Renee Montagne http://kuow.org en Supreme Court Rules On Race-Based College Admissions http://kuow.org/post/supreme-court-rules-race-based-college-admissions Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne.<p>The Supreme Court this morning, upheld a ban on using racial preferences in admissions to the public universities of Michigan. The ban was enacted by referendum as an amendment to the state constitution in 2006 and struck down by a lower court. Today, the justices voted 6-to-2 to say the federal courts could not do that and the ban had to stand.<p>NPR's Nina Totenberg joins us now to talk more about this. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 16:34:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 33016 at http://kuow.org Afghanistan Is One Step Closer To Karzai's Successor http://kuow.org/post/afghanistan-one-step-closer-karzais-successor On Saturday, voters turned out in large numbers despite threats of Taliban violence. It will take weeks to learn who will become Afghanistan's next president. Hamid Karzai can't run for a third term Mon, 07 Apr 2014 09:14:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 32027 at http://kuow.org Man Finds More Than A Nest Egg At Flea Market http://kuow.org/post/man-finds-more-nest-egg-flea-market A scrap metal dealer bought a golden egg at a flea market for $14,000 and planned to melt it for a profit. But he discovered it was a Faberge egg — given by Alexander III to his empress in 1887. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 10:37:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 30903 at http://kuow.org Will Sanctions Against Russia Work? http://kuow.org/post/will-sanctions-against-russia-work In Brussels on Thursday, EU leaders will discuss stronger sanctions against Russia. Juan Zarate, a senior adviser at the Center for Strategic and International Studies, talks about their options. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 10:02:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 30900 at http://kuow.org Fed Signals It Won't Tap Brakes Until Job Market Improves http://kuow.org/post/fed-signals-it-wont-tap-brakes-until-job-market-improves David Wessel of the Brookings Institution talks about Janet Yellen's first policy meeting and press conference since taking over as chairwoman of the Federal Reserve. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 08:31:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 30888 at http://kuow.org South Africans Engrossed By Pistorius Trial http://kuow.org/post/pistorius-trial-sparks-conversations-about-domestic-violence-race Host Renee Montagne talks to Erin Conway-Smith, southern Africa editor for GlobalPost, about the murder trial of Olympic hero Oscar Pistorius. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 09:24:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 30745 at http://kuow.org BrusselKale: A Match Made In Heaven http://kuow.org/post/brusselkale-match-made-heaven A U.K. seed company has taken the leafy look and peppery taste of kale and added the flavor of Brussels sprouts. You can buy BrusselKale now in Ohio and Pennsylvania; it debuts nationally this fall. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 09:24:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 30754 at http://kuow.org Young Mathematicians Hope They've Calculated Winning NCAA Bracket http://kuow.org/post/young-mathematicians-hope-theyve-calculated-winning-ncaa-bracket Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne. Aspiring high school mathematicians gathered in New York for March Mathness. Even for kids who don't love sports, the professor leading the event told The Times there are a billion reasons to love brackets this year: Warren Buffett's reward for picking the winners for all 67 NCAA games. The math geeks are hoping linear algebra and complex computer codes will help them beat the odds: 9.2 quintrillion to one. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 10:17:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 30659 at http://kuow.org Obama Calls For More Transparency, Privacy Protections At NSA http://kuow.org/post/obama-calls-more-transparency-privacy-protections-nsa Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Let's talk more about changes to the National Security Agency that President Obama is announcing as we speak at the Justice Department. And we're joined in our studio by Tamara Keith and Tom Gjelten. And let's just begin.<p>Tom, you told us earlier today that technology companies wanted greater transparency. They want the public to know more about what the NSA is doing. What is the president proposing today?<p>TOM GJELTEN, BYLINE: He's proposed three changes that will improve, will increase the transparency of what the NSA is doing. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 18:17:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 27237 at http://kuow.org Oscar Nods Go To 'American Hustle,' 'Gravity,' '12 Years A Slave' http://kuow.org/post/oscar-nods-go-american-hustle-gravity-12-years-slave Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Oscar nominations are in. They were announced this morning in Beverly Hills. And "American Hustle" and "Gravity" are the early front-runners. Each of them got 10 Academy Award nominations, including best picture. "12 Years a Slave" was close behind with nine nominations. For more, we're joined now by Linda Holmes, who writes and edits NPR's entertainment and pop culture blog Monkey See. Good morning.<p>LINDA HOLMES, BYLINE: Good morning to you.<p>MONTAGNE: All right. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 20:07:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 27174 at http://kuow.org Northeast Hit With Snow And Powerful Winds http://kuow.org/post/northeast-hit-snow-and-powerful-winds A very cold winter storm is engulfing much of the Northeast, dumping more than 20 inches of snow in some areas and bringing strong winds along with it. Schools are closed in Boston and New York City. Thousands of flights have been canceled. Officials around the region are asking people to stay home and let road crews do their work. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 13:06:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 26465 at http://kuow.org Corruption Scandal Jeopardizes Turkey's Image Of Stability http://kuow.org/post/corruption-scandal-jeopardizes-turkeys-image-stability Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Turkey's government is defending itself against a corruption scandal. That scandal has shaken a nation often described as the model for moderate Islamic democracy. The scandal reaches the highest levels of the government, and has sparked a strong backlash by Turkey's ruling party.<p>We reached NPR's correspondent in Istanbul, Peter Kenyon, to learn more about what's going on.<p>PETER KENYON, BYLINE: On December 17th, police raided some very fashionable and high-rent homes, and they took away Cabinet minister's sons and they confiscated money. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 10:11:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 26457 at http://kuow.org Justice Sotomayor Blocks Part Of Birth Control Mandate http://kuow.org/post/justice-sotomayor-blocks-part-birth-control-mandate Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne. Last night, Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayer presided over the raucous New Year's Eve countdown in Times Square. But before that, she was working, issuing a ruling that puts into doubt part of the Obamacare health insurance law. A portion of the law was supposed to take effect today. It would offer insurance for birth control to workers in businesses affiliated with religions. Wed, 01 Jan 2014 15:27:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 26375 at http://kuow.org What The Execution Of Kim Jong Un's Uncle Means For N. Korea http://kuow.org/post/what-execution-kim-jong-uns-uncle-means-n-korea Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm David Greene.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne. We're looking this morning at two stories of international intrigue. First to North Korea. Until recently, the uncle of leader Kim Jong Un was the country's second-in-command. Earlier this week, though, he was detained on national television, hustled out of a meeting by guards.<p>North Korea's state media labeled him a corrupt, womanizing counter-revolutionary infected by capitalism. And then the government announced today he was executed. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 12:52:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 25413 at http://kuow.org LA Food Truck King Tells His Story, One Recipe At A Time http://kuow.org/post/la-food-truck-king-tells-his-story-one-recipe-time Roy Choi ushered in a food truck "new wave" in Los Angeles, making street fare edgier, tastier. Five years ago, he and a partner launched Kogi — Korean for meat — with a small fleet of trucks offering up a Korean-Mexican fusion that inspired food entrepreneurs in cities across America where the trend caught fire. His signature creation? The short rib taco: warm tortillas, Korean barbecue beef, cilantro-onion-and lime, topped with a spicy-soy slaw.<p>He was transformed into a culinary rock star — a <em>FOOD & WINE</em> best new chef. Tue, 05 Nov 2013 07:53:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 23264 at http://kuow.org LA Food Truck King Tells His Story, One Recipe At A Time