Shereen Marisol Meraji http://kuow.org en Lending Circles Help Latinas Pay Bills And Invest http://kuow.org/post/lending-circles-help-latinas-pay-bills-and-invest <em>As part of its Changing Lives of Women series, </em>Morning Edition<em> is exploring women and their relationship with money: saving, purchasing and investing for themselves and their families. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 07:05:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 31647 at http://kuow.org Lending Circles Help Latinas Pay Bills And Invest Why Chaucer Said 'Ax' Instead Of 'Ask,' And Why Some Still Do http://kuow.org/post/why-chaucer-said-ax-instead-ask-and-why-some-still-do <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X0aB-f_pHfs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jHZwOqLrF2M</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J7E-aoXLZGY</p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 21:25:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 24844 at http://kuow.org Why Chaucer Said 'Ax' Instead Of 'Ask,' And Why Some Still Do Arturo Sandoval: Free To Blow His Trumpet The Way He Wants http://kuow.org/post/arturo-sandoval-free-blow-his-trumpet-way-he-wants A former president, a media mogul and a Cuban jazz trumpeter are among the 16 recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom on Wednesday. That Cuban jazz trumpeter, Arturo Sandoval, happened to be performing not too far away from NPR West, at The Broad Stage in Santa Monica, last Friday. So I went to pay him a visit during rehearsals.<p>A heads up: This is one of those stories that are truly an aural experience. The best way to take in Sandoval is to hear him: his wonderful accent, his exuberance, his command of his instrument. Wed, 20 Nov 2013 21:34:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 24182 at http://kuow.org Arturo Sandoval: Free To Blow His Trumpet The Way He Wants An East L.A. Football Rivalry, Unchanged For 79 Years http://kuow.org/post/east-la-football-rivalry-unchanged-79-years An East Los Angeles rivalry has become the largest high school football game west of the Mississippi. The football teams of Garfield High School and Roosevelt High School will meet on the gridiron Friday night for the 79th year. The game is expected to draw 20,000 fans. Fri, 01 Nov 2013 21:06:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 23130 at http://kuow.org The Whitest Historically Black College In America http://kuow.org/post/whitest-historically-black-college-america It opened in the late 19th century as the Bluefield Colored Institute, created to educate the children of black coal miners in segregated West Virginia. Although it still receives the federal funding that comes with its designation as a historically black institution, today Bluefield State College is 90 percent white. Fri, 18 Oct 2013 07:08:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 22246 at http://kuow.org The Whitest Historically Black College In America 'The Muslims Are Coming!' To Middle America http://kuow.org/post/muslims-are-coming-americas-south Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>A group of Muslim comics went on tour through parts of Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, as well as Arizona. Their mission was to help Americans equate Islam with funny, rather than fundamentalist. And that is the topic of a new documentary called, "The Muslims Are Coming."<p>NPR's Shereen Marisol Meraji met up with the directors.<p>SHEREEN MARISOL MERAJI, BYLINE: Here's a quick taste of what happens when Muslim comics invade Middle America.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MOVIE, "THE MUSLIMS ARE COMING")<p>NEGIN FARSAD: I'm an Iranian-American Muslim female. Mon, 16 Sep 2013 08:12:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 20390 at http://kuow.org Summer Of '63: Old Lessons For A New Movement http://kuow.org/post/summer-63-old-lessons-new-movement <em>All this summer, NPR is looking back to civil rights activism of 1963, marking the 50th anniversary of a number of events that changed our society. From the </em><a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/2013/06/05/188727790/fifty-years-after-medgar-evers-killing-the-scars-remain">assassination of civil rights leader Medgar Evers</a><em> in Mississippi to the March on Washington; NPR is remembering the past and examining how our society has changed. Wed, 21 Aug 2013 18:23:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 18969 at http://kuow.org Summer Of '63: Old Lessons For A New Movement Latinas Drive Hispanic Purchasing Power In The U.S. http://kuow.org/post/latinas-drive-hispanic-purchasing-power-us Meet Pamela Maria Wright — the "contemporary Latina consumer." She has two kids — Nico and Rita — whom she hopes will be bilingual, as she is. She's a tech-savvy working professional with a master's degree, but she's also very traditional and family-oriented. (While I was visiting her home, her father showed up for a surprise visit. "How much more Latino can you get?" Wright asked.)<p>Wright not only consumes her media in English and Spanish, she also buys groceries biculturally. Tue, 13 Aug 2013 15:59:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 18480 at http://kuow.org Latinas Drive Hispanic Purchasing Power In The U.S. Why Modern Latinas Are A Challenge To Marketers http://kuow.org/post/why-modern-latinas-are-challenge-marketers Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Hispanic American are an increasingly important consumer demographic to woo. That's according to a new study from the market research firm Nielsen. The report says that most of today's Latinas are the primary decision makers when it comes to household spending.<p>But marketing to them is a real challenge, as NPR's Shereen Marisol Meraji reports.<p>SHEREEN MARISOL MERAJI, BYLINE: Welcome to the home of the contemporary Latina consumer.<p>PAMELA MARIA WRIGHT: Hi.<p>MERAJI: Hi. How are you?<p>Good. How are you?<p>WRIGHT: Good. Tue, 13 Aug 2013 09:28:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 18466 at http://kuow.org Comedian Aisha Tyler Talks About Flipping Off Failure http://kuow.org/post/comedian-aisha-tyler-writes-about-being-weird-kid Comedian and actor Aisha Tyler brews beer, plays video games, tells dirty jokes, drinks fancy booze and ... writes books.<p>She has a new one out this week: <em>Self-inflicted Wounds: Heartwarming Tales of Epic Humilation</em>. We sat down in the NPR studios over a mug of 18-year-old scotch to talk about her most embarrassing moments on the road to success. (No, really, we did. Listen to us toast.)<p>For those of you wondering who Aisha Tyler is, here's a quick breakdown (to be read quickly):<p><ul><p><li><p>She played Ross's paleontologist love interest on <em>Friends</em>. Tue, 09 Jul 2013 10:44:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 16306 at http://kuow.org Comedian Aisha Tyler Talks About Flipping Off Failure What [BLANK] Folks Don't Understand About Rachel Jeantel http://kuow.org/post/what-blank-folks-dont-understand-about-rachel-jeantel Rachel Jeantel. Her hourslong testimony spanned two days of the George Zimmerman trial, and I bet you'll be talking about it with your friends over the weekend. She's the 19-year-old key witness for the prosecution who had a cellphone conversation with Trayvon Martin moments before he was killed.<p>And she most definitely touched a nerve.<p><a href="http://sherriwilliamsmedia.com/">Multimedia reporter Sherri Williams</a> created a pretty thorough Storify with what she called "good, bad and ugly tweets about Rachel Jeantel," since Jeantel's national television debut Wednesday. Sat, 29 Jun 2013 11:03:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 15800 at http://kuow.org What [BLANK] Folks Don't Understand About Rachel Jeantel Black Americans Give Entertainment Options Failing Grades http://kuow.org/post/black-americans-give-entertainment-options-failing-grades All this week on Code Switch and on air we've been <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/2013/06/04/188301149/new-survey-takes-a-snapshot-of-the-view-from-black-america">digging into the findings</a> of a survey of African-American views of their communities, finances and social lives. Fri, 07 Jun 2013 21:33:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 14564 at http://kuow.org Black Americans Give Entertainment Options Failing Grades USC Students Allege Racial Profiling By LAPD http://kuow.org/post/usc-students-allege-racial-profiling-lapd The Los Angeles Police Department is under scrutiny again. This time it's for sending almost 80 officers to break up a college house party. Most of the partygoers were African-American students from the University of Southern California.<p>USC senior Nate Howard organized the party that was shut down by the police. At a protest on campus Monday he condemned the response.<p>"Seventy-plus officers?" he said. Wed, 08 May 2013 15:53:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 12714 at http://kuow.org USC Students Allege Racial Profiling By LAPD Seeking Oakland's Soul In The 'New Oakland' http://kuow.org/post/seeking-oaklands-soul-new-oakland <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VnZ-QLuEGSM</p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 08:26:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 11526 at http://kuow.org Seeking Oakland's Soul In The 'New Oakland'