John Ryan http://kuow.org en Seattle Tunnel Partner Wins $80 Million Dispute Over Boston’s Big Dig http://kuow.org/post/seattle-tunnel-partner-wins-80-million-dispute-over-boston-s-big-dig <p>One of the two companies attempting to dig a highway tunnel beneath the Seattle waterfront has won an $80 million dispute with the Massachusetts Department of Transportation. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 16:58:20 +0000 John Ryan 38632 at http://kuow.org Seattle Tunnel Partner Wins $80 Million Dispute Over Boston’s Big Dig Amazon: Send In The Drones (And The Lobbyists) http://kuow.org/post/amazon-send-drones-and-lobbyists <p>Amazon, the world’s largest online retailer, is seeking permission to send unmanned aircraft into the skies. <a href="http://www.regulations.gov/#!documentDetail;D=FAA-2014-0474-0001">The company has asked</a> the Federal Aviation Administration for permission to test its delivery-by-drone system.</p><p>The Seattle retailer has been testing drones indoors in Seattle, but it needs a federal exemption to test them outside. The company tells the FAA it wants to test drones on its own property “near Seattle.” Fri, 11 Jul 2014 22:57:46 +0000 John Ryan 38111 at http://kuow.org Amazon: Send In The Drones (And The Lobbyists) Lottery Winner Fined For Illegal Land Clearing On San Juan Island http://kuow.org/post/lottery-winner-fined-illegal-land-clearing-san-juan-island <p>Washington state officials have fined a Virginia man $79,000 for illegal clearing of a San Juan Island shoreline.</p><p>It’s trouble Dave Honeywell of Fredericksburg, Virginia, wouldn’t have gotten into if he hadn’t just won the lottery. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 17:15:25 +0000 John Ryan 38024 at http://kuow.org Lottery Winner Fined For Illegal Land Clearing On San Juan Island Four Years After Deadly Blast, Tesoro Mostly Unscathed http://kuow.org/post/four-years-after-deadly-blast-tesoro-mostly-unscathed <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">It was the state’s worst industrial accident in nearly 50 years.</span></p><p>On a chilly April night in 2010, a giant fireball lit up the sky above Anacortes, Washington. A southeast wind pushed a plume of black smoke toward the heart of this seaside town an hour north of Seattle.</p><p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 03:37:44 +0000 John Ryan 37602 at http://kuow.org Four Years After Deadly Blast, Tesoro Mostly Unscathed Snohomish County Revisits Development In Landslide Zones http://kuow.org/post/snohomish-county-revisits-development-landslide-zones <p>How to keep a county that is still reeling from a deadly landslide safe from future landslides?</p><p>Environmentalists' and developers' conflicting answers to that question will get a full airing on Wednesday at the Snohomish County Council in Everett. The council is holding a special hearing on ways to reduce the chances of new homes being put in where landslides might take them out. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 23:41:51 +0000 John Ryan 37010 at http://kuow.org Report: Agency Blocked Urgent Recommendations For Tesoro Refinery Safety http://kuow.org/post/report-agency-blocked-urgent-recommendations-tesoro-refinery-safety <p></p><p>In the months following a deadly refinery explosion in Anacortes, Washington, in April 2010, federal investigators with the U.S. Chemical Safety Board were ready to issue urgent safety recommendations. But management at the agency blocked the release of their urgent alert. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 20:49:07 +0000 John Ryan 36806 at http://kuow.org Report: Agency Blocked Urgent Recommendations For Tesoro Refinery Safety Scientists Take A Look Deep Beneath Mount St. Helens http://kuow.org/post/scientists-take-look-deep-beneath-mount-st-helens <p>If you're hiking in the Mount St. Helens National Volcanic Monument in July or August, and you feel the earth rumble briefly, it could just be scientists trying to plumb the depths of the Northwest’s most active volcano.</p><p>Scientists are peppering Mount St. Helens with thousands of sensitive instruments this summer to understand what makes the volcano tick. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 15:53:24 +0000 John Ryan 36658 at http://kuow.org Scientists Take A Look Deep Beneath Mount St. Helens Officials: Bertha, World's Largest Tunnel Machine, Will Be More Robust http://kuow.org/post/officials-bertha-worlds-largest-tunnel-machine-will-be-more-robust <p></p><p></p><p>The builders of the tunnel machine stuck beneath the Seattle waterfront don’t just plan to repair the world’s largest tunnel machine. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 19:00:41 +0000 John Ryan 36553 at http://kuow.org Officials: Bertha, World's Largest Tunnel Machine, Will Be More Robust Signature Campaign Begins For $15 Minimum Wage Initiative http://kuow.org/post/signature-campaign-begins-15-minimum-wage-initiative <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Minimum-wage activists launched their signature-gathering campaign for a ballot initiative outside the downtown Seattle McDonald's Thursday.</span></p><p> Sat, 17 May 2014 03:13:23 +0000 John Ryan 34609 at http://kuow.org Signature Campaign Begins For $15 Minimum Wage Initiative DNR Promises Tighter Controls On Logging Near Landslide Zones http://kuow.org/post/dnr-promises-tighter-controls-logging-near-landslide-zones <p>Washington State officials announced new restrictions on logging near landslide zones Friday afternoon.</p><p></p><p>The change in policy comes six weeks after a landslide near the town of Oso killed at least 41 people. Sat, 10 May 2014 00:43:26 +0000 John Ryan 34205 at http://kuow.org DNR Promises Tighter Controls On Logging Near Landslide Zones Audit Dings Hospital's 50-Year Practice Of Paid 'Transition Time' http://kuow.org/post/audit-dings-hospitals-50-year-practice-paid-transition-time <p>State auditors say Western State Hospital has been losing about <a href="http://portal.sao.wa.gov/ReportSearch/Home/ViewReportFile?arn=1011811&amp;isFinding=false&amp;sp=false">$800,000 a year paying for work that's not being done</a>. For decades, the hospital has been letting hundreds of employees start late and leave early -- and still paying for their time. Fri, 09 May 2014 01:04:14 +0000 John Ryan 34126 at http://kuow.org Audit Dings Hospital's 50-Year Practice Of Paid 'Transition Time' Feds Urge Tighter Refinery Regulations After Fatal Tesoro Blast http://kuow.org/post/feds-urge-tighter-refinery-regulations-after-fatal-tesoro-blast <p></p><p>The U.S. Chemical Safety Board is calling for 60 improvements in the design, operation and regulation of the Tesoro oil refinery in Anacortes and of refineries nationwide. Fri, 02 May 2014 20:48:11 +0000 John Ryan 33768 at http://kuow.org Feds Urge Tighter Refinery Regulations After Fatal Tesoro Blast Tunnel Machine Set To Dig Under Seattle, But It's Not Bertha http://kuow.org/post/tunnel-machine-set-dig-under-seattle-its-not-bertha <p></p><p>A tunnel machine is set to resume digging beneath the streets of Seattle in mid-June.</p><p>No, it's not Bertha. It's Brenda.</p><p> Tue, 29 Apr 2014 02:48:19 +0000 John Ryan 33493 at http://kuow.org Tunnel Machine Set To Dig Under Seattle, But It's Not Bertha No More Tunneling By Bertha Until March 2015 http://kuow.org/post/no-more-tunneling-bertha-until-march-2015 <p>State transportation officials say the tunnel machine now stuck beneath the downtown Seattle waterfront won't resume tunneling for another 10 months. Digging is now forecast to resume in March 2015.</p><p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 19:05:39 +0000 John Ryan 32984 at http://kuow.org No More Tunneling By Bertha Until March 2015 DNR Postpones Clear-Cuts It Approved Near Oso Landslide http://kuow.org/post/dnr-postpones-clear-cuts-it-approved-near-oso-landslide <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Washington state officials have postponed selling 250 acres of timber on steep slopes near the town of </span>Oso<span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span></p><p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:35:45 +0000 John Ryan 32850 at http://kuow.org DNR Postpones Clear-Cuts It Approved Near Oso Landslide