John Ryan http://kuow.org en Oso Logger: We Followed Rules, Cut Edge Of Landslide Zone Cautiously http://kuow.org/post/oso-logger-we-followed-rules-cut-edge-landslide-zone-cautiously <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The forester who clear-cut land above the Oso, Wash., landslide zone in 2005 says he followed standard procedures and state regulations when logging there.</p><p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 19:24:49 +0000 John Ryan 32020 at http://kuow.org Oso Logger: We Followed Rules, Cut Edge Of Landslide Zone Cautiously Coast Guard Blames Kulluk Grounding on Shell Oil's Complacency, Risk Taking http://kuow.org/post/coast-guard-blames-kulluk-grounding-shell-oils-complacency-risk-taking <p>A US Coast Guard investigation blames Shell Oil's complacency and risk-taking for an oil rig running aground on a remote Alaskan Island on New Year's Eve 2012.</p><p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 05:52:06 +0000 John Ryan 31963 at http://kuow.org Coast Guard Blames Kulluk Grounding on Shell Oil's Complacency, Risk Taking DNR Investigates Out-Of-Bounds Clear-Cut, Other Possible Factors In Oso Landslide http://kuow.org/post/dnr-investigates-out-bounds-clear-cut-other-possible-factors-oso-landslide <p></p><p>Seattle just wrapped up its wettest March on record, with 9.4 inches of rain reported at Sea-Tac International Airport.&nbsp;</p><p>Geologists say near-record rain in the Cascade foothills&nbsp;was key in triggering the fatal landslide near the town of Oso, Wash., on March 22. But they say clear-cutting nearby could also have worsened the risk of the hillside collapsing. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 18:41:46 +0000 John Ryan 31677 at http://kuow.org DNR Investigates Out-Of-Bounds Clear-Cut, Other Possible Factors In Oso Landslide Clear-Cut Crossed Into No-Logging Zone In Oso http://kuow.org/post/clear-cut-crossed-no-logging-zone-oso <p></p><p>State officials say they didn't approve clear-cutting inside a no-logging zone directly above Saturday's <a href="http://kuow.org/topic/kuows-ongoing-coverage-deadly-oso-mudslide">deadly landslide that struck the town of Oso</a>. But aerial photos show a clear-cut extending into the zone where a loss of trees would heighten the risk of landslides. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 18:11:52 +0000 John Ryan 31476 at http://kuow.org Clear-Cut Crossed Into No-Logging Zone In Oso Concern Over Landslide-Logging Connection Near Oso Is Decades Old http://kuow.org/post/concern-over-landslide-logging-connection-near-oso-decades-old <p></p><p>Saturday's deadly slide was the latest in a long string of landslides to hit the area known as the Hazel or Oso slide along the North Fork Stillaguamish River.</p><p>State and tribal officials have known about and tried to block landslides on that spot for half a century. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 23:27:48 +0000 John Ryan 31356 at http://kuow.org Concern Over Landslide-Logging Connection Near Oso Is Decades Old Seattle To Let Pedestrians Walk More Slowly http://kuow.org/post/seattle-let-pedestrians-walk-more-slowly <p>The city of Seattle is re-timing traffic signals throughout the city to make crosswalks safer for all pedestrians.</p><p>A study conducted by a group of graduate students at the University of Washington School of Public Health in 2013 found that traffic signals in Rainier Valley force pedestrians to cross faster than signals on Market Street in the wealthier and whiter neighborhood of Ballard. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:18:56 +0000 John Ryan 30977 at http://kuow.org Seattle To Let Pedestrians Walk More Slowly Archaeological Digging Starts On Seattle's Stalled Tunnel Project http://kuow.org/post/archaeological-digging-starts-seattles-stalled-tunnel-project <p>The past could present yet another obstacle to the future of the state Route 99&nbsp;megaproject on the Seattle waterfront.</p><p>Archaeologists with the tunnel project started digging a series of 60 small holes Thursday to see if any signs of historic or prehistoric human activity are in the area. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 15:23:56 +0000 John Ryan 30507 at http://kuow.org Archaeological Digging Starts On Seattle's Stalled Tunnel Project Intentional Avalanche Destroys Crystal Mountain Chairlift http://kuow.org/post/intentional-avalanche-destroys-crystal-mountain-chairlift <p>An avalanche destroyed a chairlift at the Crystal Mountain resort near Mount Rainier on Monday afternoon when the resort was closed. The avalanche was intentionally set off by the resort's ski patrol and no one was hurt.</p><p>Despite the destruction, patrollers say they have no regrets. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 15:46:23 +0000 John Ryan 30315 at http://kuow.org Intentional Avalanche Destroys Crystal Mountain Chairlift Bertha's Very Bad Week, A Timeline http://kuow.org/post/berthas-very-bad-week-timeline <p>It’s been hard to get straight answers about what forced Bertha, the world's largest tunnel machine, to halt. It began boring July 30, 2013, and when Bertha broke down in December, it was ahead of schedule. Since then, the machine has been mostly idle beneath the Seattle waterfront. Project officials still haven't publicly identified a root cause. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 14:57:28 +0000 John Ryan 30094 at http://kuow.org Bertha's Very Bad Week, A Timeline Six Months Needed To Repair Seattle Tunnel Machine http://kuow.org/post/six-months-needed-repair-seattle-tunnel-machine <p></p><p>Seattle's tunnel builders say getting their world-record tunnel machine going again will take at least six more months.</p><p>The tunnel machine known as Bertha has sat largely motionless for nearly three months since it overheated in early December. Sat, 01 Mar 2014 02:23:07 +0000 John Ryan 29685 at http://kuow.org Six Months Needed To Repair Seattle Tunnel Machine Transportation Officials: To Fix Bertha, Cutter Head Needs To Be Removed http://kuow.org/post/transportation-officials-fix-bertha-cutter-head-needs-be-removed <p>Bertha needs a face lift.</p><p>Washington State Department of Transportation officials told the Seattle City Council Monday afternoon that the face of the state Route 99 tunnel machine has to come off in order to repair its damaged machinery. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 17:00:12 +0000 John Ryan 29387 at http://kuow.org Transportation Officials: To Fix Bertha, Cutter Head Needs To Be Removed Tunnel Tolling: Build It, And They Won't Come? http://kuow.org/post/tunnel-tolling-build-it-and-they-wont-come <p>Anyone who's hosted a party has probably had that panicky feeling beforehand: What if you throw a big party and nobody comes?</p><p>State transportation officials face a similar worry: What if after they build a $3.1 billion underground highway to replace the Alaskan Way Viaduct, not enough people use it?</p><p><strong>Build It And They Won't Come?</strong></p><p>The state Legislature has decreed that tolls have to pay for $200 million of the state Route 99 tunnel's construction cost.</p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 17:44:48 +0000 John Ryan 29166 at http://kuow.org Tunnel Tolling: Build It, And They Won't Come? Seattle's Tunnel Machine Chokes On Dirt http://kuow.org/post/seattles-tunnel-machine-chokes-dirt <p>State officials said Friday afternoon that the tunneling machine known as Bertha had to stop, not because it hit foreign objects, but because it clogged with dirt. Sat, 08 Feb 2014 00:51:32 +0000 John Ryan 28429 at http://kuow.org Seattle's Tunnel Machine Chokes On Dirt Tesoro Refinery Blast Reflects Industry-Wide Problems http://kuow.org/post/tesoro-refinery-blast-reflects-industry-wide-problems <p>Safer practices and better steel could have prevented a deadly explosion at the Tesoro refinery in Anacortes, Wash., in 2010, <a href="https://www.documentcloud.org/documents/1011042-csb-anacortes-interim-report.html">according to a new report from the U.S. Chemical Safety Board. &nbsp;</a></p><p>The blast killed seven workers. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 15:35:11 +0000 John Ryan 27984 at http://kuow.org Tesoro Refinery Blast Reflects Industry-Wide Problems Workers To Descend Into Blocked Bertha In A Pressurized Bubble http://kuow.org/post/workers-descend-blocked-bertha-pressurized-bubble <p></p><p>To get Bertha moving again, state officials announced Wednesday that they are sending in human reinforcements – in a giant, pressurized bubble. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 19:38:49 +0000 John Ryan 27157 at http://kuow.org Workers To Descend Into Blocked Bertha In A Pressurized Bubble