Scott Horsley http://kuow.org en Following Enrollment Deadline, Health Care Focus Turns To States http://kuow.org/post/following-enrollment-deadline-health-care-focus-turns-states President Obama met Thursday with insurance company executives and a separate group of insurance regulators from the states, discussing their mutual interest in administering the new health care law. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 20:23:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 32755 at http://kuow.org Obama's Tax Rate Rose — And He Can't Blame Anyone But Himself http://kuow.org/post/obamas-tax-rate-rose-and-he-cant-blame-anyone-himself President Obama, like many wealthy Americans, is paying more of his income to the IRS.<p>The White House <a href="http://www.whitehouse.gov/blog/2014/04/11/president-obama-and-vice-president-biden-s-2013-tax-returns">released the president's tax return</a> last week. It shows he and the first lady paid $98,169 in taxes for 2013 on income of $481,098. That's an effective tax rate of 20.4 percent.<p>In 2012, the Obamas paid just 18.4 percent of their income in taxes. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 19:35:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 32596 at http://kuow.org Obama's Tax Rate Rose — And He Can't Blame Anyone But Himself As Sebelius Steps Down, Obama Taps Budget Director To Replace Her http://kuow.org/post/sebelius-steps-down-obama-taps-budget-director-replace-her Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish. Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius got a fond farewell today from President Obama. She's resigning after a rocky tenure marred by the botched rollout of the government's health insurance exchange last fall. The president's tapping his budget director, Sylvia Mathews Burwell, to replace Sebelius. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:30:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 32398 at http://kuow.org Health Secretary Kathleen Sebelius To Step Down http://kuow.org/post/health-secretary-kathleen-sebelius-step-down The move comes about 6 months after the disastrous roll out of the health insurance website. It was eventually fixed, but not before delivering a severe blow to the president's approval ratings. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 09:20:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 32345 at http://kuow.org Sebelius, Leader Of Rocky Health Care Rollout, Resigns From HHS http://kuow.org/post/sebelius-leader-rocky-health-care-rollout-resigns-hhs Kathleen Sebelius has resigned from her position as secretary of health and human services. President Obama accepted her resignation, and he plans to nominate Sylvia Matthews Burwell to replace her. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 23:09:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 32334 at http://kuow.org White House Learns Complications Of Pay Equity Debate http://kuow.org/post/white-house-learns-complications-pay-equity-debate Money and politics don't always make for polite conversation, but President Obama tried to tackle both at the White House on Tuesday.<p>Obama signed a pair of executive orders aimed at encouraging conversation about men's and women's pay scales. It's a talk that Democrats hope will yield political gains this year.<p>It also raised questions, though, about how the administration pays its own people.<p>Standing before a crowd of women in the White House East Room, President Obama noted that the average woman working full time in America makes just 77 cents for every dollar earned by a man. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 22:21:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 32157 at http://kuow.org White House Learns Complications Of Pay Equity Debate With Enrollee Goal Met, Obamacare Still Faces Political Trial http://kuow.org/post/enrollee-goal-met-obamacare-still-faces-political-trial President Obama and his supporters had a rare opportunity to celebrate this week.<p>A last-minute surge in people signing up for health insurance sent the total government enrollment figures over the seven-million mark.<p>That number seemed out of reach just a few months ago, when a crash-prone website threatened to undermine the president's signature health care law.<p>Republicans are still bent on repealing the law, but now millions more Americans have a stake in Obamacare's survival.<p>On Tuesday, the president marked the comeback. Sat, 05 Apr 2014 17:03:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 31983 at http://kuow.org With Enrollee Goal Met, Obamacare Still Faces Political Trial In Arkansas, Voters May Get Chance To Raise Minimum Wage http://kuow.org/post/arkansas-voters-may-get-chance-raise-minimum-wage President Obama travels to Michigan Wednesday to tout his proposal to boost the minimum wage.<p>Raising the wage to $10.10 an hour is one of the top agenda items for Obama and his fellow Democrats during this mid-term election year. The White House says the move would put more money in the pockets of some 28 million workers.<p>One test of that strategy will be in Arkansas, where proponents are trying to put a minimum wage increase on the ballot in November. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 07:54:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 31736 at http://kuow.org In Arkansas, Voters May Get Chance To Raise Minimum Wage Cause For Hope And Frustration In the Shadow Of ACA Deadline http://kuow.org/post/cause-hope-and-frustration-shadow-aca-deadline Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel in Washington.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block this week at our member station KBRA in Dallas.<p>Demand for health insurance is reaching a fever pitch. The deadline is midnight tonight to enroll in coverage for this year through the Affordable Care Act. And people are flocking to healthcare.gov. By early this afternoon, the website had had already logged a record 1.6 million visitors. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:04:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 31613 at http://kuow.org Obama Meets Internet CEOs To Discuss Privacy Issues http://kuow.org/post/obama-meets-internet-ceos-discuss-privacy-issues Leaders of high-tech companies, including Google and Facebook, descended on the White House Friday for a meeting with President Obama on the subject of privacy. The meeting itself was private. But aides say Obama wanted to hear from the CEOs about their concerns with the government's high-tech surveillance.<p>High-tech CEOs are not the obvious messengers to be delivering a privacy lecture to the government. After all, they make their money by scanning customers' emails and tracking their movements, all with the goal of serving up more targeted ads. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 20:24:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 31049 at http://kuow.org Obama Meets Internet CEOs To Discuss Privacy Issues Obama Ratchets Up Sanctions Against Putin's Personal Allies http://kuow.org/post/obama-ratchets-sanctions-against-putins-personal-allies Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The Ukrainian government ordered its border guards to withdraw from Crimea today. Pro-Russian forces there seized more Ukrainian property, including at least two warships. We have more details on those events elsewhere in the program.<p>Meantime, in Moscow today, the foreign minister complained that ethnic Russians outside Crimea and eastern Ukraine are having their rights violated. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:28:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 30955 at http://kuow.org A Bittersweet Goodbye: White House Pastry Chef To Move On http://kuow.org/post/bittersweet-goodbye-white-house-pastry-chef-move The first family must be crust fallen.<p>Bill Yosses, the White House pastry chef, is moving to New York in June.<p>"Though I am incredibly sad to see Bill Yosses go, I am also so grateful to him for his outstanding work," first lady Michelle Obama said in a statement. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 23:19:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 30812 at http://kuow.org A Bittersweet Goodbye: White House Pastry Chef To Move On With Sanctions, Obama Aims For Those Close To Putin http://kuow.org/post/sanctions-obama-aims-those-close-putin The Obama administration is ordering new sanctions against 11 Russian and Ukrainian officials. The move is designed to penalize Russia for efforts to split Crimea away from Ukraine. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:09:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 30712 at http://kuow.org After Record Deportations, Obama May Turn To More 'Humane' Options http://kuow.org/post/after-record-deportations-obama-may-turn-more-humane-options The White House announced the president is willing to review his stance on deportations, a policy that's drawn objection from Hispanics and other groups the president depends on politically. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 30566 at http://kuow.org Obama Lays Groundwork For Sanctions Against Russia http://kuow.org/post/obama-lays-groundwork-sanctions-against-russia With an executive order Thursday, President Obama authorized sanctions on Russia for its involvement in Ukraine. Speaker Boehner praised the sanctions and offered congressional support going forward. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 21:16:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 29994 at http://kuow.org