Patricia Murphy http://kuow.org en Cell Phone Use Partly To Blame For Skagit River Bridge Collapse http://kuow.org/post/cell-phone-use-partly-blame-skagit-river-bridge-collapse <p>Poor planning and distracted driving were two reasons for the collapse of the Interstate 5 bridge over the Skagit River, federal officials said Tuesday. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 20:46:22 +0000 Patricia Murphy 38284 at http://kuow.org Cell Phone Use Partly To Blame For Skagit River Bridge Collapse Not Much, But Who Cares? Seattle Kicks Off Pot Sales http://kuow.org/post/not-much-who-cares-seattle-kicks-pot-sales <p>It was a false countdown to high noon, when Cannabis City, a store in Seattle’s Sodo neighborhood, was supposed to start selling marijuana. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 23:10:54 +0000 Patricia Murphy, Carolyn Adolph, Marcie Sillman & Deborah Wang 37855 at http://kuow.org Not Much, But Who Cares? Seattle Kicks Off Pot Sales Eight Guns, One Week: South Seattle Fights Street Violence http://kuow.org/post/eight-guns-one-week-south-seattle-fights-street-violence <p></p><p></p><p>Twenty-three years ago, acting Captain Steve Strand was patrolling Columbia City on a mountain bike, busting alleyway crack dealers.&nbsp;The officers under his charge are still patrolling on mountain bikes, but the neighborhood landscape has changed. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 18:29:04 +0000 Patricia Murphy 37131 at http://kuow.org Eight Guns, One Week: South Seattle Fights Street Violence Tearful But Not Dramatic: Sentencing Videos Aim To Humanize Defendants http://kuow.org/post/tearful-not-dramatic-sentencing-videos-aim-humanize-defendants <p>Every sentencing comes down to two things according to attorney Michael Filipovic: Why did this person commit this crime, and why is he not going to do it again? Mon, 23 Jun 2014 16:27:39 +0000 Patricia Murphy 36778 at http://kuow.org Tearful But Not Dramatic: Sentencing Videos Aim To Humanize Defendants Charges: SWAT Cop Pimped Wife, Stole Ammunition And Peddled Steroids http://kuow.org/post/charges-swat-cop-pimped-wife-stole-ammunition-and-peddled-steroids <p></p><p>A veteran King County Sheriff’s deputy is behind bars after an investigation found that he had pimped his wife, stolen equipment from the county gun range and pedaled steroids. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 14:36:27 +0000 Patricia Murphy 36765 at http://kuow.org Charges: SWAT Cop Pimped Wife, Stole Ammunition And Peddled Steroids One Week After Shooting, Seattle Pacific Prepares For Graduation http://kuow.org/post/one-week-after-shooting-seattle-pacific-prepares-graduation <p>It’s been a week since a gunman open fire on the Seattle Pacific University campus killing one student and injuring two others.</p><p>The mood was different Friday as students and loved ones celebrated the university’s annual Ivy Cutting. The ceremony, a tradition since 1922, represents the cutting of students' ties to the university and the independence following graduation. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 22:17:19 +0000 Patricia Murphy 36381 at http://kuow.org One Week After Shooting, Seattle Pacific Prepares For Graduation Shell Casings On The Carpet: Students Describe SPU Shooting Scene http://kuow.org/post/shell-casings-carpet-students-describe-spu-shooting-scene <p></p><p>On Thursday afternoon, Daniel Martin received the text that every university president dreads: His campus was on lockdown. There was a gunman. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 15:35:18 +0000 Carolyn Adolph, Patricia Murphy & Isolde Raftery 35919 at http://kuow.org Shell Casings On The Carpet: Students Describe SPU Shooting Scene Students Tackle Gunman In Fatal Seattle Pacific University Shooting http://kuow.org/post/students-tackle-gunman-fatal-seattle-pacific-university-shooting <p><em>Updated 9:20 p.m. PT: </em></p><p>One person was killed and three others were wounded on Thursday afternoon when a lone suspect entered a classroom building at Seattle Pacific University and opened fire with a shotgun, according to police officials. Thu, 05 Jun 2014 23:00:08 +0000 Isolde Raftery, Carolyn Adolph & Patricia Murphy 35897 at http://kuow.org Students Tackle Gunman In Fatal Seattle Pacific University Shooting Patient Preference In PTSD Treatment Improves Quality Of Life, Cost Effectiveness http://kuow.org/post/patient-preference-ptsd-treatment-improves-quality-life-cost-effectiveness <p>When patients receive treatment for PTSD they normally don’t get asked what kind of therapy they’d like to receive. Often the provider will use the therapy that is most familiar to them.</p><p>That can include antidepressants or psychotherapy, maybe both. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 16:42:27 +0000 Patricia Murphy 35617 at http://kuow.org Feds: Seattle Police Officers' Lawsuit Has No Merit http://kuow.org/post/feds-seattle-police-officers-lawsuit-has-no-merit <p>U.S. Attorney Jenny Durkan slammed a lawsuit filed by more than a hundred Seattle police officers who filed a legal complaint against city and federal officials.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">The officers say a new policy that dictates how police can use force restricts their constitutional rights to protect themselves.</span> Fri, 30 May 2014 20:04:22 +0000 Patricia Murphy 35469 at http://kuow.org Feds: Seattle Police Officers' Lawsuit Has No Merit Washington ACLU Urges High Court To End Psychiatric Boarding http://kuow.org/post/washington-aclu-urges-high-court-end-psychiatric-boarding <p></p><p>Advocates for the mentally ill filed a friend of the court brief with the Washington State Supreme Court urging the justices to uphold a Pierce County judge's ruling. The state's high court will hear arguments in the case next month. Last year, <span style="line-height: 1.5;">Pierce County Superior Court Judge Kathryn Nelsons ruled that boarding the mentally ill was illegal.&nbsp; </span> Thu, 29 May 2014 22:10:28 +0000 Patricia Murphy 35437 at http://kuow.org Fly Fishing As A Meditative, Healing Process For Veterans http://kuow.org/post/fly-fishing-meditative-healing-process-veterans <p>For some soldiers, learning to live with physical injuries or post-deployment stress in a clinical setting is a less than conducive atmosphere for making progress.</p><p><a href="http://www.riversofrecovery.org/">Rivers of Recovery</a>, a Minnesota based nonprofit group, uses a different approach:&nbsp; They take soldiers out into the woods and teach them to fly fish. The aim is to provide counseling, camaraderie and self-care tools that soldiers can build on. Fri, 23 May 2014 18:04:40 +0000 Patricia Murphy 35070 at http://kuow.org Fly Fishing As A Meditative, Healing Process For Veterans Effective But Costly: Prison Officials Debate New Hepatitis Drug http://kuow.org/post/effective-costly-prison-officials-debate-new-hepatitis-drug <p>About 3.2 million people in the U.S. have hepatitis C, a highly contagious virus that can lead to cirrhosis and liver cancer.</p><p>Dr. Jody Rich, a professor of medicine and epidemiology at The Warren Alpert Medical School at Brown University in Rhode Island, said prisons carry a heavy load of the disease, but they also have built in health care. Wed, 14 May 2014 19:35:47 +0000 Patricia Murphy 34377 at http://kuow.org Effective But Costly: Prison Officials Debate New Hepatitis Drug Pentagon Finds No Mishandling Of Seattle Man's Medal Of Honor http://kuow.org/post/pentagon-finds-no-mishandling-seattle-mans-medal-honor <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A Defense Department report released to </span>KUOW<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> has found no wrongdoing by senior command officials responsible for the lost Medal of Honor nomination for Captain William Swenson.</span></p><p> Tue, 13 May 2014 00:45:11 +0000 Patricia Murphy 34331 at http://kuow.org Pentagon Finds No Mishandling Of Seattle Man's Medal Of Honor Metro Briefs King County Council On Proposed Service Reductions http://kuow.org/post/metro-briefs-king-county-council-proposed-service-reductions <p></p><p>A committee of the King County Council heard some of the particulars behind Metro Transit’s <a href="http://metro.kingcounty.gov/am/future/proposed-changes.html">proposed plan</a> to reduce service by 16 percent after voters rejected Proposition 1 last week. Wed, 30 Apr 2014 15:10:55 +0000 Patricia Murphy 33574 at http://kuow.org Metro Briefs King County Council On Proposed Service Reductions