Jeannie Yandel http://kuow.org en Gary Heyde On Martin Luther King Jr.'s Assassination http://kuow.org/post/gary-heyde-martin-luther-king-jrs-assassination <p></p><p>Martin Luther King Jr. was assassinated 46 years ago today — on April 4, 1968. Former Seattle teacher and novelist<a href="http://austin-gary.com/"> Gary Heyde</a>&nbsp;remembers that day well. It was the day he learned one of the most important lessons of his life, but he almost didn't survive to apply the lesson.</p><p><em><a href="http://www2.kuow.org/program.php?id=24718">This archive originally aired in October 2011</a>.</em> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 22:10:01 +0000 Jeannie Yandel 31941 at http://kuow.org Gary Heyde On Martin Luther King Jr.'s Assassination Urban Sustainability With Majora Carter http://kuow.org/post/urban-sustainability-majora-carter <p>Ross Reynolds speaks with former activist Majora Carter about her work organizing low-income communities around environmental issues.</p><p> Fri, 24 Jan 2014 23:41:11 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Jeannie Yandel 27562 at http://kuow.org Urban Sustainability With Majora Carter What It Takes To Grow A Meal http://kuow.org/post/what-it-takes-grow-meal-0 <p>Marcie Sillman talks with <a href="http://www.kurtwoodfarms.com/">Kurt Timmermeister</a>&nbsp;about his newest book, "Growing a Feast: The Chronicle of a Farm-to-Table Meal." Thu, 09 Jan 2014 22:44:37 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Marcie Sillman 26808 at http://kuow.org What It Takes To Grow A Meal Prosecutor Who Oversaw WAMU Fraud Case Retires After 35 Years http://kuow.org/post/prosecutor-who-oversaw-wamu-fraud-case-retires-after-35-years <p>David Hyde talks with Bob Westinghouse about his three decades-long career as a federal prosecutor in western Washington. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 23:10:10 +0000 David Hyde, Andy Hurst & Jeannie Yandel 26349 at http://kuow.org Is An Ice Age Boulder Blocking Bertha? http://kuow.org/post/ice-age-boulder-blocking-bertha <p>Jeannie Yandel&nbsp;talks with University of Washington geology professor <a href="http://www.ess.washington.edu/dwp/people/profile.php?name=swanson--terry" target="_blank">Terry Swanson</a> about glacial erratics and how one might be blocking the tunneling machine named Bertha. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 22:45:15 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Christine Streich 25980 at http://kuow.org Is An Ice Age Boulder Blocking Bertha? Proposed Changes To Free Parking For The Disabled http://kuow.org/post/proposed-changes-free-parking-disabled <p>Jeannie Yandel&nbsp;checks in with Jerry Cornfield of the Everett Daily Herald about recommended changes to Washington state's free parking placards for people with disabilities. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 22:45:09 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Christine Streich 25986 at http://kuow.org Proposed Changes To Free Parking For The Disabled Local And National Union Leaders Divided Over Boeing Contract Vote http://kuow.org/post/local-and-national-union-leaders-divided-over-boeing-contract-vote <p>Jeannie Yandel talks with Clark University industrial relations professor <a href="https://www.clarku.edu/faculty/facultybio.cfm?id=214">Gary Chaison</a> about the divide between national and local leaders of the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 22:45:03 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Andy Hurst 25977 at http://kuow.org Local And National Union Leaders Divided Over Boeing Contract Vote The Stores Are Watching You http://kuow.org/post/stores-are-watching-you <p>Jeannie Yandel talks with freelance journalist Max Strasser about the many ways in which retailers are collecting data on your habits. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 22:44:57 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Hannah Burn 25988 at http://kuow.org The Stores Are Watching You Memories Of Busing In Seattle http://kuow.org/post/memories-busing-seattle <p>David Hyde hears from three listeners about their experiences with <a href="http://www.historylink.org/index.cfm?DisplayPage=output.cfm&amp;file_id=3939">the Seattle Plan</a>.<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Heather, Martin, and Robert talk about their memories of the race-based </span>busing program<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> enacted by the Seattle School Board</span> that lasted from 1972 to 1999.<br /> Mon, 16 Dec 2013 20:06:37 +0000 David Hyde & Jeannie Yandel & Christine Streitch 25595 at http://kuow.org Memories Of Busing In Seattle Former DEA Agent Takes Job With Cannabis Industry http://kuow.org/post/former-dea-agent-takes-job-cannabis-industry <p>Ross Reynolds talks with former DEA agent Patrick Moen about why he left drug law enforcement to work in Washington state's burgeoning cannabis industry. Wed, 11 Dec 2013 21:46:14 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Jeannie Yandel 25310 at http://kuow.org Former DEA Agent Takes Job With Cannabis Industry Power Posing: How Body Language Shapes Who You Are http://kuow.org/post/power-posing-how-body-language-shapes-who-you-are <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Amy Cuddy, associate professor at the Harvard Business School, about <span style="line-height: 1.5;">nonverbal indicators and how they influence how we perceive and interact with other people.</span> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 23:13:21 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Jeannie Yandel 23764 at http://kuow.org Power Posing: How Body Language Shapes Who You Are Why Hana's Story Of Abuse May Not Be An Isolated Incident http://kuow.org/post/why-hanas-story-abuse-may-not-be-isolated-incident <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Slate contributor Kathryn Joyce about<a href="http://www.slate.com/articles/double_x/doublex/2013/11/hana_williams_the_tragic_death_of_an_ethiopian_adoptee_and_how_it_could.html"> her investigative piece on Hana Williams</a>, an adopted child from Ethiopia who died after suffering child abuse by her adopted parents, Larry and Carri Williams. One question still remains in the case: <span style="line-height: 1.5;">how she and her brother were subjected to so much abuse without any intervention.</span> Wed, 13 Nov 2013 23:13:09 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Marcie Sillman 23766 at http://kuow.org Bill Ayers: From Chicago Educator To "Public Enemy" http://kuow.org/post/bill-ayers-chicago-educator-public-enemy <p>Marcie Sillman sits down with Bill Ayers who has written a memoir called "Public Enemy" about the time when the Chicago-based educator was accused of being a terrorist affiliated with then-Senator Barack Obama in the 2008 presidential primary debate. Thu, 31 Oct 2013 22:59:51 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Jeannie Yandel 23058 at http://kuow.org Bill Ayers: From Chicago Educator To "Public Enemy" Getting Fresh With Jeannie And Sheryl: Maybe I'm A Corn Maze http://kuow.org/post/getting-fresh-jeannie-and-sheryl-maybe-im-corn-maze <div><p>Farmers markets are great for fresh fruits and veggies, but for pumpkins, Sheryl Wiser suggests you take off your city shoes, put on some galoshes and head out to the pumpkin patch. Fri, 18 Oct 2013 16:11:25 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Arwen Nicks 22242 at http://kuow.org Getting Fresh With Jeannie And Sheryl: Maybe I'm A Corn Maze Seattle Hosts First Transgender Pride Event In 16 Years http://kuow.org/post/seattle-hosts-first-transgender-pride-event-16-years <p></p><p>During <a href="http://www.seattlepridefest.org/">Pride weekend</a>, Seattle’s Capitol Hill neighborhood will host a march and party specifically for transgender people - the T in <a href="https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LGBT">LGBT</a>.</p><p> Fri, 28 Jun 2013 13:40:03 +0000 Jeannie Yandel 15723 at http://kuow.org