The Record http://kuow.org en Ken Burns On 'The Greatest Speech In American History' http://kuow.org/post/ken-burns-greatest-speech-american-history <p></p><p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with filmmaker Ken Burns about his new documentary, "<a href="http://www.pbs.org/kenburns/the-address/home/">The Address</a>."</p><p>The film captures the story of a <a href="http://www.greenwood.org/">school for boys</a> with learning differences and disabilities in Vermont where the students are encouraged to recite <span class="st">President Abraham Lincoln's </span>Gettysburg Address. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:40:04 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Jason Pagano 32622 at http://kuow.org Ken Burns On 'The Greatest Speech In American History' Would You Accept Money To Quit Your Job? http://kuow.org/post/would-you-accept-money-quit-your-job <p>Ross Reynolds talks with behavioral economist <a href="http://rady.ucsd.edu/faculty/directory/gneezy/">Uri Gneezy </a>about company incentives and why Amazon is implementing the "Pay to Quit" program. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 32615 at http://kuow.org Would You Accept Money To Quit Your Job? How To Successfully Conduct Interfaith Dialogue http://kuow.org/post/how-successfully-conduct-interfaith-dialogue <p>Steve Scher talks with Rabbi Ted Falcon, Pastor Don Mackenzie and Imam Jamal Rahman about how to engage in a successful interfaith dialogue. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:17:12 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 32618 at http://kuow.org How To Successfully Conduct Interfaith Dialogue How Collaborative Commons Is The Beginning Of The End For Capitalism http://kuow.org/post/how-collaborative-commons-beginning-end-capitalism <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Jeremy Rifkin about his new book, "The Zero Marginal Cost Society: The Internet of Things, the Collaborative Commons, and the Eclipse of Capitalism." Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:09:53 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 32614 at http://kuow.org How Collaborative Commons Is The Beginning Of The End For Capitalism Former Cop On SPD Reform: 'A Huge Insult To The Officers' http://kuow.org/post/former-cop-spd-reform-huge-insult-officers <p>Marcie Sillman talks with retired Seattle police officer <a href="http://www.stevepomper.com/">Steve Pomper </a>about why he thinks the federally mandated reforms to the Seattle Police Department are <a href="http://crosscut.com/2014/04/14/op-ed/119561/police-justice-department-murray-steve-pomper/?page=single">unnecessary</a>. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:06:11 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 32595 at http://kuow.org Former Cop On SPD Reform: 'A Huge Insult To The Officers' The Political Chess Game Of The $15 Minimum Wage http://kuow.org/post/political-chess-game-15-minimum-wage <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with <a href="https://www.15now.org/" target="_blank">15 Now</a> Campaign Manager Jess Spear about its proposed <a href="http://kuow.org/post/seattles-15-wage-campaign-eyes-ballot">Seattle city charter amendment</a> to change the minimum wage to $15.</p><p>Then, Marcie Sillman&nbsp;checks in with political analyst <a href="http://q13fox.com/bio/c-r-douglas/" target="_blank">C.R. Douglas</a> of Q13 Fox News about the politics behind the $15 minimum wage movement and what we can expect looking forward. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:01:45 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Ross Reynolds & Christine Streich 32608 at http://kuow.org The Political Chess Game Of The $15 Minimum Wage John Luther Adams Wins Pulitzer For 'Become Ocean' http://kuow.org/post/john-luther-adams-wins-pulitzer-become-ocean <p></p><p>Composer John Luther Adams was as surprised as anybody when the <a href="http://www.pulitzer.org/awards/2014">Pulitzer Prize</a> committee called him Monday, April 14, to let him know he'd won the prize for his composition "Become Ocean." Tue, 15 Apr 2014 21:58:09 +0000 Marcie Sillman 32616 at http://kuow.org John Luther Adams Wins Pulitzer For 'Become Ocean' Emma Donoghue's New Novel 'Frog Music' http://kuow.org/post/emma-donoghues-new-novel-frog-music <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with writer Emma Donoghue about her new book, "Frog Music." It was inspired by the unsolved 1876 murder of a woman named Jenny Bonnet in San Francisco.</p><p>Donoghue also discusses about how fact inspires her fiction. Her award-winning novel, "Room," was about a 5-year-old boy and his mother who were kept prisoner by their father and husband, respectively, in a backyard shed. The book was based, in small part, on a real life story Donoghue had seen in the news. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:34:42 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Arwen Nicks 32509 at http://kuow.org Emma Donoghue's New Novel 'Frog Music' Reforming Punishment In Washington Public Schools http://kuow.org/post/reforming-punishment-washington-public-schools <p></p><p>Steve Scher talks with Katie Mosehauer, executive director of <a href="http://www.waappleseed.org/#!about2/c4nz" target="_blank">Washington Appleseed, </a>about <a href="http://apps.leg.wa.gov/documents/laws/wsr/2014/07/14-07-029.htm" target="_blank">proposed changes</a> to school discipline policies in Washington state public schools. The state government <a href="http://apps.leg.wa.gov/documents/billdocs/2013-14/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/Senate/5946-S.SL.pdf">passed a law in September</a> that would limit almost all suspensions and expulsions to, at maximum, one year. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:32:33 +0000 Steve Scher & Christine Streich 32516 at http://kuow.org Reforming Punishment In Washington Public Schools 'Lack Of Accountability:' An Investigation Into Wrongful Deaths At VA Hospitals http://kuow.org/post/lack-accountability-investigation-wrongful-deaths-va-hospitals <p>Ross Reynolds talks with journalist Aaron Glantz about <a href="http://cironline.org/reports/va-pays-out-200-million-nearly-1000-veterans%E2%80%99-wrongful-deaths-6236">preventable deaths at Veterans Affairs hospitals</a>. Glantz covers veterans and military issues for the <a href="http://cironline.org/">Center for Investigative Reporting</a>. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:14:06 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32514 at http://kuow.org 'Lack Of Accountability:' An Investigation Into Wrongful Deaths At VA Hospitals 'Disaster Inside Of A Disaster,' The Closure Of Highway 530 http://kuow.org/post/disaster-inside-disaster-closure-highway-530 <p>It's been three weeks since the massive mudslide hit the town of Oso, Wash. The closure of Highway 530 is just one of the many challenges facing the local residents.</p><p>Steve Scher talks with Travis Phelps, spokesman for the Department of Transportation, about the challenges of restoring Highway 530. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 22:48:44 +0000 Steve Scher, Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 32387 at http://kuow.org 'Disaster Inside Of A Disaster,' The Closure Of Highway 530 Nancy Pearl: A Memoir And A Story Of Hollywood http://kuow.org/post/nancy-pearl-memoir-and-story-hollywood <p>Steve Scher talks with librarian Nancy Pearl about two books, "Mother Daughter Me: A Memoir," by Katie Hafner and "Five Came Back: A Story of Hollywood and the Second World War," by&nbsp;Mark Harris.</p><p>Hafner writes about the difficulties and rewards that arise out of the changing patterns of modern life. It explores the relationships of women caring for their aging mothers and their growing daughters at the same time, often under the same roof.</p><p>Harris looks at five famous film directors who left Hollywood to document World War II. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 22:31:15 +0000 Steve Scher 32305 at http://kuow.org Nancy Pearl: A Memoir And A Story Of Hollywood Common Core State Standards Explained http://kuow.org/post/common-core-state-standards-explained <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds sits down with KUOW's education reporter Ann Dornfeld to talk about the <a href="http://kuow.org/post/common-core-good-fit-kindergarten">new changes to learning standards</a> in Washington state public schools. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 22:29:39 +0000 Ann Dornfeld & Ross Reynolds 32405 at http://kuow.org Common Core State Standards Explained Apps To Kick Addictions; Sound Too Good To Be True? http://kuow.org/post/apps-kick-addictions-sound-too-good-be-true <p>Ross Reynolds talks with psychologist Jonathan Bricker about smartphone apps that claim to help users overcome addiction. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 22:24:32 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Ross Reynolds 32404 at http://kuow.org Apps To Kick Addictions; Sound Too Good To Be True? Tech Security: How To Wipe Data From Your Computer http://kuow.org/post/tech-security-how-wipe-data-your-computer <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Teresa Seyfried, program operations manager at the <a href="http://www.washington.edu/facilities/finadmin/movingandsurplus/inventory/">UW Surplus Store</a>, about how to properly wipe data off of your computer before reselling or donating it. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 22:13:35 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Christine Streich 32407 at http://kuow.org Tech Security: How To Wipe Data From Your Computer