Jeannie Yandel http://kuow.org en Bookstore Owner's 'Grudging Respect' For Online Subscription Service http://kuow.org/post/bookstore-owners-grudging-respect-online-subscription-service <p>Jeannie Yandel talks with business writer and Page 2 Books&nbsp;co-owner Bill Virgin about Amazon's new unlimited book subscription service, <a href="http://techcrunch.com/2014/07/18/amazon-officially-announces-kindle-unlimited-offering-reading-and-listening-for-9-99-a-month/">Kindle Unlimited</a>. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:23:47 +0000 Jeannie Yandel 38520 at http://kuow.org The Racial Undertones Of 'The Mikado' http://kuow.org/post/racial-undertones-mikado <p>Jeannie Yandel talks to Josephine Lee, English and Asian American studies professor at the University of Minnesota, about the checkered history of the Gilbert and Sullivan's "The Mikado." Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:22:57 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Amina Al-Sadi 38523 at http://kuow.org The Racial Undertones Of 'The Mikado' Looking Into The (Near) Future Of Washington Marijuana Stores http://kuow.org/post/looking-near-future-washington-marijuana-stores <p>Marcie Sillman&nbsp;talks with Colorado Public Radio's Ben Markus about the pros and cons of Colorado's legal marijuana stores, and what that could mean for Washington's soon-to-be-open pot shops. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 21:51:39 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Jeannie Yandel 37223 at http://kuow.org What Steve Ballmer's Clippers Bid Means For Seattle http://kuow.org/post/what-steve-ballmers-clippers-bid-means-seattle <p>Marcie Sillman talks with <a href="http://seattletimes.com/html/nba/2023698382_ballmerandclippers26xml.html">Seattle Times reporter Geoff Baker</a>&nbsp;about what ex-Microsoft CEO Steve Balmer's bid to buy the LA Clippers means for Seattle's chances to land an NBA team. Fri, 30 May 2014 22:07:33 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Jeannie Yandel 35538 at http://kuow.org What Steve Ballmer's Clippers Bid Means For Seattle What India's Election Means For Washingtonians http://kuow.org/post/what-indias-election-means-washingtonians <div><p>David Hyde interviews former Washingtonian, diplomat and scholar&nbsp;Haroon Ullah about the recent election of &nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Narendra </span>Modi&nbsp;to be the next prime minister of India<span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span> Fri, 23 May 2014 22:15:29 +0000 David Hyde, Amina Al-Sadi & Jeannie Yandel 35127 at http://kuow.org What India's Election Means For Washingtonians Gary Heyde On Martin Luther King Jr.'s Assassination http://kuow.org/post/gary-heyde-martin-luther-king-jrs-assassination <p></p><p>Martin Luther King Jr. was assassinated 46 years ago today — on April 4, 1968. Former Seattle teacher and novelist<a href="http://austin-gary.com/"> Gary Heyde</a>&nbsp;remembers that day well. It was the day he learned one of the most important lessons of his life, but he almost didn't survive to apply the lesson.</p><p><em><a href="http://www2.kuow.org/program.php?id=24718">This archive originally aired in October 2011</a>.</em> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 22:10:01 +0000 Jeannie Yandel 31941 at http://kuow.org Gary Heyde On Martin Luther King Jr.'s Assassination Urban Sustainability With Majora Carter http://kuow.org/post/urban-sustainability-majora-carter <p>Ross Reynolds speaks with former activist Majora Carter about her work organizing low-income communities around environmental issues.</p><p> Fri, 24 Jan 2014 23:41:11 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Jeannie Yandel 27562 at http://kuow.org Urban Sustainability With Majora Carter What It Takes To Grow A Meal http://kuow.org/post/what-it-takes-grow-meal-0 <p>Marcie Sillman talks with <a href="http://www.kurtwoodfarms.com/">Kurt Timmermeister</a>&nbsp;about his newest book, "Growing a Feast: The Chronicle of a Farm-to-Table Meal." Thu, 09 Jan 2014 22:44:37 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Marcie Sillman 26808 at http://kuow.org What It Takes To Grow A Meal Prosecutor Who Oversaw WAMU Fraud Case Retires After 35 Years http://kuow.org/post/prosecutor-who-oversaw-wamu-fraud-case-retires-after-35-years <p>David Hyde talks with Bob Westinghouse about his three decades-long career as a federal prosecutor in western Washington. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 23:10:10 +0000 David Hyde, Andy Hurst & Jeannie Yandel 26349 at http://kuow.org Is An Ice Age Boulder Blocking Bertha? http://kuow.org/post/ice-age-boulder-blocking-bertha <p>Jeannie Yandel&nbsp;talks with University of Washington geology professor <a href="http://www.ess.washington.edu/dwp/people/profile.php?name=swanson--terry" target="_blank">Terry Swanson</a> about glacial erratics and how one might be blocking the tunneling machine named Bertha. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 22:45:15 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Christine Streich 25980 at http://kuow.org Is An Ice Age Boulder Blocking Bertha? Proposed Changes To Free Parking For The Disabled http://kuow.org/post/proposed-changes-free-parking-disabled <p>Jeannie Yandel&nbsp;checks in with Jerry Cornfield of the Everett Daily Herald about recommended changes to Washington state's free parking placards for people with disabilities. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 22:45:09 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Christine Streich 25986 at http://kuow.org Proposed Changes To Free Parking For The Disabled Local And National Union Leaders Divided Over Boeing Contract Vote http://kuow.org/post/local-and-national-union-leaders-divided-over-boeing-contract-vote <p>Jeannie Yandel talks with Clark University industrial relations professor <a href="https://www.clarku.edu/faculty/facultybio.cfm?id=214">Gary Chaison</a> about the divide between national and local leaders of the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 22:45:03 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Andy Hurst 25977 at http://kuow.org Local And National Union Leaders Divided Over Boeing Contract Vote The Stores Are Watching You http://kuow.org/post/stores-are-watching-you <p>Jeannie Yandel talks with freelance journalist Max Strasser about the many ways in which retailers are collecting data on your habits. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 22:44:57 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Hannah Burn 25988 at http://kuow.org The Stores Are Watching You Memories Of Busing In Seattle http://kuow.org/post/memories-busing-seattle <p>David Hyde hears from three listeners about their experiences with <a href="http://www.historylink.org/index.cfm?DisplayPage=output.cfm&amp;file_id=3939">the Seattle Plan</a>.<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Heather, Martin, and Robert talk about their memories of the race-based </span>busing program<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> enacted by the Seattle School Board</span> that lasted from 1972 to 1999.<br /> Mon, 16 Dec 2013 20:06:37 +0000 David Hyde & Jeannie Yandel & Christine Streitch 25595 at http://kuow.org Memories Of Busing In Seattle Former DEA Agent Takes Job With Cannabis Industry http://kuow.org/post/former-dea-agent-takes-job-cannabis-industry <p>Ross Reynolds talks with former DEA agent Patrick Moen about why he left drug law enforcement to work in Washington state's burgeoning cannabis industry. Wed, 11 Dec 2013 21:46:14 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Jeannie Yandel 25310 at http://kuow.org Former DEA Agent Takes Job With Cannabis Industry