Marcie Sillman http://kuow.org en SAM's Sandra Jackson-Dumont Leaves For New York http://kuow.org/post/sams-sandra-jackson-dumont-leaves-new-york <p></p><p>Seattle Art Museum's waterfront Olympic Sculpture Park was still a work in progress when SAM Education Director Sandra Jackson-Dumont arrived here in 2006.</p><p>"The Neukom Vivarium, that big log in the glass case, it was up in a hoist," she recalls. "It looked like some kind of living UFO." Thu, 17 Apr 2014 21:49:43 +0000 Marcie Sillman 32538 at http://kuow.org SAM's Sandra Jackson-Dumont Leaves For New York Pipeline Politics, Worker Safety, And Equal Rights Lawsuit http://kuow.org/post/pipeline-politics-worker-safety-and-equal-rights-lawsuit <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Les Leyne of the Victoria Times Colonist about the town of Kitimat speaking up against the proposed Northern Gateway Pipeline and restoring public trust in workplace safety.</p><p>Leyne also talks about a lawsuit filed in the British Columbia Supreme Court on equal rights against religious freedom at a private evangelical university.</p><p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 23:13:18 +0000 Marcie Sillman 32699 at http://kuow.org Pipeline Politics, Worker Safety, And Equal Rights Lawsuit Navigating Love, Marriage, And Two Different Cultures http://kuow.org/post/navigating-love-marriage-and-two-different-cultures <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with author Krista Bremer about her memoir, "My Accidental Jihad." In it Bremer reflects on her marriage to a Libyan-born Muslim and the challenges she faced in a multicultural family. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:54:49 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 32698 at http://kuow.org Navigating Love, Marriage, And Two Different Cultures What's Killing Off The World's Banana Crop? http://kuow.org/post/whats-killing-worlds-banana-crop <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Dr. Lori Carris, plant pathologist at Washington State University, about why the <a href="http://www.un.org/apps/news/story.asp?NewsID=47573&amp;Cr=agriculture&amp;Cr1=#.U072oRDpzwm">United Nations is warning</a> the world of a ferocious disease that's attacking bananas.</p><p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:00:19 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Marcie Sillman 32671 at http://kuow.org What's Killing Off The World's Banana Crop? How Collaborative Commons Is The Beginning Of The End For Capitalism http://kuow.org/post/how-collaborative-commons-beginning-end-capitalism <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Jeremy Rifkin about his new book, "The Zero Marginal Cost Society: The Internet of Things, the Collaborative Commons, and the Eclipse of Capitalism." Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:09:53 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 32614 at http://kuow.org How Collaborative Commons Is The Beginning Of The End For Capitalism Former Cop On SPD Reform: 'A Huge Insult To The Officers' http://kuow.org/post/former-cop-spd-reform-huge-insult-officers <p>Marcie Sillman talks with retired Seattle police officer <a href="http://www.stevepomper.com/">Steve Pomper </a>about why he thinks the federally mandated reforms to the Seattle Police Department are <a href="http://crosscut.com/2014/04/14/op-ed/119561/police-justice-department-murray-steve-pomper/?page=single">unnecessary</a>. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:06:11 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 32595 at http://kuow.org Former Cop On SPD Reform: 'A Huge Insult To The Officers' The Political Chess Game Of The $15 Minimum Wage http://kuow.org/post/political-chess-game-15-minimum-wage <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with <a href="https://www.15now.org/" target="_blank">15 Now</a> Campaign Manager Jess Spear about its proposed <a href="http://kuow.org/post/seattles-15-wage-campaign-eyes-ballot">Seattle city charter amendment</a> to change the minimum wage to $15.</p><p>Then, Marcie Sillman&nbsp;checks in with political analyst <a href="http://q13fox.com/bio/c-r-douglas/" target="_blank">C.R. Douglas</a> of Q13 Fox News about the politics behind the $15 minimum wage movement and what we can expect looking forward. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:01:45 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Ross Reynolds & Christine Streich 32608 at http://kuow.org The Political Chess Game Of The $15 Minimum Wage John Luther Adams Wins Pulitzer For 'Become Ocean' http://kuow.org/post/john-luther-adams-wins-pulitzer-become-ocean <p></p><p>Composer John Luther Adams was as surprised as anybody when the <a href="http://www.pulitzer.org/awards/2014">Pulitzer Prize</a> committee called him Monday, April 14, to let him know he'd won the prize for his composition "Become Ocean." Tue, 15 Apr 2014 21:58:09 +0000 Marcie Sillman 32616 at http://kuow.org John Luther Adams Wins Pulitzer For 'Become Ocean' Emma Donoghue's New Novel 'Frog Music' http://kuow.org/post/emma-donoghues-new-novel-frog-music <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with writer Emma Donoghue about her new book, "Frog Music." It was inspired by the unsolved 1876 murder of a woman named Jenny Bonnet in San Francisco.</p><p>Donoghue also discusses about how fact inspires her fiction. Her award-winning novel, "Room," was about a 5-year-old boy and his mother who were kept prisoner by their father and husband, respectively, in a backyard shed. The book was based, in small part, on a real life story Donoghue had seen in the news. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:34:42 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Arwen Nicks 32509 at http://kuow.org Emma Donoghue's New Novel 'Frog Music' Peter Boal: From Dancer To Mentor http://kuow.org/post/peter-boal-dancer-mentor <p></p><p>When Pacific Northwest Ballet artistic director Peter Boal arrived in Seattle in 2005, he was ready to lead Seattle's premier dance company into the 21st century. It was a challenge that excited him, but becoming the head of his own company meant that Boal had to leave behind his own long and celebrated career with New York City Ballet. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 22:13:07 +0000 Marcie Sillman 32144 at http://kuow.org Peter Boal: From Dancer To Mentor Jared Diamond Aims Evolution Education At Youth http://kuow.org/post/jared-diamond-aims-evolution-education-youth <p></p><p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with author and professor <a href="http://www.jareddiamond.org/">Jared Diamond</a> about an adaptation of his book<em>, "</em>The Third Chimpanzee: The Evolution and Future of the Human Animal." The adaption targets high school students. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 21:59:02 +0000 Arwen Nicks, Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 32299 at http://kuow.org Jared Diamond Aims Evolution Education At Youth The Norwegian Author You Might Start Hearing More About http://kuow.org/post/norwegian-author-you-might-start-hearing-more-about <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman interviews Norwegian author Jo Nesbo about the newest book in his crime series about the character Harry Hole called, "Police." It has just been published in English and one of his earlier books is being adapted for film.</p><p><em>This interview originally aired on November 7, 2013</em>.</p><p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 21:12:13 +0000 Marcie Sillman 23468 at http://kuow.org The Norwegian Author You Might Start Hearing More About Extra Virginity: Historical Toil Of Olive Oil http://kuow.org/post/extra-virginity-historical-toil-olive-oil <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with author Tom Mueller about his book, "Extra Virginity: The Sublime and Scandalous World of Olive Oil." Thu, 03 Apr 2014 22:11:35 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 31875 at http://kuow.org Extra Virginity: Historical Toil Of Olive Oil Remembering The Day Kurt Cobain's Music Died http://kuow.org/post/remembering-day-kurt-cobains-music-died <p></p><p>It was 20 years ago, but I remember it clearly: April 8, 1994, the day the world found out that Nirvana front man Kurt Cobain was dead. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 17:16:28 +0000 Marcie Sillman 31816 at http://kuow.org Remembering The Day Kurt Cobain's Music Died UW Music Library Scores Big With Large Bequest http://kuow.org/post/uw-music-library-scores-big-large-bequest <p></p><p>William Crawford had a passion. During his lifetime, he collected rare, first edition vocal musical scores. By the time he died in 2013, he had amassed more than 700 scores by such famous composers as Beethoven, Bach and Wagner. Now those scores have found a home in Seattle. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 18:16:03 +0000 Marcie Sillman 31610 at http://kuow.org UW Music Library Scores Big With Large Bequest