Arwen Nicks http://kuow.org en First Earth Day Organizer Offers Advice On Handling Eco-Complacency http://kuow.org/post/first-earth-day-organizer-offers-advice-handling-eco-complacency <div><p></p><p>David Hyde talks with environmental activist <a href="http://bullitt.org/who-we-are/staff" style="line-height: 1.5; color: rgb(1, 143, 226); text-decoration: underline;"><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Denis Hayes</span></a> about some Earth Day advice for people who have become eco-complacent. Hayes served as the national coordinator to organize the first Earth Day in 1970. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 22:03:57 +0000 David Hyde & Arwen Nicks 33037 at http://kuow.org First Earth Day Organizer Offers Advice On Handling Eco-Complacency Bionic Bulldogs And Spider Goats: The Future Of Biotech's New Beasts http://kuow.org/post/bionic-bulldogs-and-spider-goats-future-biotechs-new-beasts <p>How is biotechnology changing our pets, our livestock and other wild things? Ross Reynolds talks with Emily Anthes, the author of "Frankenstein’s Cat: Cuddling up to Biotech’s Brave New Beasts," about how biotech will change our pets and livestock.</p><p><em>This interview originally aired on March 14, 2013.</em></p><p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 17:28:21 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Arwen Nicks 9751 at http://kuow.org Bionic Bulldogs And Spider Goats: The Future Of Biotech's New Beasts What's Killing Off The World's Banana Crop? http://kuow.org/post/whats-killing-worlds-banana-crop <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Dr. Lori Carris, plant pathologist at Washington State University, about why the <a href="http://www.un.org/apps/news/story.asp?NewsID=47573&amp;Cr=agriculture&amp;Cr1=#.U072oRDpzwm">United Nations is warning</a> the world of a ferocious disease that's attacking bananas.</p><p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:00:19 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Marcie Sillman 32671 at http://kuow.org What's Killing Off The World's Banana Crop? Emma Donoghue's New Novel 'Frog Music' http://kuow.org/post/emma-donoghues-new-novel-frog-music <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with writer Emma Donoghue about her new book, "Frog Music." It was inspired by the unsolved 1876 murder of a woman named Jenny Bonnet in San Francisco.</p><p>Donoghue also discusses about how fact inspires her fiction. Her award-winning novel, "Room," was about a 5-year-old boy and his mother who were kept prisoner by their father and husband, respectively, in a backyard shed. The book was based, in small part, on a real life story Donoghue had seen in the news. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:34:42 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Arwen Nicks 32509 at http://kuow.org Emma Donoghue's New Novel 'Frog Music' For Oso, Returning To Normalcy Means Chainmail And Jousting http://kuow.org/post/oso-returning-normalcy-means-chainmail-and-jousting <p>Yellow ribbons are tied around each post you pass as you drive into the Rhodes River Ranch just outside of Oso, Wash., a town still recovering from the devastating mudslide on March 22.</p><p>Bonnie Rose does just about everything at the 200-acre ranch, which is spotted with horse stables, shoeing barns and a restaurant built to surround a large equestrian arena. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 14:23:11 +0000 Arwen Nicks 32477 at http://kuow.org For Oso, Returning To Normalcy Means Chainmail And Jousting Apps To Kick Addictions; Sound Too Good To Be True? http://kuow.org/post/apps-kick-addictions-sound-too-good-be-true <p>Ross Reynolds talks with psychologist Jonathan Bricker about smartphone apps that claim to help users overcome addiction. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 22:24:32 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Ross Reynolds 32404 at http://kuow.org Apps To Kick Addictions; Sound Too Good To Be True? Jared Diamond Aims Evolution Education At Youth http://kuow.org/post/jared-diamond-aims-evolution-education-youth <p></p><p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with author and professor <a href="http://www.jareddiamond.org/">Jared Diamond</a> about an adaptation of his book<em>, "</em>The Third Chimpanzee: The Evolution and Future of the Human Animal." The adaption targets high school students. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 21:59:02 +0000 Arwen Nicks, Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 32299 at http://kuow.org Jared Diamond Aims Evolution Education At Youth The Strange Language Of Baseball http://kuow.org/post/strange-language-baseball <p></p><p>From 'cup of coffee' to 'Bronx cheer,' Ross Reynolds runs the language bases of baseball with linguist <a href="http://benzimmer.com/">Ben Zimmer</a>. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 21:44:11 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Ross Reynolds 31805 at http://kuow.org The Strange Language Of Baseball SCOTUS Rules Against Some Campaign Finance Limits http://kuow.org/post/scotus-rules-against-some-campaign-finance-limits <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Marcia Coyle, <span class="st">chief Washington correspondent for th</span>e National Law Journal, about the U.S. Supreme Court's decision to reject funding limits in federal elections. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 21:42:40 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Ross Reynolds 31806 at http://kuow.org SCOTUS Rules Against Some Campaign Finance Limits Nicholson Baker's New Novel 'Traveling Sprinkler' http://kuow.org/post/nicholson-bakers-new-novel-traveling-sprinkler <p></p><p>In his new book “Traveling Sprinkler,” novelist Nicholson Baker tells the story of a 55-year-old poet’s obsession with electronic dance music, Debussy, and his ex girlfriend who works as a local NPR radio host. Baker has written nine novels and five books of non-fiction and speaks with <em>The Record's </em>Ross Reynolds.</p><p><em>This interview originally aired on September 30, 2013.</em></p><p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 20:10:12 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Arwen Nicks 21385 at http://kuow.org Nicholson Baker's New Novel 'Traveling Sprinkler' Malcolm Gladwell: 'Why Do We Call David The Underdog?' http://kuow.org/post/malcolm-gladwell-why-do-we-call-david-underdog <p></p><p>David and Goliath: the improbable victory, a one in a million outcome that never should have happened.</p><p>But New Yorker writer Malcolm Gladwell argues that diminutive David had the upper hand. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 19:49:29 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Arwen Nicks 21943 at http://kuow.org Malcolm Gladwell: 'Why Do We Call David The Underdog?' Actress Annabelle Gurwitch On Aging And Turning 50 http://kuow.org/post/actress-annabelle-gurwitch-aging-and-turning-50 <p>Marcie Sillman talks with author and actress Annabelle Gurwitch about aging in Hollywood and the tribulations of life at the edge of 50. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 17:31:05 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Marcie Sillman 31680 at http://kuow.org Actress Annabelle Gurwitch On Aging And Turning 50 Getting Fresh: Spring Into Delicious Edition http://kuow.org/post/getting-fresh-spring-delicious-edition <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with Sheryl Wiser of<a href="http://www.cascadeharvest.org/"> Cascade Harvest</a> about what spring will bring to local farmers markets. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 17:27:47 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Ross Reynolds 31676 at http://kuow.org Getting Fresh: Spring Into Delicious Edition All In The Family: Bringing Cannabis Business To Port Townsend http://kuow.org/post/all-family-bringing-cannabis-business-port-townsend <p>Port Townsend father-son duo, Martin Gay and Dakota Sandoval, eagerly anticipate the fate of their marijuana business as Washington State Liquor Board starts issuing licenses next month.</p><p>Gay and Sandoval’s business, Jefferson County Cannabis Company, was among more than 7,000 applications that were submitted in December to legally grow pot in the state. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 21:07:50 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Hannah Burn 29419 at http://kuow.org All In The Family: Bringing Cannabis Business To Port Townsend 1999 Report Warned Of Potential Catastrophe In Oso http://kuow.org/post/1999-report-warned-potential-catastrophe-oso <p>David Hyde talks with geomorphologist Dan Miller about how Snohomish County officials should have been aware of the potential hazards for a mudflow occurring in Oso. Back in 1999, Miller and his wife <span class="st">Lynne filed a report for </span>the Army Corps of Engineers warning about the possibility for a "large catastrophic failure" at the site of the recent mudflow.<br /> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 22:28:44 +0000 Arwen Nicks & David Hyde 31261 at http://kuow.org 1999 Report Warned Of Potential Catastrophe In Oso