Ross Reynolds http://kuow.org en Why More Police Departments Are Under Scrutiny Today http://kuow.org/post/why-more-police-departments-are-under-scrutiny-today <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with police accountability expert, Samuel Walker, about the increased policing of the police. Walker is also the co-author of "The New World of Police Accountability." Wed, 23 Apr 2014 22:20:26 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 33149 at http://kuow.org Why More Police Departments Are Under Scrutiny Today How Microsoft's Windows Phone Stacks Up Against Its Competitors http://kuow.org/post/how-microsofts-windows-phone-stacks-against-its-competitors <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Geekwire's Todd Bishop about the Northwest tech industry and how the updates to Microsoft's Windows Phone 8.1 will impact its place in the growing smartphone market. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 22:21:05 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 32980 at http://kuow.org How Microsoft's Windows Phone Stacks Up Against Its Competitors Immigrant Business Owners Weigh In On Seattle's Minimum Wage http://kuow.org/post/immigrant-business-owners-weigh-seattles-minimum-wage <p></p><p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with Taylor Hoang, owner of the Pho Cyclo Cafe, about the minimum wage debate in Seattle.</p><p>As an immigrant business owner, Hoang is in favor of a proposal that would implement a much lower minimum wage. The proposal would raise the minimum wage to $10.35 and gradually increase to $15 over the next 10 years. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 22:10:14 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Christine Streich 32974 at http://kuow.org Immigrant Business Owners Weigh In On Seattle's Minimum Wage How UW's Age-Progression Software Could Help Find Missing Kids http://kuow.org/post/how-uws-age-progression-software-could-help-find-missing-kids <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Robert Lowery, vice president of the Missing Children Division at the <a href="http://www.missingkids.com/home">National Center for Missing and Exploited Children</a>, about the new <a href="http://www.washington.edu/news/2014/04/09/see-what-a-child-will-look-like-using-automated-age-progression-software/">automated age-progression software</a> developed at the University of Washington.</p><p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 21:48:34 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32946 at http://kuow.org How UW's Age-Progression Software Could Help Find Missing Kids The Conservative Take On Environmentalism http://kuow.org/post/conservative-take-environmentalism <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Todd Myers, environmental director of the Washington Policy Center, about how conservative values align with the environmental movement.&nbsp; Mon, 21 Apr 2014 21:43:15 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 32970 at http://kuow.org The Conservative Take On Environmentalism Bionic Bulldogs And Spider Goats: The Future Of Biotech's New Beasts http://kuow.org/post/bionic-bulldogs-and-spider-goats-future-biotechs-new-beasts <p>How is biotechnology changing our pets, our livestock and other wild things? Ross Reynolds talks with Emily Anthes, the author of "Frankenstein’s Cat: Cuddling up to Biotech’s Brave New Beasts," about how biotech will change our pets and livestock.</p><p><em>This interview originally aired on March 14, 2013.</em></p><p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 17:28:21 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Arwen Nicks 9751 at http://kuow.org Bionic Bulldogs And Spider Goats: The Future Of Biotech's New Beasts The Challenges To Predicting Earthquakes http://kuow.org/post/challenges-predicting-earthquakes <p></p><p>Moments before the magnitude-7.2 earthquake struck central and southern Mexico, people received a text message warning on their phones.</p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with John Vidale, Washington state seismologist and UW professor, about the challenges to predicting earthquakes. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 22:20:08 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 32817 at http://kuow.org The Challenges To Predicting Earthquakes Building Seattle's Future Around Transit http://kuow.org/post/building-seattles-future-around-transit <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds speaks with Josh Brower, member of the Seattle Planning Commission, about how the transit focus might affect his neighborhood in Beacon Hill.</p><p>The transit focus is one of the three planning alternatives&nbsp;being considered for&nbsp;<a href="http://2035.seattle.gov/">Seattle 2035</a>. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 22:19:27 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Posey Gruener 32806 at http://kuow.org Building Seattle's Future Around Transit Does Higher Education Lack Diversity? Western Pres. Says It's A National Problem http://kuow.org/post/does-higher-education-lack-diversity-western-pres-says-its-national-problem <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Western Washington University President Dr. Bruce Shepard about his <a href="http://www.wwu.edu/president/blog/posts/24.shtml">concerns for the lack of diversity</a> at Western and other schools across the country.</p><p>In a recent convocation speech, Shepard sparked a debate over his statement: "If we are as white in 10 years as we are today, Western will have failed as a university." Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:55:03 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 32732 at http://kuow.org Does Higher Education Lack Diversity? Western Pres. Says It's A National Problem Why The Black Market For Marijuana May Not Go Away http://kuow.org/post/why-black-market-marijuana-may-not-go-away <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Dominic Corva, executive director of <a href="http://cannabisandsocialpolicy.org/">the Center for the Study of Cannabis and Social Policy</a>, about the implications for pot bans and moratoriums in Washington state. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:07:04 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32742 at http://kuow.org Why The Black Market For Marijuana May Not Go Away How To Grow An Urban Village In Ballard http://kuow.org/post/how-grow-urban-village-ballard <p></p><p>Seattle is expecting 120,000 new residents over the next 20 years. To guide its growth, the city is currently drawing up a new comprehensive plan called, <a href="http://2035.seattle.gov/">Seattle 2035</a>.</p><p>City officials are seeking public input on the three options on the table: urban centers, urban villages and transit. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 21:50:02 +0000 Ross Reynolds 32764 at http://kuow.org How To Grow An Urban Village In Ballard Meet The Woman Pushing To Make Restaurant Food Safer In King County http://kuow.org/post/meet-woman-pushing-make-restaurant-food-safer-king-county <p>Ross Reynolds interviews Sarah Schacht, <span style="line-height: 1.5;">who&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">has survived two bouts of&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">E.coli,</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> about</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> her grassroots effort to make restaurant inspection results more public in King County. &nbsp; </span> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:42:58 +0000 Ross Reynolds & David Hyde 32697 at http://kuow.org Meet The Woman Pushing To Make Restaurant Food Safer In King County Why Boeing Is Moving Engineering Jobs Out Of Everett http://kuow.org/post/why-boeing-moving-engineering-jobs-out-everett <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with Seattle Times aerospace reporter <a href="https://twitter.com/dominicgates" target="_blank">Dominic Gates</a> about Boeing moving engineering jobs out of Everett and Washington state. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 21:04:21 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Christine Streich 32763 at http://kuow.org Why Boeing Is Moving Engineering Jobs Out Of Everett An Ex-Seminarian's Take On Sexual Abuse Scandal http://kuow.org/post/ex-seminarians-take-sexual-abuse-scandal <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds interviews local author Fred Moody about his account of discovering his seminary's sexual abuse past in his book, "Unspeakable Joy."</p><p><em>This interview originally aired on November 18, 2013.</em><br /> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 20:33:10 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 24069 at http://kuow.org An Ex-Seminarian's Take On Sexual Abuse Scandal Ken Burns On 'The Greatest Speech In American History' http://kuow.org/post/ken-burns-greatest-speech-american-history <p></p><p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with filmmaker Ken Burns about his new documentary, "<a href="http://www.pbs.org/kenburns/the-address/home/">The Address</a>."</p><p>The film captures the story of a <a href="http://www.greenwood.org/">school for boys</a> with learning differences and disabilities in Vermont where the students are encouraged to recite <span class="st">President Abraham Lincoln's </span>Gettysburg Address. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:40:04 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Jason Pagano 32622 at http://kuow.org Ken Burns On 'The Greatest Speech In American History'