The Record http://kuow.org en Is A Robot Going To Take Your Job? http://kuow.org/post/robot-going-take-your-job <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Andrew McAfee,&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">principal research scientist at the Initiative on the Digital Economy at MIT, about whether robots will replace humans in the job market.</span> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:32:19 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38953 at http://kuow.org Is A Robot Going To Take Your Job? 'The Best Music Is A Blank Slate': Charles R. Cross On Knowing Too Much About Musicians http://kuow.org/post/best-music-blank-slate-charles-r-cross-knowing-too-much-about-musicians <p>Jeannie Yandel talks with Seattle-based music writer and critic <a href="http://charlesrcross.com/">Charles R. Cross</a> about why it's almost always better to know less about a musician's personal life and political views. The Puyallup Tribe announced they're <a href="http://www.thenewstribune.com/2014/07/24/3302220/tacoma-casino-bows-to-public-pressure.html?sp=/99/289/&amp;ihp=1">canceling rock musician Ted Nugent's shows </a>at the Emerald Queen Casino, saying comments Nugent recently made about President Obama helped push them to cancel the shows. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:32:10 +0000 Jeannie Yandel 38959 at http://kuow.org 'The Best Music Is A Blank Slate': Charles R. Cross On Knowing Too Much About Musicians Is Your Entire Life Just a TV Show? http://kuow.org/post/your-entire-life-just-tv-show <p>Ross Reynolds talks with psychologist Joel Gold, who co-authored the book "Suspicious Minds: How Culture Shapes Madness." The book deals in part with the "Truman Show" delusion: a belief that everyone around you is an actor, and you're the star of a TV show.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:31:56 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38960 at http://kuow.org Is Your Entire Life Just a TV Show? Oregon To Vote On Legalizing Marijuana, Again http://kuow.org/post/oregon-vote-legalizing-marijuana-again <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Anthony Johnson, director of New Approach Oregon, which recently submitted enough signatures for a referendum on recreational marijuana legalization to appear on the November ballot. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 22:13:24 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38910 at http://kuow.org Seattle Startup Seeks To Create Foodsharing Community http://kuow.org/post/seattle-startup-seeks-create-foodsharing-community <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Kamal Patel, co-founder of Ubrlocal, a marketplace for Seattle gardeners and farmers to share their wares. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 22:03:49 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38909 at http://kuow.org Seattle Startup Seeks To Create Foodsharing Community Are Seattle Police Targeting Black Pot Smokers? http://kuow.org/post/are-seattle-police-targeting-black-pot-smokers <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Seattle City Attorney Pete Holmes about whether a disproportionate amount of black people are issued tickets for public pot use. Holmes says he's working on a plan to provide public spaces that are safe to smoke marijuana.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 21:47:43 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Shane Mehling 38887 at http://kuow.org Are Seattle Police Targeting Black Pot Smokers? Why Arlington, Washington Outlawed Panhandling http://kuow.org/post/why-arlington-washington-outlawed-panhandling <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Bruce Stedman, Arlington's acting police chief, and Doug Honig, ACLU of Washington's communications director, about the city's strict new approach to panhandling. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 21:43:56 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38877 at http://kuow.org Why Arlington, Washington Outlawed Panhandling How The 1910 Fire In Washington Helped Shape Firefighting http://kuow.org/post/how-1910-fire-washington-helped-shape-firefighting <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Tim Egan, columnist for the New York Times, about the Devil's Broom fire in 1910. The conflagration was the largest in United States history, burning 3 million acres in the Pacific Northwest, and set the stage for modern firefighting. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 23:02:30 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38831 at http://kuow.org Pot In Vancouver Is Illegal, Barely http://kuow.org/post/pot-vancouver-illegal-barely <p>Ross Reynolds talks to Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer about wildfires raging in the Great North. They also discuss Canada's fears over flights to Israel and how scoring a medical marijuana card in Vancouver is as easy as saying as saying, "Ahhh." Wed, 23 Jul 2014 22:56:01 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Shane Mehling 38832 at http://kuow.org Amazon Fire Phone: 'Showrooming On Steroids' http://kuow.org/post/amazon-fire-phone-showrooming-steroids <p>Go to a box store, hold your phone up to an item, and – ding! – your phone tells you how much the same item would cost on Amazon Prime. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 22:02:52 +0000 Ross Reynolds 38824 at http://kuow.org Amazon Fire Phone: 'Showrooming On Steroids' Middle Income Group Overlooked In Seattle Affordable Housing Struggle http://kuow.org/post/middle-income-group-overlooked-seattle-affordable-housing-struggle <p>Seattle City Councilmember Mike O’Brien is looking for affordable housing solutions – for a population that may be overlooked.</p><p>Speaking with KUOW’s Ross Reynolds, O’Brien said that systems are in place for those making around 30 percent of the area median wage, but not for those between 60 to 100 percent of the median (for a single person that’s between $37,000 and $50,000 a year). Wed, 23 Jul 2014 21:47:59 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38804 at http://kuow.org Middle Income Group Overlooked In Seattle Affordable Housing Struggle Nancy Pearl On Non-Fiction That Reads Like Fiction http://kuow.org/post/nancy-pearl-non-fiction-reads-fiction <p>Ross Reynolds talks with book lusting former librarian Nancy Pearl about why she says "Factory Man," Beth Macy's non-fiction book about a family furniture company, reads like a page-turning fiction tale. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:24:33 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Ross Reynolds 38736 at http://kuow.org Nancy Pearl On Non-Fiction That Reads Like Fiction Updates On The Carlton Complex Fire http://kuow.org/post/updates-carlton-complex-fire <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Paul Gibbs,&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">media information officer on location</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;at the Carlton Complex Fire camp, where emergency and firefighting efforts are based. In addition, Brewster resident&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Jessica Mae Periman&nbsp;talks about losing her house to the fire.</span> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:15:36 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn & Matthew Streib 38738 at http://kuow.org Updates On The Carlton Complex Fire Scientists Draw Lessons From Oso Landslide http://kuow.org/post/scientists-draw-lessons-oso-landslide <p>Ross Reynolds talks with&nbsp;David Montgomery, professor of geomorphology at the University of Washington, who was part of a team of scientists studying the aftermath of the Oso mudslide in order to help other communities prepare for future disasters. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:15:32 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38737 at http://kuow.org Scientists Draw Lessons From Oso Landslide 4-H Teaches Poultry Prowess To Urban Kids http://kuow.org/post/4-h-teaches-poultry-prowess-urban-kids <p>Ross Reynolds discussed the 4-H Club's program to teach kids responsibility and life skills by raising poultry. Despite its reputation as a rural organization, 4-H has been reaching urban kids as well. This year's junior poultry showmanship winner at the King County Fair was 10-year-old Katie Moen of Ballard with her Silkie&nbsp;bantam. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:48:34 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38678 at http://kuow.org 4-H Teaches Poultry Prowess To Urban Kids