Marcie Sillman http://kuow.org en Hungry For Pot? Here's What You Need To Know http://kuow.org/post/hungry-pot-heres-what-you-need-know <p>Marcie Sillman talks with <a href="http://rogerroffman.com/">Roger Roffman</a>, University of Washington professor emeritus of social work, about how to stay safe with marijuana edibles. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 21:49:30 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 38439 at http://kuow.org Hungry For Pot? Here's What You Need To Know Seattle Writer Recalls 'The Feelings Of The War Inside Me' http://kuow.org/post/seattle-writer-recalls-feelings-war-inside-me <p>When Major David Tucker deployed to Iraq – his third mission since he joined the Army Reserves in 1982 – he told his soldiers to take the doors off the Humvees. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 21:49:15 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Marcie Sillman 38440 at http://kuow.org Seattle Writer Recalls 'The Feelings Of The War Inside Me' Rewiring Nerves So The Brain Can Move Prosthetic Limbs http://kuow.org/post/rewiring-nerves-so-brain-can-move-prosthetic-limbs <p>Marcie Sillman&nbsp;talks with Dr. Doug Smith, an orthopedic surgeon at Harborview and the University of Washington, about emerging technology in which nerves can be relocated in amputated limbs so the brain can control prosthetic devices. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:23:54 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Matthew Streib 38385 at http://kuow.org Nancy Pearl Gives Northwest Writer The Thumbs Up On Second Book http://kuow.org/post/nancy-pearl-gives-northwest-writer-thumbs-second-book <p>Marcie Sillman sits down with librarian of the airwaves, Nancy Pearl, to discuss a Northwest writer she says merits a second read. Pearl recommends Chelsea Cain's new mystery novel "One Kick," as well as the author's first book, "Confessions of a Teen Sleuth," a re-imagination of the old Nancy Drew young adult books. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 22:29:39 +0000 Marcie Sillman 38054 at http://kuow.org Nancy Pearl Gives Northwest Writer The Thumbs Up On Second Book When 'The Beautiful Game' Was Chaotic And Dangerous http://kuow.org/post/when-beautiful-game-was-chaotic-and-dangerous <p>Marcie Sillman talks with University of Washington professor <a href="http://ischool.uw.edu/people/faculty/jwj">Joe Janes</a> about the <a href="http://faculty.washington.edu/jwj/doc/football.mp3">original rules of soccer</a>, published in 1863. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:45:39 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 38070 at http://kuow.org Tacoma School District To Apologize For Firing Gay Teacher In 1972 http://kuow.org/post/tacoma-school-district-apologize-firing-gay-teacher-1972 <p>Marcie Sillman&nbsp;talks with former teacher Jim Gaylord, who was fired from&nbsp;Tacoma's Wilson High School in 1972 for being gay. The school district will offer a formal apology this Sunday. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:36:38 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Matthew Streib 38096 at http://kuow.org The Changing Relationship Between Israel And American Jewry http://kuow.org/post/changing-relationship-between-israel-and-american-jewry <p>Marcie Sillman talks with journalist Lesley Hazleton about the disparate ways young and old Jews regard the actions of Israel, and what this means for their future. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 21:08:02 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Matthew Streib 37986 at http://kuow.org In Defense Of Research On Unconscious Patients At Harborview http://kuow.org/post/defense-research-unconscious-patients-harborview <p>Marcie Sillman talks with bioethicist <a href="http://pophealth.med.nyu.edu/faculty/caplaa01">Arthur Caplan</a> about the implications of involving people in a research study without their consent. Caplan&nbsp;directs the bioethics division at New York University's Langone Medical Center. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 21:07:29 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 37994 at http://kuow.org Homeless Coalition Fighting For Right To Use Federal Building http://kuow.org/post/homeless-coalition-fighting-right-use-federal-building <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Alison Eisinger, director of the Coalition on Homelessness, about why local homeless advocacy groups are protesting the rejection of their application to convert the Old Federal Reserve building into a comprehensive homeless service center in downtown Seattle. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 21:07:10 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 38009 at http://kuow.org From Military To Civilian: Making The Paycheck Transition http://kuow.org/post/military-civilian-making-paycheck-transition <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Joint Base Lewis-McChord's transition services manager, Robin Baker, about the programs the base offers to help veterans transition to civilian life. Also, we hear from Sgt. Richard Larimer about his upcoming entrance into the civilian sector for the first time. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 20:03:55 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 38084 at http://kuow.org Why Shakespeare Resonates For A New Audience http://kuow.org/post/why-shakespeare-resonates-new-audience <p>Summer means Shakespeare has arrived in the Pacific Northwest. You can see Shakespeare in parks, tents and even theaters in every major city and a few quaint towns. But <a href="http://www.freeholdtheatre.org/">Freehold Theatre</a> aims its Shakespeare at a slightly different population. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 16:13:25 +0000 Marcie Sillman 37495 at http://kuow.org Why Shakespeare Resonates For A New Audience Not Much, But Who Cares? Seattle Kicks Off Pot Sales http://kuow.org/post/not-much-who-cares-seattle-kicks-pot-sales <p>It was a false countdown to high noon, when Cannabis City, a store in Seattle’s Sodo neighborhood, was supposed to start selling marijuana. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 23:10:54 +0000 Patricia Murphy, Carolyn Adolph, Marcie Sillman & Deborah Wang 37855 at http://kuow.org Not Much, But Who Cares? Seattle Kicks Off Pot Sales Canadian Pot Tourists: Leave Your Souvenirs In Washington State http://kuow.org/post/canadian-pot-tourists-leave-your-souvenirs-washington-state <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Vaughn Palmer, columnist for the Vancouver Sun, about Canadian pot tourists making their way to Bellingham, Washington. Also they discuss the release of the "Prince Of Pot" from prison and the one-year anniversary of the train crash in Lac-Megnatic, Quebec, that killed 47 people. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:06:33 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 37911 at http://kuow.org Senator Murray Wants To Reverse Hobby Lobby Decision http://kuow.org/post/senator-murray-wants-reverse-hobby-lobby-decision <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Senator Patty Murray about her legislation that would override the Supreme Court's recent Hobby Lobby decision concerning contraceptive coverage. Sillman also speaks with Washington Post congressional reporter Wesley Lowery for analysis on how far Murray's legislation might go. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:03:55 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 37898 at http://kuow.org Wounded In Afghanistan, But Still Running http://kuow.org/post/wounded-afghanistan-still-running <p>On Edward Lychik's 21st birthday, his fellow troops gave him a gift.</p><p>The Army combat engineer normally rode in the first truck in his convoy. Lychik's job was to ensure the road his battalion traveled in Afghanistan was bomb-free.</p><p>To celebrate Lychik's big day, his comrades let him ride in the rear — the convoy's last truck. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 20:19:48 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Matthew Streib 37843 at http://kuow.org Wounded In Afghanistan, But Still Running