><em>This interview originally aired on November 18, 2013.</em><br /> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 20:33:10 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 24069 at http://kuow.org An Ex-Seminarian's Take On Sexual Abuse Scandal Would You Accept Money To Quit Your Job? http://kuow.org/post/would-you-accept-money-quit-your-job <p>Ross Reynolds talks with behavioral economist <a href="http://rady.ucsd.edu/faculty/directory/gneezy/">Uri Gneezy </a>about company incentives and why Amazon is implementing the "Pay to Quit" program. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 32615 at http://kuow.org Would You Accept Money To Quit Your Job? How To Successfully Conduct Interfaith Dialogue http://kuow.org/post/how-successfully-conduct-interfaith-dialogue <p>Steve Scher talks with Rabbi Ted Falcon, Pastor Don Mackenzie and Imam Jamal Rahman about how to engage in a successful interfaith dialogue. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:17:12 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 32618 at http://kuow.org How To Successfully Conduct Interfaith Dialogue How Collaborative Commons Is The Beginning Of The End For Capitalism http://kuow.org/post/how-collaborative-commons-beginning-end-capitalism <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Jeremy Rifkin about his new book, "The Zero Marginal Cost Society: The Internet of Things, the Collaborative Commons, and the Eclipse of Capitalism." Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:09:53 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 32614 at http://kuow.org How Collaborative Commons Is The Beginning Of The End For Capitalism 'Disaster Inside Of A Disaster,' The Closure Of Highway 530 http://kuow.org/post/disaster-inside-disaster-closure-highway-530 <p>It's been three weeks since the massive mudslide hit the town of Oso, Wash. The closure of Highway 530 is just one of the many challenges facing the local residents.</p><p>Steve Scher talks with Travis Phelps, spokesman for the Department of Transportation, about the challenges of restoring Highway 530. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 22:48:44 +0000 Steve Scher, Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 32387 at http://kuow.org 'Disaster Inside Of A Disaster,' The Closure Of Highway 530 Jared Diamond Aims Evolution Education At Youth http://kuow.org/post/jared-diamond-aims-evolution-education-youth <p></p><p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with author and professor <a href="http://www.jareddiamond.org/">Jared Diamond</a> about an adaptation of his book<em>, "</em>The Third Chimpanzee: The Evolution and Future of the Human Animal." The adaption targets high school students. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 21:59:02 +0000 Arwen Nicks, Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 32299 at http://kuow.org Jared Diamond Aims Evolution Education At Youth Seeking Reconciliation For Fathers And Sons http://kuow.org/post/seeking-reconciliation-fathers-and-sons <p>Steve Scher talks with Garth Stein, author of "How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets." The book is about the ways fathers and sons seek some peace and mutual acceptance as they age. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 21:55:10 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 32238 at http://kuow.org Seeking Reconciliation For Fathers And Sons The Challenges Of The Northwest's Maritime Industry http://kuow.org/post/challenges-northwests-maritime-industry <p></p><p>Steve Scher talks with Seattle Times columnist Jon Talton about the challenges facing the maritime industry in the Pacific Northwest. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 22:21:36 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 32078 at http://kuow.org The Challenges Of The Northwest's Maritime Industry Say Goodbye To Windows XP http://kuow.org/post/say-goodbye-windows-xp <p>Steve Scher talks with <a href="http://www.geekwire.com/">Geekwire</a>'s Todd Bishop about Northwest tech news, including the end of Windows XP, an update for Windows 8 and how tech companies are trying to make their mark on television and movies. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 22:19:43 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 32079 at http://kuow.org Say Goodbye To Windows XP Mars, Europa Or Enceladus, Where Should NASA Look For Life? http://kuow.org/post/mars-europa-or-enceladus-where-should-nasa-look-life <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks to<a href="http://www.nbcnews.com/science/space"> Alan Boyle</a>, science editor for NBCNews.com, about the recent discovery of water on Saturn's moon Enceladus. Boyle also talks about NASA's proposed mission to Europa and how the agency decides where to focus its space exploration dollars. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 21:49:50 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 31932 at http://kuow.org Mars, Europa Or Enceladus, Where Should NASA Look For Life? Surviving Iranian Prison In 'A Sliver Of Light' http://kuow.org/post/surviving-iranian-prison-sliver-light <p>Steve Scher talks with American hikers Shane Bauer, Sarah Shourd and Josh Fattal. Their memoir, “A Sliver of Light: Three Americans Imprisoned in Iran,” is about how they spent two years in prison after the trio wandered over the Iranian border in 2009. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 16:18:16 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 31876 at http://kuow.org Surviving Iranian Prison In 'A Sliver Of Light'