Deborah Wang http://kuow.org en Not Much, But Who Cares? Seattle Kicks Off Pot Sales http://kuow.org/post/not-much-who-cares-seattle-kicks-pot-sales <p>It was a false countdown to high noon, when Cannabis City, a store in Seattle’s Sodo neighborhood, was supposed to start selling marijuana. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 23:10:54 +0000 Patricia Murphy, Carolyn Adolph, Marcie Sillman & Deborah Wang 37855 at http://kuow.org Not Much, But Who Cares? Seattle Kicks Off Pot Sales $15 Wage Supporters Say Foes Are Playing Dirty http://kuow.org/post/15-wage-supporters-say-foes-are-playing-dirty <p><strong>UPDATE 7/2/2014, 4:51 p.m. PT:</strong>&nbsp;</p><p>Forward Seattle, a group opposing Seattle’s new $15 minimum wage law, today submitted its petitions to put the law up for a popular vote. &nbsp;</p><p>The Seattle City Clerk’s office says the group turned in more than 19,000 signatures. 16,510 signatures are required to put the law on the ballot.&nbsp; Wed, 02 Jul 2014 18:05:42 +0000 Deborah Wang 37455 at http://kuow.org $15 Wage Supporters Say Foes Are Playing Dirty New Frontiers On The Minimum Wage Fight http://kuow.org/post/new-frontiers-minimum-wage-fight <p>Seattle’s new $15 an hour minimum wage is scheduled to start phasing in next April. But it first must survive several challenges, both in court and at the ballot box.</p><p>Franchisees are challenging the law in court, and two separate groups are collecting signatures to put the law to a popular vote on this November’s ballot. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 16:57:16 +0000 Deborah Wang 37011 at http://kuow.org New Frontiers On The Minimum Wage Fight 15 Now Could Not Have Floated A Charter Amendment This Year http://kuow.org/post/15-now-could-not-have-floated-charter-amendment-year <p>Last week, Seattle became the first city in the nation to establish a $15 minimum wage for all workers. The framework was established by a panel of business, labor and community leaders, which the City Council passed in record time. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 23:49:37 +0000 Deborah Wang 36167 at http://kuow.org 15 Now Could Not Have Floated A Charter Amendment This Year Minimum Wage Limbo Keeps Small Business Owners Up At Night http://kuow.org/post/minimum-wage-limbo-keeps-small-business-owners-night <p>As the Seattle City Council continues to debate a plan to phase in a $15 minimum wage, and as minimum wage advocates gather signatures to put an even stronger measure on the November ballot, businesses in the city are finding themselves in an uncomfortable position: in limbo. Thu, 22 May 2014 17:07:05 +0000 Deborah Wang 34945 at http://kuow.org Minimum Wage Limbo Keeps Small Business Owners Up At Night Among Supporters Of $15 Minimum Wage, Some Trepidation http://kuow.org/post/among-supporters-15-minimum-wage-some-trepidation <p></p><p>Non-profit human service providers Wednesday voiced concerns on Wednesday about a proposed plan to raise the minimum wage in Seattle to $15 an hour. Thu, 08 May 2014 19:24:33 +0000 Deborah Wang 34074 at http://kuow.org Among Supporters Of $15 Minimum Wage, Some Trepidation Detour Around Oso Mudslide Opens To Reconnect Darrington, I-5 Corridor http://kuow.org/post/detour-around-oso-mudslide-opens-reconnect-darrington-i-5-corridor <p>The end of the large-scale recovery operation at the site of the Oso mudslide means that a road around the slide zone, once reserved for emergency vehicles, will be open for traffic.</p><p>State transportation officials opened the new detour, a primitive gravel road on Seattle City Light property, Monday night for local traffic. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 15:02:15 +0000 Deborah Wang 33508 at http://kuow.org Detour Around Oso Mudslide Opens To Reconnect Darrington, I-5 Corridor Active Search Efforts End In Oso Mudslide http://kuow.org/post/active-search-efforts-end-oso-mudslide <p>This morning, Snohomish County Sheriff Ty Trenary announced the end of active search operations at the site of the March 22 mudslide near Oso, Wash.</p><p>Trenary said it was a difficult decision to make and relied on “a little bit of soul searching and a lot of information from the scene.” Mon, 28 Apr 2014 19:31:10 +0000 Sara Lerner & Deborah Wang 33455 at http://kuow.org Active Search Efforts End In Oso Mudslide Seattle Mayor To Announce Plan For Raising Minimum Wage http://kuow.org/post/seattle-mayor-announce-plan-raising-minimum-wage <p></p><p>Seattle Mayor Ed Murray is expected to announce his proposal for a minimum wage increase Thursday afternoon after his advisory committee was unable to reach a consensus. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 15:42:01 +0000 Deborah Wang 33189 at http://kuow.org Seattle Mayor To Announce Plan For Raising Minimum Wage Seattle Mountaineering Company Shaken By Deaths On Everest http://kuow.org/post/seattle-mountaineering-company-shaken-deaths-everest <p></p><p>Last Friday’s avalanche on Mount Everest was especially devastating for one Seattle-based mountaineering company.</p><p>Of the 16 Sherpa guides killed, five of them were employees of Alpine Ascents International. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 17:39:22 +0000 Deborah Wang 33064 at http://kuow.org Seattle Mountaineering Company Shaken By Deaths On Everest Perkins Lane: Seattle's Poster Child For Landslide Risk http://kuow.org/post/perkins-lane-seattles-poster-child-landslide-risk <p></p><p>It’s no secret that Western Washington is prone to landslides. The combination of glacial soils, steep slopes and water creates a risk that’s greater than in other parts of the U.S. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 18:26:07 +0000 Deborah Wang 31311 at http://kuow.org Perkins Lane: Seattle's Poster Child For Landslide Risk Seattle City Council Legalizes Rideshares, But Puts Cap On Cars http://kuow.org/post/seattle-city-council-legalizes-rideshares-puts-cap-cars <p></p><p>You may see fewer cars with pink mustaches on the road in the coming months.</p><p>Seattle’s City Council yesterday gave final approval to a plan that would limit the number of cars that rideshare companies like Lyft, UberX and Sidecar can operate. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 16:15:46 +0000 Deborah Wang 30742 at http://kuow.org Seattle City Council Legalizes Rideshares, But Puts Cap On Cars 'It's Complicated:' A Small Business And Its Employees Struggle With Minimum Wage Debate http://kuow.org/post/its-complicated-small-business-and-its-employees-struggle-minimum-wage-debate <p>The push to raise the minimum wage in Seattle was just a campaign slogan last fall. But now it's on a fast track. Mayor Ed Murray has said that he will propose a minimum wage increase this spring.</p><p>But many of the people who would be affected are just starting to assess the costs and benefits. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 18:39:57 +0000 Deborah Wang 30422 at http://kuow.org 'It's Complicated:' A Small Business And Its Employees Struggle With Minimum Wage Debate Seattle Residents Testify For, Against $15 Minimum Wage At Packed Hearing http://kuow.org/post/seattle-residents-testify-against-15-minimum-wage-packed-hearing <p>Hundreds of people descended on Seattle's Town Hall last night for the first in a series of public hearings on the minimum wage. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 15:57:52 +0000 Deborah Wang 29938 at http://kuow.org Seattle Residents Testify For, Against $15 Minimum Wage At Packed Hearing Seattle City Council Rejects Tax Break For Pot Growers http://kuow.org/post/seattle-city-council-rejects-tax-break-pot-growers <p>Marijuana growers who want to sell their products in Seattle will have to pay business license tax to the city.</p><p>On Monday, the City Council voted not to give pot growers a tax break reserved for farmers. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 17:20:23 +0000 Deborah Wang 29791 at http://kuow.org Seattle City Council Rejects Tax Break For Pot Growers